We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service, un-pleasant room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Civic Center Motor Inn
Ranked #202 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We were originally booked to stay at the Broadway Inn and suites,the Civic Centers sister property. Clearly a poorly organised and poorly run chain of hotels as the Broadway location over sold its property by several rooms and so we were forced to stay at this hotel. City was busy with America's cup so no alternatives in our price range available.
Firstly the staff did not once apologize for the inconvenience caused, then we had to wait as our reservation was not even moved over to this property and to top it off the non smoking room we had booked was not available. No compensation offered, just a rude receptionist who clearly did not want to be bothered by the situation. Finally the room we accepted (as tired) did not smell of smoke but like stale un pleasant cleaning products and the room had a wet carpet! Cleary the carpet had just been cleaned and the room should not have been sold.
Do not stay here unless one of the only options or a very cheap rate. The area was not the best but location was close to tram transport. Service was the main down fall and as I work in the industry all other issues were unfortunate but were recoverable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
There are newer reviews for Civic Center Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

Location - close enough to walk to restaurants, but just far enough to be in the slightly unsavoury part of town. Lots of noise from the street, but the rooms at the back may be better? Rooms were fine for a budget hotel. Good for a $100 motel close to the centre of town...

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fliboy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

We had to stay one night there because our hotel was overbooked. Its not in the best neighbourhood, very loud and the room was stinky, terrible smell.

We were four people between 25 & 31 and nobody slept well because of the noise and the cleanness.

The good thing about the hotel was the breakfast and the free wifi as well as the free parking. But still, never again!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Planned to stay there for 4 night last week, people walking in and out the motel till early in the morning.
Someone broke in to my room on the third night and stole all my money and valuable while I was sleeping
Move out on the last night despite already paid for the last night.
It is a bad neighborhood and it is not safe
I will never go back again for the rest of my life.....

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Taylor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Easy to park, accessible, cheap. We were given a free upgrade to a King Size room. Very happy. The staff was friendly. No problems. The neighborhood was downtown. We booked it last minute from Hotels.com and found a $84 rate, on a Monday night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jay Jay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Had tickets for to back to back Giants games and found this place to be reasonably close to AT&T park INCLUDING parking. The staff was great over the phone and in person, Clean rooms and Zero complaints. We got to see a different side of the city staying here which was cool. Costco is around the corner as well as a neat Food Truck court for really great eats. Will stay here again for a quick, inexpensive getaway from SJ.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I booked this room on Friday June 21st. My husband was in ICU at SF General. The Hotel was close to the hospital. The desk clerk was so helpful to myself and daughters that night and rhe next morning. Wasn't sure what we were going to get was really surprised the room was super clean and the bathroom was very nice. The hotel was an older one that has been remodeled was very impressed, would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cyndi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#142 of 230 in San Francisco
151 reviews
SoMa
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
#171 of 230 in San Francisco
161 reviews
Pacific Heights
Inn on Broadway
Inn on Broadway
#176 of 230 in San Francisco
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Music City Hotel
#121 of 230 in San Francisco
401 reviews
SoMa
The Good Hotel
The Good Hotel
#185 of 230 in San Francisco
625 reviews
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#116 of 230 in San Francisco
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Civic Center Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Civic Center Motor Inn

Address: 364 9th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-3836
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £75 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Civic Center Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To really enjoy the City, stay in the center of it at the Civic Center Motor Inn. Ideally located just a few blocks from Union Square, cable cars, the Opera, theatres, and world class restaurants, the Civic Center Motor Inn is the perfect jumping off place for touring the City and other Bay Area destinations. Business guests will appreciate our proximity to the Civic Center and Moscone Convention Center. The Civic Center Motor Inn offers the ultimate in value and convenience, including complimentary continental breakfast buffet, free parking, easy freeway access, and nearby public transportation. Our friendly staff is at your service to help make your stay enjoyable and a place you want to return to again and again.The Civic Center Motor Inn offers 57 attractive guest rooms, each designed with your comfort in mind. Guest room features include: Free Parking Free High Speed Wireless Internet Free Continental Breakfast, 100% Non-Smoking Rooms Available, Swimming Pool, Microwave & Refrigerator, Hair Dryer, Iron with full size board, Expanded Cable Television with HBO included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Civic Center Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Civic Center Motor Hotel San Francisco
Best Western San Francisco
San Francisco Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing