We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, clean & friendly. ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Beresford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Beresford
Ranked #136 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice, clean & friendly. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

My mum and i stayed here for a night. All staff were very friendly, and the rooms were nice and clean. The location is great for the price. Union square was only a short walk from where we were. We had booked for a twin bedroom and got upgraded to two double beds for no extra price and he lets us go straight up to our room earlier which was great after a 12 hour flight. Breakfast is basic, but thats expected. Overall, the rooms arent first class, but its comfortable and clean and i will definitely come back again!

Helpful?
1 Thank Beth0reilly
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    406
    395
    133
    54
See reviews for
167
495
69
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

While decent enough for the price, the lack of wifi or internet was disappointing in this otherwise high tech town. A bit of lobby remodeling is in order and rooms are small. But the location near Union Square is convenient.

Room Tip: Bring your own wifi hotspot if you want to get any work done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pao1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We were worried that the great price may mean a mediocre hotel. When we arrive, the bellhop was so helpful and polite. Valet parking was $27 (w/in &out) which is cheap for area. The front desk was fast. The hotel felt quaint but fun. Breakfast was very basic- but will hold you until you find a real meal. No wifi has to be the biggest bummer. There is wifi in the business area.

The room was small and very clean. The window opened which I love for catching a breeze. Our room did not face the street. Quiet, comfortable, affordable. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChulaBonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Beresford Hotel for three nights during the first stage of our honeymoon trip accross America. The hotel is about one block from Union Square so it is in a very good location for getting around and seeing the sights of San Francisco. The room is basic but comfortable, with windows that open wide for ventilation. The ensuite was small and could do with a bit of TLC but was clean overall . The pub attached to the hotel is nice and the bar staff were very polite. It does have a European feel about it so may not be what you expect from a bar in the middle of San Fran, but the atmosphere is relaxed and inviting. The location of the hotel feels safe, although there are many homeless people in San Fransisco and some can be quite initimidating, but this was something we experienced in even some of the most busiest parts of the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BBoatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Great Location, just a short walk to Union Square. Breakfast options could be better, very dark in the dining room. The hotel is quite old with all its charms and quirks. Really slow lift, much quicker to take the stairs. Rooms are small but clean. The bathroom window is glass louvers, there for does not close correctly. Allows sound from the street to be heard very clearly. No air con in rooms but was not needed in Oct. The staff during the day weren't of much assistance. Dictating how much we should tip them for poor service. The staff were not able to understand myself or my husband, when asking what would be the cheapest way to get to the San Fran Zoo. $30 Taxi ride or catch the train on the F line. I found the day time staff to be very lazy rude and not helpful at all. I would stay here again due to great price and equally good location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tipratnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We spent 4 days in san fransisco and would I stay here again? Absolutely! Great location and the rooms were perfect considering what we paid. Breakfast was continental and perfect to get you started for the day and you can access union square by foot within 10 mins for excellent shopping. The nearest cable car stop in 5 mins on foot and you can get to the Bart station for the airport in 15 mins. This place was perfect for us and we could not fault it at all, there are fancier places to stay nearby but San Fran has so much to offer you will only use your room to sleep! Why pay all that extra??!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bozzer36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stawell, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

I am a solo traveller and chose the Beresford as it was a little less expensive than other hotels in SFO. I wish I had paid the little extra. Upon arrival I was greeted warmly and was assisted with questions. Check out was dismissive & rude. I was on a non smoking floor but the smoke from other rooms came through the vent in the bathroom so I kept the doors closed at all times and removed the towels. Housekeeping was excellent, bed was comfortable and shower was hot. Easy to find your way around for a walk and a tour. Free wifi on the first floor only!
The rooms were small but comfortable size and I cant stress enough how clean it was!!
The only bad taste left in my mouth was my checkout no greeting just charged my card and dismissed. The younger guys at front desk were wonderful so a big thanks to them.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank charlene1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Beresford Arms
#82 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#128 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Union Square
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
#138 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#81 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#83 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#123 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beresford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beresford

Property: Hotel Beresford
Address: 635 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1017
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Beresford 2*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Beresford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beresford Hotel San Francisco
Beresford San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing