We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but.....”
Review of Hotel Beresford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Beresford
Ranked #139 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My husband and I have been staying here all week and up until last night it has been a pleasant place to stay. Last night and tonight I have been kept awake by a female 'entertaining' clients in the room next door. I would have called reception about her but I heard her say they let her stay here and that they know about her. We'll be putting in a complaint with reception when we check out. We'll see what they have to say about the situation then.
This hotel is well located and near some nice restaurants and the staff are all friendly. I would have recommended the hotel highly but after the last two nights I would say visitors beware.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,172)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Beresford
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

417 - 423 of 1,172 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

My fiancé and I stayed here one night when we were on the west coast for a wedding. The room was nothing great and the bed was not that comfortable, but we only slept in the room and then were out sight seeing. If you are looking for a nice weekend getaway I would not recommend this hotel, but if you are looking to see San Francisco on a budget, this place is good. I would recommend asking for a room that is not near the pub. Our room was right across from it and at first was loud, but once we fell asleep we didn't hear the people, but we were very tired and are pretty sound sleepers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This hotel has a lot of charm! Brings you back to what would have been life in SF several decades ago.
I would recommend it for its good location - just 2 blocks away from Powell and the street is not as busy.
Friendly staff too!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JustJulie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Somewhat small room but well worth it as it is a great location and compared to S.F. hotel prices, reasonable.
Service was very helpful. Helped us with directions, transportation and restaurants.
Very clean and close to cable cars.
Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Instead of waiting in long lines for cable car at turn around, go to 1st. stop. Desk will help you...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MassarelloFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I stayed here for four nights in early April. The room, though not big, was comfortable enough. The bathroom was very clean and orderly. The general atmosphere of the hotel is rather charming, with breakfast served in a place that doubles as tavern in the evening. I enjoyed the confortable bed most of all. I missed a desk in the room....but then I think these rooms were designed before the days of mandatory laptop. Wifi is free and very dependable. Elevator is slow and small, because it is quite old too, but I felt this added to the general turn of the 20th century California spirit.
It is a very short walk to Union Square and the shops and downtown tourist attractions with a nice supemarket on the left, where you can buy Turkish desserts and tea. Walgreens and a couple of diners are in the vicinity as well.
Special mention for the staff. Everybody is efficient, knowledgeable and warm.
I recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: try to get a room overlooking Sutter
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank curiosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Spent here 2 nights with my wife. Friendly and helpful staff, great location, 2-3 mins walking from union square. Pictues are representing reality. No street noises but bit noisy equipments like ceiling - could sleep well on the other hand.
Breakfast for Europeans is not a big deal, some bakery, corn flakes, jam and fruits. Juice, coffee and tea. Bit disappointing the paper plates.
Quite lot homelesses and freaks all around the city but harmless, felt safe.
Recommend this hotel.

1  Thank Imre P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel for many reasons... 1) Room 502 had comfortable beds, nice tv, a fan to keep the room cool and a view of Sutter St. 2) An attached Pub with mini markets on both sides of the hotel. An Italian restaurant up the street, on the corner with a Happy Hr. from 2 - 6 and nice Sushi restaurant around the corner. A helpful staff made tipping a pleasure.

Room Tip: Request Room 502
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CandlestickRich1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Beresford Arms
#83 of 229 in San Francisco
1,175 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 229 in San Francisco
1,360 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#130 of 229 in San Francisco
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#131 of 229 in San Francisco
1,040 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 229 in San Francisco
5,272 reviews
Union Square
Union Square Plaza Hotel
Union Square Plaza Hotel
#183 of 229 in San Francisco
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beresford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beresford

Address: 635 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1017
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £108 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Beresford 2*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Beresford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beresford Hotel San Francisco
Beresford San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing