We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carriage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carriage Inn
Ranked #129 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Other than being surrounded by a sketchy, but non harmful neighbourhood, it is a pretty cool hotel. Retro interior and non-offensive themed rooms, hotel, rooms, bathrooms are very clean. Extremely friendly and accommodating service!.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank arif_a786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at Carriage Inn, responded to this review, 10 November 2014
Dear Arif_a786,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on your recent stay here at the Carriage Inn! On behalf of our entire staff we are very happy that you had a wonderful experience and look forward to the next opportunity to provide you with amazing service.

Sincerely,


Christina Cosby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    134
    64
    19
    9
See reviews for
58
97
24
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

I have never felt so pampered by the hotel staff at the Carriage Inn. Extremely courteous, helpful and pleasant. The room was in good condition with a personal touch, and named the old American personalities, actors and celebrities. The breakfast was not so fun though, a cardboard box holding a croissant, a banana, a juice and a yogurt (with gelatin in which I could not change even though I'm a vegetarian, since these are packed beforehand elsewhere). Otherwise, free access to coffee and tea, both in reception at breakfast and a small private makers in the room, which suited us fine. Located very close to Market Street which has good transport links to the rest of San Francisco and SoMa is good if one wants to be close to good food and go out in fun bars. The hotel is also a recognized pick-up point if you want to go on tours or get shuttle bus to San Francisco airport.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LinaAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at Carriage Inn, responded to this review, 10 November 2014
Dear LinaAdvisor,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We’re pleased to know that you found our facilities to be comfortable and our staff friendly. We work hard to provide excellent service therefore, it’s delightful to hear about it when we succeed. The Soma neighborhood is undergoing a huge amount of change right now. We are very optimistic for the future! We hope to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to San Francisco.

Sincerely,


Christina Cosby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

San Francisco in summer is not the cheapest place on earth....far far from it, but we weren't prepared to spend $500 a night on a bed so The Carriage Inn popped up on our radar. The only two things I was worried about from these reviews was the location and the noise.

The place is well located at the south end of the city and was the perfect base for us, especially as we like to walk. 45 mins walk will get you to fishmans wharf, but there are a host of bus and cable options if you prefer. It may not be as flashy or well off as the bay side suburbs, but it was just a down town hotel on the edge of the CBD, not a haven of crime and debauchery. Were there a few homeless about, sure, but no more than you would see in any city. We never felt threatened or worried for our safety. Location should not be a reason to avoid this place.

The reception staff ( we dealt with 4) were all friendly, polite and helpful. The place is really clean, nice rooms and comfortable. Yes the rooms can get a little warm at night, but we just left our windows open until we went to bed. The street side rooms are too noisy to have the windows open.

The breakfast boxes were good and the mornings we ate breakfast out, we used the box for lunch.

Great value, good central location and near the BART, convenience stores and a great little Asian restaurant next door.

Room Tip: Ask for a rear of building room if its summer and you want your window open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BTetlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at Carriage Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Btetlow,

With the many choices of hotels in San Francisco we are delighted that you chose the Carriage Inn as your home here in San Francisco. We are ecstatic that you thoroughly enjoyed our staff and service. Our staff aim to provide all of our guests a warm welcome and are always willing to assist you with your requests. As you have suggested many of our rooms are located in different areas of our hotel and if available we will gladly move you to another room that is more to your liking.

We look forward to welcome you back to your new found home away from home on your next visit to San Francisco. Thank you again for choosing the Carriage Inn.


With anticipation,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Carriage Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Enjoyed my stay at the carriage and the price was good for the cleanliness/ decor/ and size of the room. This hotel would be a definite 5 of 5 if it were located in a little better/ more lively place. Not really within good walking/ stumbling distance to any good bars and pretty far from pier/ castro/ union square/ powell. If you don't mind a lot of cabs trains etc... then its ok, but definitely can't walk out the door and get to a bustling enjoyable night life all too easily.

Biggest down side is absolutely no lounge/ bar/ restaurant at all

Room Tip: Rooms were all themed, ours was "sister boom boom"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Front Desk Supervisor at Carriage Inn, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hello Ben P,

It is great to hear that your loved the decor of hotel while your visited San Francisco. Our central location in the SoMa area is an advantageous place to be able to get around the city and view all of our local attractions. While the SoMa area is not the most polished neighborhood in the city, it's eclectic atmosphere and nightlife are improving. Thank you again for taking the time to comment on your recent trip and we look forward to having you back with us the next time you travel to San Francisco.

Kind Regards,

Kathleen Sheridan
Front Desk Supervisor
The Carriage Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I enjoyed my stay at the Carriage Inn, and really it's a 4 out of 5 San Francisco option, which is a 3 out of 5 anywhere else (save for London, Paris, New York).

What was great about it:
> Spacious, clean rooms, a lot bigger than most
> Very friendly front desk
> Reasonable value for money in an expensive city

What could be better:
> Wifi is at dial up speeds
> Overhead noise. You're sharing your room with the guest above you, so if they like to pace at 5am, you're going to have to like it too.

What can't be changed:
> Location. While it is central in the sense that you can get anywhere for $10 or less, it is in the few blocks of San Fran that are pretty undesirable. In particular, tourists should try to steer clear of 6th and Market/Mission blocks. It's up-and-coming (some nice dining options nearby), but you'll be on your toes.

So the Carriage Inn was fit for purpose and we may well return.

Room Tip: Try for top floor and at the back, away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thepolarbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Front Desk Supervisor at Carriage Inn, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hello thepolarbeer,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations, our services and the hospitality of our friendly staff. We certainly appreciate your taking the time to share your experience on with us and the Trip Advisor community. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back on your next visit into San Francisco!

Best Wishes,

Kathleen Sheridan
Front Desk Supervisor
The Carriage Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a vacation to San Francisco. My wife and I have never been to San Francisco before, and boy did we luck out with this place. It has a fantastic location in a gentrifying location of San Francisco, just 2 blocks from Market Street on 7th avenue. That intersection on Market has a BART station, so it was very easy to get to the hotel by taking the train. It also has a bus stop there, so every day my wife and I could get very easy access to all of San Francisco by bus. There is also a nice CVS on the corner where we could get some light groceries and toiletries.

Keep in mind that this area is in the process of being gentrified, so there are a few construction projects around this area of Market Street. They haven't started in full yet, but it is coming. There are a lot of homeless in this area, but they will probable be pushed farther south as the construction continues.

The hotel itself is really nice, each room themed with a famous San Franciscan artist, but not overwhelmingly so. The beds were very nice and comfortable. Breakfast is provided as a breakfast box, which includes OJ, yogurt, a banana and a croissant which you can bring back to your room. The only complaint I have about this is the yogurt and OJ were always a little on the warm side as these were kept out on the counter since 7am. Otherwise, it was a fantastic experience and we will definitely come back next time we are in San Francisco.

Room Tip: Get a room facing away from 7th street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Front Desk Supervisor at Carriage Inn, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hi John P,

Your comments about your stay with us are much appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the Trip Advisor community! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations, the service of our staff, and appreciated your candid insight about our surrounding area. Your review I'm sure will help our future guests make the best of their stay at The Carriage Inn while in San Francisco! We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best Wishes,

Kathleen Sheridan
Front Desk Supervisor
The Carriage Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varese, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Me and my sister stayed for 1 night in these Hotel in SF, just before our return to Italy. We found these Hotel by chance but we were happy about our choice. It was actually the most expansive room we had in 3 weeks of travelling in USA: 171 euro, 232 Us dollars, not for everyone I suppose. The real plus was the lady (I don't remember the name sorry, but she is British with Indian origin). She really help us with the parking and all the information about the City and finally she even booked a night at Yoshi's with George Clinton in concert. Thank you again, you really make the difference.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geremiaMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Front Desk Supervisor at Carriage Inn, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hello geremiaMilano,

We certainly appreciate that you took the time to share your review about your recent stay with us and the Trip Advisor community. I am pleased that you enjoyed our accommodations and service, especially Mina! We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to San Francisco, thanks again!

Kind Regards,

Kathleen Sheridan
Front Desk Agent
The Carriage Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania
BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania
#128 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
SoMa
The Good Hotel
The Good Hotel
#185 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#183 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vertigo
#76 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#121 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Cova Hotel
#95 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Inn

Property: Carriage Inn
Address: 140 Seventh Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#78 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carriage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carriage Inn features 48-rooms and offers a witty, warm, and sophisticated escape from the ordinary. Featuring guest rooms saluting San Francisco's notables eccentric notables and drawing inspiration from the "carriage" of a typewriter, the hotel provides a San Francisco experience well suited for vacationers, theater patrons, convention goers, couples and business travelers alike.Located in the vibrant South of Market (SoMA) district, the convenient location provides quick access to many of San Francisco's top attractions and destinations including Civic Center Plaza, Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Westfield Shopping Centre, the Theater District, and Cable Cars that will take you to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Carriage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carriage Hotel San Francisco
Best Western Carriage Hotel
Best Western San Francisco
San Francisco Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing