We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, bad area..”
Review of Hotel Bijou

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bijou
Ranked #123 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 6 July 2014

In general the room was clean, staff friendly etc, can't fault the hotel there. During the day the location seems quite good, quite central, near transport links short stroll from Union Square. At night however the street environment can be quite intimidating, though we witnessed nothing violent etc. we felt uncomfortable there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roryhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (820)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 820 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

"The staff - excellent. The room - clean. The furnishings - worn, but vintage." So says the review by zzptm, and it expresses my impression. I was here to work with SF City Impact in the Tenderloin, and had no illusions about my environment. The hotel is literally on the outer edge of that district, with upscale businesses in one direction and colorful despair in the other.
I liked the style of the hotel, was treated quickly and with courtesy and expertise by the staff. Breakfast was adequate. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank graigf54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBijou111, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Bijou, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Hi Graig!

Thank you so much for writing your review, we appreciate it! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the hotel met your needs during your trip.

I look forward to seeing you again for your return trip

Thank you again!
Jaleesa - Front Desk Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Well priced hotel. Managed to get a half way decent rate despite the high price of other downtown hotels. Wanted to avoid the super touristy area of the wharf so chose downtown thinking it would serve as a better home base. The stay was ok. Rooms are kind of tired but understandably for the age of the building. Seemed pretty clean. Toilets were way underpowered and shower was pretty touchy and had some mold on the caulking. Beds were decent although the bedding was kind of skimpy. Staff was very helpful with transportation although we originally arrived in a car and found the hotel doesn't really have any parking agreements set in stone and were forced to drive around the block about six times to find a garage. As for the neighborhood, it's kind of sketchy but I didn't have any problems with anyone. Saw a few people urinating outside and lots of vulgar language. The hotel served our needs of being clean and close to transportation. Didn't spend much time there except for sleeping. I'd prob look elsewhere if I had to do it again simply on the undesired me neighborhood, but the hotel can't change the neighborhood.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danwad5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBijou111, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Bijou, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Dan,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us! We do our best to keep our rates reasonable, yet competitive with other hotels in the area since we are located near union square. Sorry to hear about the mold in your shower, hopefully you have brought this up to our maintenance has gotten to this by now and have this under control. As for the parking situation - we have two options for parking: you can self-park or do valet parking for an additional charge. Both of these options give you 24 hour access to your vehicle, in and our privileges and your vehicle will be in a secured. We are doing our best to make the neighborhood to feel safe and less "sketchy" for our guest and hopefully next time you come (and stay with us) we can show you all that we have been doing and hopefully you see the difference.


I'm glad you enjoyed a majority of your stay and I hope you will choose us again!
Thank you again!
Jaleesa - Front Desk Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The staff - excellent. The room - clean. The furnishings - worn, but vintage. And that's where some people are going to holler "This place is a dump!", as did one visitor there that got bumped from a stay at the Hilton. I saw the Hilton, by the way... wow... but this place isn't Fawlty Towers, either.

I enjoy places with character, and that's this hotel. The wifi worked great, the bathroom had a most unorthodox arrangement, but everything was there, and opening the vents in the bathroom and my window set up a pleasant cross breeze - as the staff recommended.

The staff know how to manage life in this building. Talk to them, and they have great suggestions. Closing my window at night and running a box fan I picked up from the front desk gave me a quiet night's rest. I needed that after sleeping with my window open one night...

OK, this is downtown San Francisco. The hotel and its staff are NOT responsible for the trash men at 4 AM or the bums on the street. I was staying at the hotel for business, and the place was barely within our company rate, after I told them I would take the rental car and daily parking rates and apply them towards the hotel rate. SF is costly for hotels near to the city center, even hotels in bad neighborhoods. This one did the trick.

And though I marched through the valley of bums, yea, I found that the two Indian restaurants across the street are great places to eat. Blondie's Pizza around the corner, next to Rasputin Music, was a fun side trip, as well. It's convenient both to Dottie's as well as the Moscone Center. It's very near the Powell Street subway stop.

It's also an old building. As such, it needs management and a little clever thinking in order to work out a good stay. I loved the retro decor and the movie stills that decorate the place. I didn't like the noise from the bums at night. I didn't like the noise from the sports bar next door, either. But, as I said, a box fan and a closed window made everything worth while. Because you have to take the bad with the good here, I can't give it a "very good" rating. It comes close to actual camping in some aspects. But if you like character, you won't care about the "average" rating and you'll see some good value in booking a room here.

And if you usually stay in resorts and hate roughing it and you got bumped from the Hilton, may God have mercy upon your soul. You are most certainly *not* going to like staying here.

Room Tip: If you can get a room "on the quiet side" of the building, do so. Also, get a box fan to r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zzzptm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBijou111, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Bijou, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Hi DW! Thanks for your review!

It was a please speaking with you during your stay you sure made an impression on all of our staff!! Thank you for acknowledging that the staff here knows how to work with the people, as we do. We know all a majority of the things to help our guest be more comfortable and we do our best to ensure that they are. Even though you were here for business, I'm glad you got the time to enjoy yourself as well and try out a lot of the different varieties of foods in the neighborhoods.
The noise we do our best to air out at night, since you left us we have tried out ways to keep our Eddy street side quieter from people noise and so far so good. I know next year you wont be back with us because the conference will be in Las Vegas, but if you're ever back in San Francisco please I hope that you choose the Hotel Bijou again for your stay!

Thanks Again!
Jaleesa - Front Desk Staff

PS. "My Name Is Khan" was an excellent recommendation it played 2 nights in a row after you left. Thank YOU for that!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Room was small, but well-appointed. Breakfast rather minimal considering it's an extra charge; would be happy to pay a few dollars more for more choices. Be aware more-or-less mandatory valet parking is extra, though not unreasonable for downtown SF. And, note that hotel is right on edge of a sketchy neighbourhood, the Tenderloin. Timid travellers will want to avoid walking south.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FredDoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBijou111, General Manager at Hotel Bijou, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for the review, Our breakfast for the cost of $7.05 includes the following, bagels, toast, English muffins, pancakes, waffles, hardboiled eggs, cereal, oatmeal, yogurt, ham, deli turkey, and salami, with cheese variation of pepperjack, swiss, or provolone, tomatoes, cottage cheese, diced peaches, pineapple or strawberry for topping . With several juice options including warm items such as coffee and tea. Buffet Style. Please let us know what items you would like to see added. We are on the border of the tenderloin area, but street people don't bother, and all tourist attractions are in the opposite direction. we look forward to a return visit.


Kind Regards

Blanca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel itself is clean and not expensive considering the proximity to Union Square and compared to the pricey hotels. BUT the hotel is unfortunately on the border of the Tenderloin District (rough neighborhood) where some beggars and scary looking people hang out.
Only stayed one night. I recommend this place only for budget adult travelers. I hesitate bringing children or senior citizens to this hotel. This hotel is clean and no frills and one block from the Powell Street Cable Car Station. But make sure never to go the opposite direction into the Tenderloin.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank aisle67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBijou111, General Manager at Hotel Bijou, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for writing a review, I am happy to hear the hotel was in good location to your needs, yes we are very central. And that the housekeeping staff maintained good clean standards and that it was reflected on your stay. Yes we do border the tenderloin area however, the street people more wonder than bother people, most guest are also in and out of the area as everyone is usually enjoying San Francisco. We look forward to a return visit.

Kind Regards

Blanca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

People who require wifi NO problems on the 4th floor working fine .close to every thing couldn't aske more
helpful staff,room small but clean and all one needs
Easy to get around bar next door . short walk to transport and restaurants.
great value

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank BAZILBEAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBijou111, General Manager at Hotel Bijou, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for the review, we made some wifi upgrades in March, and I have much happier guests. Glad to hear that you experience good wifi reception. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Blanca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#129 of 230 in San Francisco
1,304 reviews
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#131 of 230 in San Francisco
1,071 reviews
Cova Hotel
#99 of 230 in San Francisco
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#183 of 230 in San Francisco
786 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#74 of 230 in San Francisco
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bijou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bijou

Address: 111 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94102-2713
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £101 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bijou 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bijou is the most unique of all the Bay Area boutique hotels in downtown San Francisco. Inspired by San Francisco's rich cinematic history, our San Francisco Union Square hotel is adorned with classic movie palace designs and dramatic Hollywood portraits. Each of our 65 comfortable guest rooms in our Union Square hotel in San Francisco is named after a motion picture shot here in the city. Using the original movie stills as decorative accents, Hotel Bijou provides our guests with the most interesting downtown San Francisco hotel rooms while simultaneously keeping you centrally located to everything this exciting city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bijou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bijou Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Bijou San Francisco
Bijou San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing