We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart 'boutique' reworking of an existing property”
Review of Carriage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carriage Inn
Ranked #140 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The Carriage Inn is a good example of how an older and outdated hotel can be rejuvenated by being redesigned as a 'boutique' property. Previously a Best Western franchisee (see the photographs accompanying older reviews), the property has been brought to life with a subtle and inventive refurbishment.

This is not strictly a boutique hotel, in that there is no bar, restaurant or other facilities on site, although a sister property across the street has a restaurant, fitness centre, pool, etc. The bulk of the refurbishment has targeted the rooms, cleverly restyling a faceless corporate hotel as a quirky and individual property.

What's really clever is that whereas a corporate hotel might rip out older fittings (such as the rather dated bathroom fixtures), at the Carriage Inn they've been preserved and refurbished, and the hotel has been restyled to match their retro style. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, and decorated in a cosy palette. The furniture is very stylish, suggesting a classic sixties vibe. We enjoyed a larger room with an old electric fireplace (although kudos to the proprietors for preserving the small plaque on the fireplace with instructions for guests on how to light a wood fire).

The sofa, armchair and (most importantly) the vast bed were supremely comfortable, and facing onto the side street we slept soundly. My only complaint was that the air conditioning unit was relatively loud, and left us both very dehydrated come the morning.

Check-in and check-out was very quick and very courteous thanks to the efficient and friendly Mina. Location is excellent, with a combined BART and MUNI station at Civic Center / UN Plaza just three minutes walk away. BART trains run direct from here to/from SFO airport, and most suburban destinations. A few reviewers have commented on the surroundings; I suspect this may reflect more about guests' personal preferences than the hotel itself. Needless to say, this is San Francisco, so understand that you will encounter homeless people at some point during your stay in the city. This is a perfectly safe neighbourhood, and there are several large and busy hotels on the adjacent blocks, so don't be dissuaded by a few negative comments.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Seventh Street are the noisiest, but these are the minority. Rooms on the higher (third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Front Desk Supervisor at Carriage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Hi James B,

Your comments about your stay with us are much appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the Trip Advisor community! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations, the service of our staff especially Mina, and the retro style of our rooms. We greatly appreciate your candid insight about our surrounding area. Your review I'm sure will help our future guests make the best of their stay while in San Francisco!

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Thank you again,

Kathleen Sheridan
Front Desk Supervisor
The Carriage Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

I did a lot of research and saw this hotel was recommended by most of those who stayed there. I would also recommend it if you are looking for something in this area. The price was right and the room was very comfortable. I was worried about it being a 'Boutique' hotel, instead of a chain because I've always stayed in chains, but I was very pleased. My only complaint was that the lobby staff didn't seem that knowledgable about the area.
If you are a light sleeper, you might think the A/C was a little loud but it didn't bother me.
The boxed breakfast was a nice addition, like a grab-and-go snack, not a sit down meal. There's a diner across the street though. Overall there wasn't a lot of nice restaurants nearby, you need to go closer to Union Square for that. Also, the area was a little sketchy overall but I didn't feel unsafe. As long as you are used to city-life, it was fine. I'd say it was similar to NYC.
The price was right and we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurentvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Front Desk Supervisor at Carriage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Hello laurentvg,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed our accommodations & the breakfast boxes available. Although by far not the luxurious part of, "The City," SoMA is continually thriving with planned restaurant and cafe openings as well as major corporations that have recently moved their headquarters to SoMA. We certainly appreciate your taking the time to share your experience on with us and the Trip Advisor community. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back on your next visit into San Francisco!

Kind Regards,

Kathleen Sheridan
Front Office Supervisor
The Carriage Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is a great little hotel. The staff were nice, the rooms were cute, clean, and spacious, and it is about a half block from the courthouse. Loved the themed rooms. Great choice and reasonable rates.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malliew2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Front Desk Supervisor at Carriage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Hi malliew2,

We certainly appreciate that you took the time to share your review about your recent stay with us and the Trip Advisor community. I am pleased that you enjoyed our accommodations and service! We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to San Francisco, thanks again!

Kind Regards,

Kathleen Sheridan
Front Office Supervisor
The Carriage Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Each room is dedicated to a different literary personage or legendary San Francisco icon, from Mark Twain to Armistead Maupin to Lawrence Ferlinghetti, as well as others of lesser notoriety, like Carol Doda or Pink Man. Most rooms have a signature typewriter on their desk with a piece of paper on which is typed the bio of their eponymous hero, stuck under the carriage. So the "carriage" in Carriage Inn is not the horse and buggy but the carriage return.

Nicely decorated, it's comfortable, quiet and across the street from a larger Best Western, to which it is connected, and where guests can dine and take a dip in what is billed as a rooftop Saltwater Pool (steaming, heated to 90 degrees). Have no idea if it really is saltwater. Staffed with friendly and helpful people. Coffee & continental breakfast come with the room. Worth the price. Establishments like this will help bring up this neighborhood.

Room Tip: Rooms are fairly quiet. Ask for a refrigerator if you need it. Had I not come solo, I would have cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chichalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Front Desk Supervisor at Carriage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Hello Chichalina,

Your comments about your stay with us are much appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the Trip Advisor community! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations, the amenities and your appreciation of our decor and San Francisco historical significance. Your review I'm sure will help our future guests make the best of their stay while in San Francisco! We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best Wishes,

Kathleen Sheridan
Front Office Supervisor
The Carriage Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed here while working in SOMO area. Was a quick drive to and from the office. Great location, hotel is charming and decor is old Hollywood style which is cool. My room was large, clean and quiet for the most part. Being an older building there are squeaks in the floors and you do hear doors closing in the other rooms but for staying in the City, I found it a quieter alternative to other places I've stayed. Continental breakfast was perfect and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Some may think the area is a bit sketchy but I think the young working adults are moving in and changing the landscape. There's an awesome burger place across the street that was very good! Upon checkout, Mina went above and beyond to help me book a room for my return in a couple of weeks. I think I found my home away from home!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katprit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at Carriage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Katprit,

With the many choices of hotels in San Francisco we are delighted that you chose the Carriage Inn as your home here in San Francisco. We are ecstatic that you enjoyed the room design and décor. Our staff aim to provide all of our guests a warm welcome and secure feeling during their time with us. Especially Mina who has been a great member of our Haiyi Hotels family and we appreciate that you recognized her customer service skills.

We look forward to welcome you back to your new found home away from home on your next visit to San Francisco. Thank you again for choosing the Carriage Inn.


With anticipation,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Carriage Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed here for a weekend and very much enjoyed the hotel. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms was large and had large windows and plenty of room. Breakfast Box was a surprise, but appreciated. Workout facilities and pool across the street were more than adequate.
Plenty of shopping and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at Carriage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Flyeguy,

It has been our pleasure to provide you a memorable Carriage Inn experience especially in regard to our Breakfast Box. We aim to provide all of our guests a welcoming and enjoyable experience during their time with us. We are delighted to have started off the day for you with a nice surprise.

Thank you for choosing the Carriage Inn and we look forward to welcoming you back.


With anticipation,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Carriage Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Nicely appointed, clean rooms, pleasant staff, parking on premise. Kitch-chic decor - patterned wall paper and cute furniture. I stayed here over New Years Eve with my boyfriend, and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Front Desk Supervisor at Carriage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Dear Victoria W,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your New Year's Eve experience at The Carriage Inn. We are delighted to hear of your pleasant experiences you had with our staff. We are also happy to hear that our kitch-chic decor, patterned wall paper & cute furniture in the room made your stay memorable and you are excited to stay with us again. Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments; we look forward to be your home the next time you make your way to San Francisco.

Warm regards,

Kathleen Sheridan
Front Office Supervisor
The Carriage Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Best Western Plus Americania
Best Western Plus Americania
#135 of 230 in San Francisco
1,107 reviews
Hotel Vertigo
#70 of 230 in San Francisco
1,418 reviews
SoMa
The Good Hotel
The Good Hotel
#189 of 230 in San Francisco
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cova Hotel
#101 of 230 in San Francisco
1,189 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#182 of 230 in San Francisco
781 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#181 of 230 in San Francisco
3,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Inn

Address: 140 7th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-2833
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#78 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £100 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carriage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carriage Inn features 48-rooms and offers a witty, warm, and sophisticated escape from the ordinary. Featuring guest rooms saluting San Francisco's notables eccentric notables and drawing inspiration from the "carriage" of a typewriter, the hotel provides a San Francisco experience well suited for vacationers, theater patrons, convention goers, couples and business travelers alike.Located in the vibrant South of Market (SoMA) district, the convenient location provides quick access to many of San Francisco's top attractions and destinations including Civic Center Plaza, Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Westfield Shopping Centre, the Theater District, and Cable Cars that will take you to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Carriage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carriage Hotel San Francisco
Best Western Carriage Hotel
Best Western San Francisco
San Francisco Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing