We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
Ranked #90 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Europe
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice but expensive”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Very nice hotel, in the centre of San Francisco.
Rooms are quite small but very clean. Not sound proof, quite noisy during the night.
The lift is slow and stupid, should be fixed.
The rates are not cheap, but so are all the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBoyBandsHaveWon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    423
    200
    77
    72
See reviews for
92
540
84
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
calgary
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

If you are looking to be wowed you'll be disappointed. Mystic hotel is a great place to crash. Clean, comfortable rooms and a decent " continental" breakfast. Location is great for Union square, trolley and cable car lines. Elavator is slow but it beats walking up the stairs with your luggage. Friendly and helpful front counter staff.

Room Tip: We phoned ahead and requested a quiet room. Given a room on the 8th floor with a decent view and rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank f037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

professional services and very warm welcome. you're in SF downtown close to everything : shopping malls, union square, the pier, the italian quarter and chinatown.
the room was really elegant and with a lot of cachet.
the restaurant and bar inside the hotel are also very useful for a tired traveller who just can't walk out anymore for dinner after a long day. the music and the coctails will cheer you up before eating a gourmet meal at the restaurant. prices are OK.
however the breakfast is fine but quite neutral, nothing real bad, but nothing really good either. i guess to please the multicultural customers probably but that maybe the weak point of the house.
but anyway i would strongly recommend it

Room Tip: get the upper floor rooms to avoid the noise from the jazz bands
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuch14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Arrived at the Mystic Hotel for the first leg of our honeymoon and were greeted with an upgrade to a suite, which was a lovely and welcomed surprise! Our room was huge, beautifully decorated and styled, with everything looking brand new and so clean. If I'm being completely picky, the only thing missing was tea and coffee making facilities, but I know that's an English thing! And tea and coffee was available at breakfast.
The breakfast area in the Burrit Tavern was lovely, great atmosphere and again the decoration was perfectly executed and matched the overall feel of the hotel. Plenty of choice at breakfast.
The hotel is in a great location, few blocks from Union Square and Chinatown and close to the transport links to get you around town and over to Fishermans Wharf.
Would definitely recommend to others and stay here again.
Thanks to all staff for giving us a great start to our Honeymoon!

Room Tip: Our room backed onto some kind of service yard where vehicles were reversing and collecting trash da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raaaachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I wish that my wife and I had more than just the one night to stay. The best thing that I can say is that everything at The Mystic Hotel is well thought out. From the furniture in the room to the minibar selections to the restaurant on the 2nd floor it was obvious that nothing just "fell into place" but instead everything was thoughtfully selected. The rooms are not huge but they are clean, the furniture is hip and neat and comfortable and the shower head in the bathroom that we had was about 7 and a half feet off the ground allowing for a really great shower. (Which after the day that we had was exactly what we needed.) The location is just about as central SF as you can get. Walking distance (a very short walk) to Union Square. The bar downstairs was playing a selection of 80's tunes the night that we were there. Once again, the menu selections were well thought out. The bartenders were knowledgeable and friendly, the deli plate was sold out (bummer) but the cheese plate made us just as happy. Well done Mystic Hotel... we will stay with you again AND recommend friends.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seagrove Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The only good about this hotel is location. I don't care about small rooms as I need them to sleep only. Upon my arrival back home I found an extra charge on my credit card. Called to the hotel to find out that I was using a bar. At the moment nobody could even explain what exactly I was drinking. The staff was nice in the hotel only. They avoided talking about their charges on the phone. So now I have to deal with credit card companies to explain that I did not touch their bar. Terrible experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleks_Gry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My wife and I are probably the easiest people to please, and we rarely complain. However, we switched rooms twice in one day in this hotel. The first room they put us in was 309, which someone on this site already mentioned has a direct view of garbage cans in a dark alley. We immediately asked to move rooms. The next room was much nicer, although it did overlook a brick wall covered in pigeon droppings. Whatever, I'll take it over trash lane. All is good until we try to go to bed around 10. Only thing is we can't sleep because they have a live band performing at the bar, and the bar is directly below the room. Sounds like we have a jazz band performing in the bathroom (which by the way has about 3-4 dead gnats on the ceiling). Jazz night end and the place becomes more if a club. And I don't know because I went, but because I heard the entire thing from my bedroom. After the night comes to an end, all the drunk people stomp their way up the stairs to bed since the elevator is 90 years old and takes forever. Finally after the drunks retire to their rooms, I get some sleep around 3 AM. Next day I requested a new room, and got one on 6 without a problem. Have to admit the staff is very accommodating and kind. The new room is ok, with a view of the same bird poop stained brick wall but I'm finally able to sleep. If you go here PLEASE BE SURE TO REQUEST A ROOM ON A HIGHER FLOOR. Unless you're one of the drunks who wants to keep the 3rd floor residents awake. Then just go for the garbage can room.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmontefinise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#81 of 228 in San Francisco
1,145 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#25 of 228 in San Francisco
1,652 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#68 of 228 in San Francisco
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
5,157 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#53 of 228 in San Francisco
1,606 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#86 of 228 in San Francisco
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer

Property: Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
Address: 417 Stockton St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3608 (Formerly Crescent San Francisco)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mystic Hotel Union Square San Francisco by Charlie Palmer is a smart, sleek retreat situated in the heart of the city's busiest neighborhoods. Conveniently located just one block from the iconic cable car line in the middle of three key destinations – Union Square, Chinatown and the Financial District — Mystic Hotel offers a convenient, comfortable and unique modern boutique hotel experience in a historic location. With a contemporary look and feel, our accommodations are designed to reflect the changing need of today's traveler. Enjoy high-touch service and an ideal Union Square location, perfect for travelers looking to experience all the adventures of San Francisco. Like a private club, enjoy handcrafted cocktails in the Burritt Room, the intimate film noir-inspired bar named for Burritt Alley, where detective Sam Spade's partner Miles Archer was gunned down in The Maltese Falcon. Then, step into the speakeasy vibe of renowned Chef Charlie Palmer’s adjoining Burritt Tavern, where walled-in and curtained booths create dark corners for private conversations and the menu features Bay Area's tremendous green markets as well as the extraordinary offerings from local food artisans in menus built around prized regional specialties from Dungeness crab to West Coast oysters. That's what we like about San Francisco: it's up to the minute and still in the moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent San Francisco Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing