We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So so hotel in so so neighbourhood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Civic Center Motor Inn
Ranked #197 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“So so hotel in so so neighbourhood”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

The hotel is a two story u-shaped with parking in front and back. The first night we were in a second floor room close to a busy street, The traffic noise was very bad. Due to the traffic noise and a very pool quality bed, we were awake most of the night. The next morning we asked to move rooms and the staff were very accommodating. We were reassigned to a first floor room behind the pool. It was must quieter there, and the bed was much better. However, you could not sit on the pull out coach, let alone sleep on it. Although small, the bathrooms were nicely updated and very clean. The best thing was the friendly, helpful staff and the convenient parking.

Room Tip: We stayed at this hotel because it had free parking. In furture I would pay more for a better hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    82
    90
    49
    56
See reviews for
58
95
43
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

I was looking for a cheap place to stay within walking distance of Moscone where I wouldn't get stabbed. The Civic Center Motor Inn delivered on that. Rooms are reasonably large, comfortable, and priced. It's a fifteen minute walk to Moscone, and I don't feel uncomfortable doing it at night. (Although I'm a pretty big guy, it definitely isn't the nicest neighborhood.) It isn't fancy, the rooms are pretty old (CRT TVs, that smell old hotels get) but it's clean, safe, all the plumbing works, they clean your rooms. Paras was extremely helpful. It's not a luxury hotel, but you can't beat the value, at least not in that area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lou L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antelope, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

went on priceline, OVERPRICED!!! but super close to the venue that we were going to (Slims) for a concert. other reviews seemed to be better than others in the area.
Check in seemed semi friendly... however that is where it ended. upon further inspection of the room they assigned us, noted that the SMOKE FREE ROOM reaked of smoke, so much so there were ever cigarette burns all over the sheets. After taking photos of the evidence I went to the office where i was turned away as first the attendant aske "What do you want?!" i preceeded with my case that was dismissed with "There was nothing they could do because they were full up to the night". after further investigating the room also noted that the cable TV which was supposed to be included in the price was NOT WORKING.
The night, wow lets just saw that my wife and I did not get ANY SLEEP due to the place being soo close to a major street and accross from a very busy bar.
The Breakfast, was sub par to say the least, only a single selection of bagle, or waffles, odd tasting coffee, apple and at least the orange juice machine that worked.
of course checkout was nice... as all they need to do is smile and forget how crappy thier buisness is.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Hildesheim, Germany
Level Contributor
289 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

during my stays in San Francisco, I have been several times to the CCMI. So far, it was ok-ish, if your expectations are not too high and you are aware about the area. This time it was disappointing, even for low expectations.
On the positive side, parking is free, but that's about it. The "breakfast buffet" is coffee and juice, bagels and jam, you can do your own waffles, period. The rooms are old, so is the interior, the sofa was a piece of &%§*', full of staints and sticky. The wireless is free, but didn't work, even after complaining.
The inn is located in SOMA, it is in walking distance to Market Street and the shopping district, but it is not a very friendly area, especially at night. You also have to know that Ninth is pretty busy and the rooms are not isolated very well, it is noisy. For the price they charged it was definitely way overpriced, even for SF.

Room Tip: A room to the backyard is quieter than facing Ninth. Check the room first and ask for a different on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meisterjaeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Yes, it's in an industrial area, and not many touristy things around. But the rooms are comfortable and well-stocked with coffee/fridge/micro and across the street is Costco, Trader Joe's and a mall. Across from one gay bar, and next to another. The breakfast is way above average. The staff are friendly and helpful. The parking is gated, and safe. Upscale bed and towels. On top of the great value, the manager gave me a coupon good for 10% off a future stay.
Again, the location is not touristy, but the transit is right on the corner to take you anywhere by bus or to the BART. A five block walk to the Mission District, which is being taken over by tech yuppies, but still has the authentic/edgy (if sketchy) street vibe of the inner city.

Room Tip: I stayed in back facing parking, a gay bar patio that was quiet, and a great view of some multi-mill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iso T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
129 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

I have stayed here several times recently, and let me tell you, staff does NOT disappoint!!! They most young, vibrant, enthusiastic and are willing to go the extra mile, keeping you happy while ensuring your return business. BRAVO!!!

Room Tip: Top floor best, I think, back side is quiter - no real
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Customer service was Grate,my room was very clean,they have free Parking and Wifi.Good location in San Francisco.I will stay here any time when I travel to the city. I would like to say thank you to the staff C.Davis.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christopher d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#135 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Pacific Heights
Inn on Broadway
Inn on Broadway
#174 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
SoMa
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
#163 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alexis Park San Francisco
#176 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Music City Hotel
#123 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
The Opal San Francisco
#99 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Civic Center Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Civic Center Motor Inn

Property: Civic Center Motor Inn
Address: 364 9th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-3836
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Civic Center Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To really enjoy the City, stay in the center of it at the Civic Center Motor Inn. Ideally located just a few blocks from Union Square, cable cars, the Opera, theatres, and world class restaurants, the Civic Center Motor Inn is the perfect jumping off place for touring the City and other Bay Area destinations. Business guests will appreciate our proximity to the Civic Center and Moscone Convention Center. The Civic Center Motor Inn offers the ultimate in value and convenience, including complimentary continental breakfast buffet, free parking, easy freeway access, and nearby public transportation. Our friendly staff is at your service to help make your stay enjoyable and a place you want to return to again and again.The Civic Center Motor Inn offers 57 attractive guest rooms, each designed with your comfort in mind. Guest room features include: Free Parking Free High Speed Wireless Internet Free Continental Breakfast, 100% Non-Smoking Rooms Available, Swimming Pool, Microwave & Refrigerator, Hair Dryer, Iron with full size board, Expanded Cable Television with HBO included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Civic Center Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Civic Center Motor Hotel San Francisco
Best Western San Francisco
San Francisco Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing