We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Works in a Pinch” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Civic Center Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Civic Center Motor Inn
Ranked #196 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Works in a Pinch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

I had a last minute, one night work trip to SF and found that most hotels were booked or outrageously priced. I took a chance on Hotwire and got the Civic Center Motor Inn.

If you are visiting SF, the location is not ideal. The neighborhood is safe but doesn't look it. When I checked in just after 6, the office was locked and I had to register through a small window while standing in the driveway. What kind of safety message is this property sending when they can't let people into their office at 6? The location is not particularly convenient to transportation or sightseeing. It is a long, not pleasant, 3 and half blocks to Market.

Now for the good news. My room was clean and perfectly comfortable. This is a motel property with the standard configuration and rooms that open right to the outside. The street that it is on is quite busy and noisy but I slept fine. The free breakfast is motel decent. The staff were friendly but I didn't make any demands on them.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelDreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    82
    90
    49
    55
See reviews for
58
94
43
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

I was over from the UK in San Francisco for one night on the 15th August 2013 and booked one room. When I telephoned the day before the reception clerk took my credit card details and charged me the full amount. When we arrived they said they had no record of my booking and had to find me a room and charge my credit card as my telephone order had not been processed. I was wary of this but went with what the manager said. However, on my return to UK it turns out I was charged twice. I have telephoned and explained the problem, emailed with no response. My credit card company are now handling this to recover my money that is owed to me. Terrible customer service and would strongly avoid staying here or handing over any money until you are physically there in person.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ownerjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
212 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We were nearing the end of our epic girls road trip. It was a busy weekend in San Fran with the America's Cup. We spent several hours online looking for accommodation, then finally resorted to hotwire to help us out. We ended up here at $150 a night. Not located near really anything, but here are my thoughts on it all...

Arrival - there were dodgy people hanging out at the desk, staff were as friendly as one would expect. Parking was a bit tight, but we found a good spot and just left the car there for the two days we were here.

Rooms - surprisingly very clean. Bedding was newer and modern. Beds very comfy. Fridge, coffee maker and all the other standard amenities. Towels were very cheap and thin.

Pool - clean - didn't look like it had much use, but nice touch.

Breakfast - excellent fresh and healthy options.

Wifi - free! Worked!

We brought our bikes, and found it was really easy to get to and from the hotel. If we did not have the bikes, it would have been expensive getting in and out of this area. Very out of the way.

Wanted to go to a tranny show, for Asia SF was only two blocks away. (it was sold out) Rocco's - featured of Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives was three blocks away - great meal, great service and super close. Wonderful food, well price, huge portions - super yum.

Low point - in the morning, there were shopping cart people hanging out on property. A bit un-nerving - they kept walking by the room - had the curtain open, but had to close, just to creepy. Was a bit worried there might be a break in over night. It never happened, but was not the greatest spot in this regard.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meritagebc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We were originally booked to stay at the Broadway Inn and suites,the Civic Centers sister property. Clearly a poorly organised and poorly run chain of hotels as the Broadway location over sold its property by several rooms and so we were forced to stay at this hotel. City was busy with America's cup so no alternatives in our price range available.
Firstly the staff did not once apologize for the inconvenience caused, then we had to wait as our reservation was not even moved over to this property and to top it off the non smoking room we had booked was not available. No compensation offered, just a rude receptionist who clearly did not want to be bothered by the situation. Finally the room we accepted (as tired) did not smell of smoke but like stale un pleasant cleaning products and the room had a wet carpet! Cleary the carpet had just been cleaned and the room should not have been sold.
Do not stay here unless one of the only options or a very cheap rate. The area was not the best but location was close to tram transport. Service was the main down fall and as I work in the industry all other issues were unfortunate but were recoverable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Location - close enough to walk to restaurants, but just far enough to be in the slightly unsavoury part of town. Lots of noise from the street, but the rooms at the back may be better? Rooms were fine for a budget hotel. Good for a $100 motel close to the centre of town...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fliboy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothrist
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

We had to stay one night there because our hotel was overbooked. Its not in the best neighbourhood, very loud and the room was stinky, terrible smell.

We were four people between 25 & 31 and nobody slept well because of the noise and the cleanness.

The good thing about the hotel was the breakfast and the free wifi as well as the free parking. But still, never again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Planned to stay there for 4 night last week, people walking in and out the motel till early in the morning.
Someone broke in to my room on the third night and stole all my money and valuable while I was sleeping
Move out on the last night despite already paid for the last night.
It is a bad neighborhood and it is not safe
I will never go back again for the rest of my life.....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Taylor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#137 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
SoMa
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
#162 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Pacific Heights
Inn on Broadway
Inn on Broadway
#167 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alexis Park San Francisco
#173 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#100 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Music City Hotel
#127 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Civic Center Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Civic Center Motor Inn

Property: Civic Center Motor Inn
Address: 364 9th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-3836
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Civic Center Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To really enjoy the City, stay in the center of it at the Civic Center Motor Inn. Ideally located just a few blocks from Union Square, cable cars, the Opera, theatres, and world class restaurants, the Civic Center Motor Inn is the perfect jumping off place for touring the City and other Bay Area destinations. Business guests will appreciate our proximity to the Civic Center and Moscone Convention Center. The Civic Center Motor Inn offers the ultimate in value and convenience, including complimentary continental breakfast buffet, free parking, easy freeway access, and nearby public transportation. Our friendly staff is at your service to help make your stay enjoyable and a place you want to return to again and again.The Civic Center Motor Inn offers 57 attractive guest rooms, each designed with your comfort in mind. Guest room features include: Free Parking Free High Speed Wireless Internet Free Continental Breakfast, 100% Non-Smoking Rooms Available, Swimming Pool, Microwave & Refrigerator, Hair Dryer, Iron with full size board, Expanded Cable Television with HBO included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Civic Center Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Civic Center Motor Hotel San Francisco
Best Western San Francisco
San Francisco Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing