We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“my favorite place to stay in San Francisco” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Beresford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Beresford
Ranked #136 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“my favorite place to stay in San Francisco”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

Beresford Hotel is a small hotel in a very good location. About 2 blocks to Union Square. The staff is very friendly & helpful.The rates are a bargain & the rooms are small but very clean. Some of the employees(front desk) have been there 30 + years & they remember you when you arrive. They even include a continental breakfast & free internet!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanailocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    406
    395
    133
    54
See reviews for
167
495
69
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Savoy, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

In actuality this place is on par with other types of these older San Franciscan hotels. If you are looking for a place with character and a strong European flavor, this is your choice. The rooms are very simple -- you have an actual door key for your room, no AC, a bathroom just big enough for a shower stall, sink, and toilet, a decent bed, and a 20 year old TV. For a business traveler such as myself I was expecting something a little different and more modern, but like I said, if you are looking for something with character you might love this place. Service was great and friendly and there was a nice restaraunt connected to the hotel to get your meals in.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdively
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

quiet room, adequate space, decent continental breakfast, helpful staff. Probably one of the best values in San Fran Union Square area.

Room Tip: ask for top floor in rooms farthest from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vdoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a 3 night 3 day trip to San Fran. We loved the hotel. It was clean, charming, close to Union Square. The neighborhood and location are fantastic for public transportation, shopping, food, etc. Everything was very clean. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We got a great rate (under $100) and thought it was well worth it! We would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ohhbedelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

We stayed 2nights in that hotel. It is located closed to city center. Although it was noisy at nights (voices comes up from next room, water sound from the radiator) we slept well (because we were so tired(jat leg)
Breakfast was weak, but cannot expect 5stars quality breakfast at this room fee.
So it's worth for the money.

Room Tip: It is worth for the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kankees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeport, WV
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

My wife an I stayed here while traveling the west coast for only one night. The AAA cost was just under a $100. We had a rental car so I paid an additional $25 to have it valeted. The rooms are a little on the small side but plenty big for my wife and I. It was very clean and comfortable. The location was great. We walked all over the downtown and rode the trolleys around too. There were many many different places to eat and drink within a short walk. The bar downstairs is very quaint too. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steelrhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

Charming old hotel. Location is very good, very close to Union Square. Short walk to all kinds of public transportation. Be warned that is room very small. Seriously small. I traveled solo, so it was not a real problem. They provided cold breakfast, which is kind of nice. I did not try it though.
Recommended for solo traveler with packed itinerary. Not for people than plan to relax and enjoy the room

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IvyVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Beresford Arms
#81 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#127 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Union Square
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
#138 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#82 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#124 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beresford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beresford

Property: Hotel Beresford
Address: 635 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1017
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Beresford 2*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Beresford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beresford Hotel San Francisco
Beresford San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing