We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Bijou”
Review of Hotel Bijou

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Bijou
Ranked #128 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hotel Bijou”
Reviewed 3 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Bijou in San Francisco in April 2012. The staff were all very nice and the room was very clean. The hotel has a movie theater inside and each room is named after a movie filmed in San Francisco. We stayed in the Presido room which was cool since I am a big Mark Harmon fan.
It's not an upscale hotel but our stay there was very enjoyable. There were only a couple of issues we had one was the television didn't have great reception and we were trying to watch the University of KY Wildcats win the NCAA Championship game. The other issue was the area at night made us a little wary.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leannky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    309
    191
    71
    39
See reviews for
115
276
48
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I booked Hotel Bijou because they were running a 50% off deal ... it wasnt worth the money saved!!! There was NO Air Conditioning and when I asked for a fan the hotel clerk just huffed and said to open the window. The curtains looked like there had been a murder with wierd dark red substance all over them. The room was very small and not all that clean. The location is literally a block or two from the heart of it all but unfortunetley is also right next to a very sketchy area on a street called Eddy. You could hear people yelling and the smell of urine was overwhelming. One last thing ... plan on paying about $27-$35 a day for parking ....

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tiffany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBijou111, General Manager at Hotel Bijou, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear guest,

The hotel bijou is located in the border of the tenderloin area, but please take into consideration that there are larger branded 5 star hotels surrounding our hotel just as well in the same area. You will encounter homeless people all over San Francisco. In regards to no a/c at the hotel we have very little need, in San Francisco, this dates are anomaly as we get maybe 20 days through out the year of 90 degree weather, and as always it does cool down in the evenings, but in anycase we will place it a/c on our wishlist for upgrades to the hotel for the near future. I do apolgoize if any of my staff members did not give you appropriate customer service, that I will review immediatly.

Thank you for giving the hotel a try and we do hope that you will consider us in the future, again the location is very central, the street people do leave you alone, and we do have quiet rooms in the hotel if street noise is an issue.

Kind Regards

Blanca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

this looked like a cute hotel on the website however when we arrived it was quite dated and in need of refurbishment. The lift was very noisy and we could hear it all night in our room (600). For the two nights we stayed there, there was hot water only once for one shower. We advised of this and still the next day it was cold. The room was an ok size, beds were squeaky however reasonably comfortable (with earplugs in!)
One block down is the Tenderloin, which is full of crack heads and homeless druggies, didnt feel very safe walking through there. It was close to market st for all the shopping.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBijou111, General Manager at Hotel Bijou, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear guest
Thank you for trying out the Hotel Bijou, good location as mentioned close to shopping and various tourist attractions, yes the hotel is close to the dodgy end, but there is no need to go into the Tenderloin area as that is behind the hotel, and all tourist attractions, or financial area are to the east or north of the hotel. I apologize for the no hot water, it is a major inconvenience I agree, this is a situation that we are working on fixing, it is really just a one room situation that is random, hot water is available in the span of 15 minutes normally.

if I can be of additional assistance please feel free to contact me.

Kind Regards

Blanca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I was stranded in San Fran due to a late incoming flight so I called h-t--s.com and when I found Hilton and Marriott booked they suggested this hotel. Although it is somewhat on the edge where you need to be careful in which direction you walk at night it is no different in that respect from the Hilton one block north and at a much cheaper rate. You don't go to SanFran to spend most if your time in a hotel room so this hotel is quaint and only a block away from Powell where you can get the street car and also close to tons of shopping. Staff were very friendly and rooms were tidy and they even supplied toothpaste which normally doesn't come unless you ask. They even had a complimentary Breathe Right on the nightstand. Outside was somewhat noisy but that is par for the course unless you are in a tall 30+ story hotel. I would recommend this for the young and adventurous with some street savy and a budget but perhaps not to more conservative and narrow-minded individuals who don't get out much.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KrankyJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angelos
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We booked this hotel because it was the cheapest we found on Bing and there were no reports of bed bugs for 2012. Other reviewers warned about the surrounding location, and they were right. It's a very sketchy part of the city. The streets and shops are fine, it's just there was a lot of vagrants around.

The hotel staff was nice and gave us a refrigerator like we asked. There is a loud bar right next to the hotel with plenty of loud patrons. The traffic was quite noisy too, and the windows did nothing to block all of these sounds out. Our mattress wasn't very comfortable either. We overnighted the car in an alley garage for a flat rate of $25.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Brandenn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I know you have heard alot about this hotel, but this one is standard digs, with a GREAT LOCATION. Beware, some people will NOT like this hotel. Its right up against the Tenderloin area, with homeless and some street 'characters', 4 blocks away is a tough area where anything goes, but at the hotel and a couple blocks each way is just fine, if you can handle some sketchy characters on the street next you. Mostly , they leave you alone and if you ignor them and keep walking, no issues. We love the charming hotel, everything was clean enough for us, but we are not super picky. A picky person will have issues here, not on cleanlyness, but more on just the standardness of the room, ect. I also recommend, asking for a rooom on the back side of the hotel, its quieter. We had no issues and slept GREAT, back side rooms are less sunny too, which is great for sleeping in. I would TOTALLY RECOMMEND it if you are up for a great location. The BART station and all the buses and Muni are RIGHT THERE, one block away. No need for a car at all. Thank god as VALET is 28 bucks a night. Park the car down the BART at COLMA and ride in, free parking at Colma on weekends. (Do your research on how to park at BART so you dont get a fine)

The location was STELLAR for going to indian restaurants, thai restaurants, breakfasts, chinatown and the clubs are REALLY CLOSE. Ruby Skye was a block away. Singles young, lines down the block for this club, plus if you walk a little bit you can be in North Beach and at some really cool places quick. One night we got tired, and took the taxi back from walking out, and the taxi was 6 bucks...and we were like 1.3 miles away.

The hotel has no food to speak of, but its all around. The shower and tub was awesome, I had a bath and soaked my body after a long 4-5 mile walkling tour, and it was a great tub to kick back in and soak out the pains. The bed was comfy enough, nothing great but I slept well. Charming little place with the movie theme, guests and employees a great crowd.

Dont worry too much about the negative reviews unless you are picky, then spend the money and go somewhere else. But if you want a deal on a room in San Fran, look no further, home run!

Room Tip: ask for a room in the back of the building off the street..Room 512 was perfect for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This hotel has a fantastic location. It's close to Powell Bart station, the tram and Union Square. It's right there where all of the shops are so one can pop out to do a bit of shopping or grab a bite to eat and go back to the room to unload or take a nap or eat a bite. The rooms are not super spacious but I've always had plenty of space in there. The bathrooms are small but again plenty big for me. I request a fridge and they bring one to my room at no extra charge. The hotel is lovely and quiet. The movie theme is really cute and the staff are really friendly and helpful. I have no desire to stay anywhere but here when I go to SF. Of course if you have a lot of money that you wish to spend on a luxurious room away from the main streets of San Francisco then maybe look elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carmelapplepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#125 of 228 in San Francisco
1,234 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#79 of 228 in San Francisco
1,309 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#187 of 228 in San Francisco
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#83 of 228 in San Francisco
1,431 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#183 of 228 in San Francisco
2,945 reviews
Union Square
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Union Square
Holiday Inn Express San Francisc...
#101 of 228 in San Francisco
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bijou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bijou

Property: Hotel Bijou
Address: 111 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2713
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Bijou 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bijou is the most unique of all the Bay Area boutique hotels in downtown San Francisco. Inspired by San Francisco's rich cinematic history, our San Francisco Union Square hotel is adorned with classic movie palace designs and dramatic Hollywood portraits. Each of our 65 comfortable guest rooms in our Union Square hotel in San Francisco is named after a motion picture shot here in the city. Using the original movie stills as decorative accents, Hotel Bijou provides our guests with the most interesting downtown San Francisco hotel rooms while simultaneously keeping you centrally located to everything this exciting city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bijou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bijou Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Bijou San Francisco
Bijou San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing