We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, bad area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Civic Center Motor Inn
Ranked #202 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The hotel is situated in a bad area of SF, even though it looks pretty close to the center.
I was afraid to stay there and all the people in the hotel looked that they will stalk you :) The rooms were ok and clean but for the same money one can find better accomodation. I woudn't go there again but as I said, in the end it wasn't as bad as expected.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra02013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
There are newer reviews for Civic Center Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

This is a motel, so don't expect more than that. It has recently been refurbished and they did a deduct job (I stayed here years ago). The bed I had was fine, nothing to write home about. The couch (hide-a-bed) had seen better days - glad no one had to sleep on it. The free breakfast is pretty minimal. Otherwise a decent place - good (free) WiFi. Small bathroom, but nice stall shower with good water pressure. Ask for a room on the back side that faces the parking lot - much quieter. Bottom line: you can't beat the price, especially if you have a car - free parking (and most SF hotels charge at least $20/night for parking - and it's often not in or attached to the hotel). I got the best price by going directly to the motel's website - no problems with that.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

I just left this room after only 10 minutes. The first thing I grabbed was a pistol to walk us to the room. I took pictures of the crackheads that I will upload. They refused to refund. I'm without a place to sleep, but it's better than the crack den. Please please don't stay here.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Umbrellaone7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The hotel is a two story u-shaped with parking in front and back. The first night we were in a second floor room close to a busy street, The traffic noise was very bad. Due to the traffic noise and a very pool quality bed, we were awake most of the night. The next morning we asked to move rooms and the staff were very accommodating. We were reassigned to a first floor room behind the pool. It was must quieter there, and the bed was much better. However, you could not sit on the pull out coach, let alone sleep on it. Although small, the bathrooms were nicely updated and very clean. The best thing was the friendly, helpful staff and the convenient parking.

Room Tip: We stayed at this hotel because it had free parking. In furture I would pay more for a better hotel...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I was looking for a cheap place to stay within walking distance of Moscone where I wouldn't get stabbed. The Civic Center Motor Inn delivered on that. Rooms are reasonably large, comfortable, and priced. It's a fifteen minute walk to Moscone, and I don't feel uncomfortable doing it at night. (Although I'm a pretty big guy, it definitely isn't the nicest neighborhood.) It isn't fancy, the rooms are pretty old (CRT TVs, that smell old hotels get) but it's clean, safe, all the plumbing works, they clean your rooms. Paras was extremely helpful. It's not a luxury hotel, but you can't beat the value, at least not in that area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lou L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

went on priceline, OVERPRICED!!! but super close to the venue that we were going to (Slims) for a concert. other reviews seemed to be better than others in the area.
Check in seemed semi friendly... however that is where it ended. upon further inspection of the room they assigned us, noted that the SMOKE FREE ROOM reaked of smoke, so much so there were ever cigarette burns all over the sheets. After taking photos of the evidence I went to the office where i was turned away as first the attendant aske "What do you want?!" i preceeded with my case that was dismissed with "There was nothing they could do because they were full up to the night". after further investigating the room also noted that the cable TV which was supposed to be included in the price was NOT WORKING.
The night, wow lets just saw that my wife and I did not get ANY SLEEP due to the place being soo close to a major street and accross from a very busy bar.
The Breakfast, was sub par to say the least, only a single selection of bagle, or waffles, odd tasting coffee, apple and at least the orange juice machine that worked.
of course checkout was nice... as all they need to do is smile and forget how crappy thier buisness is.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

during my stays in San Francisco, I have been several times to the CCMI. So far, it was ok-ish, if your expectations are not too high and you are aware about the area. This time it was disappointing, even for low expectations.
On the positive side, parking is free, but that's about it. The "breakfast buffet" is coffee and juice, bagels and jam, you can do your own waffles, period. The rooms are old, so is the interior, the sofa was a piece of &%§*', full of staints and sticky. The wireless is free, but didn't work, even after complaining.
The inn is located in SOMA, it is in walking distance to Market Street and the shopping district, but it is not a very friendly area, especially at night. You also have to know that Ninth is pretty busy and the rooms are not isolated very well, it is noisy. For the price they charged it was definitely way overpriced, even for SF.

Room Tip: A room to the backyard is quieter than facing Ninth. Check the room first and ask for a different on...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meisterjaeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#141 of 230 in San Francisco
151 reviews
Pacific Heights
Inn on Broadway
Inn on Broadway
#176 of 230 in San Francisco
481 reviews
SoMa
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
#171 of 230 in San Francisco
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Music City Hotel
#119 of 230 in San Francisco
402 reviews
SoMa
The Good Hotel
The Good Hotel
#186 of 230 in San Francisco
625 reviews
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#118 of 230 in San Francisco
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Civic Center Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Civic Center Motor Inn

Address: 364 9th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-3836
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £75 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Civic Center Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To really enjoy the City, stay in the center of it at the Civic Center Motor Inn. Ideally located just a few blocks from Union Square, cable cars, the Opera, theatres, and world class restaurants, the Civic Center Motor Inn is the perfect jumping off place for touring the City and other Bay Area destinations. Business guests will appreciate our proximity to the Civic Center and Moscone Convention Center. The Civic Center Motor Inn offers the ultimate in value and convenience, including complimentary continental breakfast buffet, free parking, easy freeway access, and nearby public transportation. Our friendly staff is at your service to help make your stay enjoyable and a place you want to return to again and again.The Civic Center Motor Inn offers 57 attractive guest rooms, each designed with your comfort in mind. Guest room features include: Free Parking Free High Speed Wireless Internet Free Continental Breakfast, 100% Non-Smoking Rooms Available, Swimming Pool, Microwave & Refrigerator, Hair Dryer, Iron with full size board, Expanded Cable Television with HBO included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Civic Center Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Civic Center Motor Hotel San Francisco
Best Western San Francisco
San Francisco Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing