We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value close to union square”
Review of Carriage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carriage Inn
Ranked #139 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 21 June 2013

As mentioned in other reviews the hotel is just south of Market and a short walk from union square, close to the BART and MUNI.
Clean large rooms at great price for an expensive city.
A few street people and homeless around the area but never felt unsafe.
Wifi can be intermittent but that's minor as being on vacation it's about exploring the city.
Staff were extremely pleasant and helpful.
Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at Carriage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear Steven C,

Thank you for providing your opinions in regard to our hotel we are glad that your room and our staff exceeded your expectations.

Living in the digital age we understand the frustration you must have experienced with our wifi especially since the internet has become such an integrated part of our lives and we offer our apologies. We have received the feedback from our guests regarding the internet and we are proud to announce that the wifi upgrade to our humble Carriage Inn has been completed providing all of our guests a more stable wifi connection.

Your feedback as well as other guest feedback has been invaluable. We hope to warmly welcome you back for a future stay. Thank you again for your time and response.


With Anticipation,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Carriage Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 139 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2013

This was a very clean, quaint San Francisco little gem! Very friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is centrally located and very easy to come and go. We will definitely be back to the Carriage Inn very soon!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee Dee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at Carriage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear Dee M,

Salutations, Dee M it was our pleasure that our friendly and helpful staff was able to welcome you to our humble little hotel. We truly appreciate that you took the time to provide a warm opinion about the Carriage Inn. We thank you again and hope to warmly welcome you back to the Carriage Inn on your next visit to San Francisco.


With anticipation,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Carriage Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Carriage Inn in San Francisco is a clean, well run, small hotel in the SoMa district (South of Market Street), located near the US Courthouse and Federal office building. Rooms are small, but clean and secure. The hotel has a limited staff, so you are pretty much on your own -- there is one person in the lobby at all times, plus housekeeping, and that's it. Rooms are a little sparse on fixtures -- ours did not have a clock in it, for example. The "continental breakfast" is essentially a box breakfast you pick up in the morning and eat in your room.

The chief concern about the hotel is the neighborhood. The hotel is located about 2 blocks from the Civic Center/UN Plaza BART station, and the neighborhood gets pretty quiet at night, and there are people loitering on the streets that give a slight bit of discomfort. We were out pretty late at night, and felt a little bit less than totally secure walking from BART to the hotel. But, inside, the hotel felt totally secure.

Be aware of what the neighborhood is, but, otherwise, it is good value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCGuy321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at Carriage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear NYCGuy321,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on Tripadvisor. We sincerely apologize that the quality of your room fell short of your standards. As a smaller property we offer our guests different options in terms of the size and layout of the room. All of our rooms include ipod docking stations that act as clocks we apologize that this amenity was not present during your stay. Our friendly staff will be happy to inform you of the time when requested.

The initial impression of our neighborhood can be surprising to some visitors but the south of market neighborhood is filled with a diverse group of locals which include families and singles alike. In many urban cities there are multiple paths you can take to avoid certain sections that some would deem as undesirable. With the Federal buildings nearby Seventh Street is quite safe walking from the BART station to our hotel.

Hopefully you will return and provide us a second opportunity to explore our ever changing neighborhood. Thank you again for your time and response.


Kind regards,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Carriage Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights on the first leg of a 3 week tour of California. The receptionist Mika was very friendly and welcoming. When we arrived the lift was out of order but being worked on. She gave us the option of waiting a little while or getting us help with our bags up the stairs to our room. We chose to wait a bit. Mika filled this time by pointing out loads of useful things on a map of San Fran for us, and giving us tips on travel etc. we only waited about 10 mins and it was fixed.

The room was a good size & fun, they are all named after famous people but are not over the top. The bed was very comfy and the bathroom a good size. The free wifi was standard in speed, there was a computer to use in the lobby but the wifi was sufficient for us.

There was complimentary 'breakfast' each morning which we were not expecting so was an added bonus but was actually more of a snack box than a breakfast. It had a muffin/pastry, a apple or banana, a yoghurt, a carton of milk, and a carton of juice. Not lots but its FREE! Also a room with fresh coffee you can take out. We had 2 each morning, one while getting ready and one to go.

The big downside to this hotel is the area it is in. There are a lot of homeless stations and projects in the immediate area which means that there is a lot of homeless and serious drug users in the couple of blocks between the main part of town and where this hotel is. It is also a bit of a trek to get to where everything is. Which meant a couple of slightly scary walks back to the hotel especially in the evening, although no one gave us any trouble directly.

I think this is a good hotel that can't help it's location but it depends what you pay for it.

One major tip, get a muni passport. This allows you to travel on all cable cars, muni buses, and other major transport around the city and is really good value for money. (We paid $22 for a 3 day pass).

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank n1csome1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at Carriage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear N1csome1,

Thank you for posting a thorough review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you chose the Carriage Inn for your first leg of your California tour. We empathize with you and understand how frustrating it can be to travel and offer our apologies for the wait that you had to experience due to the elevator.

Mika is a rising star in our hotel family we are glad that she welcomed you and exceeded your expectations as we aim to offer all of our guests excellent customer service.

Our little neighborhood of SoMA is an eclectic and diverse area and although it's not the luxurious part of, "The City," it helps to make up the overall makeup of San Francisco. The SoMa community is working towards building an open and friendly neighborhood. We hope to see you again on your next visit to San Francisco.


Kind regards,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Carriage Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Bernhard P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at Carriage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed at the Carriage Inn for 6 days in late May and really enjoyed our experience. The staff were always friendly and helpful, especially so when our rebooked airport shuttle failed to show. The rooms were large, had comfortable beds, good shower and a great sofa to relax on after exploring the city.

Free wifi was a bonus and and despite a couple of hiccups worked well with good speed.

The hotel is in a great location just a few minutes walk to Powell Street, Union Square and the F cars and buses on Market Street. Yes there are street people on Market Street but they are no intimidating they just add colour to the city.

The hotel is also close to some really good cafes and restaurants on Folsom and Mission Street. If you come from New Zealand and Australia and crave good quality coffee in USA (a hard find when all that seems available is awful starbucks type coffee) you are just 2 blocks from one of the best cafes in the city.

We would highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again when in San Francisco.

Room Tip: Try for a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraterDunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at Carriage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Dear GraterDunedin,

Thank you for posting your thoughts on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you really enjoyed your experience with our hotel and truly appreciate that you provided an honest and warm opinion. We aim to serve and provide all of our guests a unique stay and friendly customer service. We are glad that we exceeded your expectations as we strive to achieve this with everyone that we interact with.

The Soma neighborhood like most of San Francisco is filled with eclectic characters which provides the city its own unique vibe. Thank you for providing us your opinion about our SOMA neighborhood especially the local cafes and restaurants. As a community we are working towards building a safe and welcoming neighborhood.

We have received the feedback from our guests regarding the internet and are working with our internet company to provide a more stable network. Your feedback has been invaluable and will assist us in providing you and our future guests a better experience in the future.

It was our pleasure to be able to provide a San Francisco experience that the two of you will never forget. We appreciate the feedback you have provided and hope to warmly welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to San Francisco.


Kind regards,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Carriage Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We were on vacation from Toronto, Canada. Hotel is a little bit pricey, judging that it is NOT in the best neighborhood (but it is not the worst either.) A lot of homeless hang around on market Street between 5th and 8th street @ any time of the day but the hotel is well situated and within walking distant to BART, MNUI bus, Street Cars and shopping etc . (All along Market street) Freeway 101 is also close by.
The room is clean and it is quite big. Color very co-ordinated. Lights are sufficient.The bed and the pillow is very comfortable. The shower is hot and flow is good. Towels are clean. The hotel room is also quiet (We stayed @216 in the corner at the back by the courtyard) which makes a big difference when travel. (The air vent did make a little bit of noise, you may need a ear plug) You have to use your room key to get to the elevator and go to your hotel room but I liked the idea of security. No facilities, you have to go across the street to their affiliates to use their amenities. Internet is moderate in our hotel room but you can use the one @ the reception and the speed is fine.
Complimentary breakfast is ok. Reception not very friendly but they did their job.
We took the reception's advice to take a shuttle bus the day we left but the driver
just dropped us @ the local terminal without any advice or directions. We have to walk like 6-7 minutes to find the international terminal.
The Chinese/Vietnamese Restaurant next door is quite good and inexpensive. Very convenient when you are tired from the shopping and sight-seeing and hungry and just want to fill your stomach and go back to the hotel room and relax.
The kingdom of Dumpling @ Taraval street is excellent. Also try the independent coffee shop
across the street from the kingdom of dumpling, their custard tart is very tasty. They tried with different ingredients to make different custard tarts. I tried a few and I liked them all.
Overall, the hotel is a big OK and will recommend it to others.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, choose those closes to the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sltcda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at Carriage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Dear Sitcda,

Thank you for posting a thorough review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay and your experience with one of our local restaurants. On behalf of our entire staff, you have my apologies that our services did not meet your expectations this has provided us with a great training opportunity.

Due to the limited real estate our property is privy to we are only able to provide certain amenities. However, as you had stated our front desk agents are happy to direct you to our sister property to avail of our extra amenities.

The Soma neighborhood like most of San Francisco is filled with eclectic characters which provides the city its own unique vibe. As a community we are working towards building a safe and welcoming neighborhood.

We truly appreciate that you provided us with your opinion and hope to warmly welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to San Francisco.


Kind regards,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Carriage Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Americania Hotel
Americania Hotel
#134 of 230 in San Francisco
1,119 reviews
SoMa
The Good Hotel
The Good Hotel
#190 of 230 in San Francisco
662 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#182 of 230 in San Francisco
3,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vertigo
#67 of 230 in San Francisco
1,433 reviews
Cova Hotel
#99 of 230 in San Francisco
1,202 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#183 of 230 in San Francisco
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Inn

Address: 140 7th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-2833
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £107 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carriage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carriage Inn features 48-rooms and offers a witty, warm, and sophisticated escape from the ordinary. Featuring guest rooms saluting San Francisco's notables eccentric notables and drawing inspiration from the "carriage" of a typewriter, the hotel provides a San Francisco experience well suited for vacationers, theater patrons, convention goers, couples and business travelers alike.Located in the vibrant South of Market (SoMA) district, the convenient location provides quick access to many of San Francisco's top attractions and destinations including Civic Center Plaza, Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Westfield Shopping Centre, the Theater District, and Cable Cars that will take you to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Carriage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carriage Hotel San Francisco
Best Western Carriage Hotel
Best Western San Francisco
San Francisco Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing