We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #48 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 6 nights in January as part of a trip to SF, LA an Vegas. We went to visit the sights and do some shopping.

So - A really lovely hotel, with very helpful and friendly staff. Location is great for union square, and the city generally. The only place we got taxi's to was Fisherman's Wharf, but also got the streetcar from a few blocks south of Union square as well.

We also hired a car which the hotel valet parked for us, and was close to the main routes out of the city past the golden gate or south.

Rooms were very nice, beds very very comfortable and although we did not eat there, the restaurant Saha was busy all the time and had good recommendations. Shower could have used a little updating but it was clean and the water hot so didn't bother us much.

Over all a lovely stay, and and would stay there again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank L55tjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Many thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to lend us such a lovely review of your stay. We're exceedingly proud of our team and their outgoing efforts, and we're happy to hear that these lent comfort to your stay and ease to your regional explorations. We'd love the chance to welcome you back again, and we hope to hear more from you in the year ahead. Thanks again, and all our best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,926)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,101 - 1,107 of 2,926 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

Let's start with the only downside. We stayed for just one night post cruise. This was the night before Martin Luther King Jnr day. The streets in the areas around the hotel were dirtier than our previous experiences in this lovely city and there were more beggars on the street corners. This is obviously not the hotel's fault and I can say that we did not feel intimidated in any way when exploring the area on foot.
This is a hotel in a historically important building with a history of surviving serious earthquakes. I am not sure if this could be a good selling point or would it put too many people off? Anyway, you can read about this history when you do stay here.
The lovely and interesting lobby gives a good first impression as do the helpful staff. We arrived mid- morning but were able to check in straight away. The two gentlemen behind the desk were welcoming, friendly and funny. They told us about the holiday on the following day and gave us good advice about our transfer to the airport. We were invited to the lobby that evening for half an hours wine and live music. This was without charge and gave us a chance to meet some other guests. It was a really relaxing start to the evening after a tiring day.
The room, although on the small side by modern standards was clean, comfortable, welcoming and well equipped. We didn't eat there so I cannot comment on the restaurant food.
Our check-out time was extended by an hour to tie in with our airport transfer and the staff were keen to ensure that we did not have to wait too long for it to arrive.
I think it is the decor and the attitude of the staff that give the Carlton a special atmosphere. It certainly provides value for money and I would have no hesitation whatsoever about staying here again and recommend it without reservation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank struttybanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

We're so glad to have been able to welcome you to our historic Hotel Carlton, and we're thrilled that the outgoing efforts of our team had such a positive impact on your stay. As you noted, our property has an impressive past, and it's one that each of our team members is happy to share as you explore our site and the surrounding city. We hope that you'll reach out again as your travels return you to San Francisco, and we wish you all our best until then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Christian C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Being a member of the Joie De Vivre group, my husband and I stayed at the Carlton while attending a food show at the Moscone. The hotel staff were very accommodating and fun!
Our room (though small) was spotless and the bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom is small, but again spotless and updated.
The Hotel lobby is very "Zen" like and warm. The hotel is within walking distance to just about everything. As long as you don't mind walking!
For the price (in S.F.) it is a great find. I would absolutely stay again!

Room Tip: Ask for a high up room. You will get a nice city view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

We're so happy to have you as a loyal Joie De Vivre member, Lila, and we thank you for taking the time to lend us such a kind review of your Hotel Carlton experience. We're certainly proud of our property and its historic charm, and we're glad that the team and our regional accessibility lent ease to your stay in the region. We'd love to host you again, and we hope that you'll think of us the next time you're in San Francisco. All our best until then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The rooms are small but comfortable and charming. Valet car service was great never had to wait long even accommodated our early plan before schedule hours. Liked location not touristy. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great view and less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed the historic charm of our Hotel Carlton and that the outgoing services of our team exceeded the mark. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back and to share even more of our hospitality and city with you, and we encourage you to reach out with any of your future booking needs. All our best, and we hope to hear more from you in the year ahead!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Sweet SF hotel. Professional, efficient and personable. Front desk were very helpful. Lobby offers a pleasant area to wait for other guests and to visit. It is outfitted with sofas, chairs and a nice table with chairs. Daily wine from 5:30 to 6:00. Our room was on the 9th floor, midway between the front and back of the building. We could hear general city noises and sirens. Our room neighbors were very quiet. We didn't experience any unpleasantness due to thin walls. The bathroom was small but nicely done. The shower/bath was outfitted with a set of refillable shampoo, conditioner and body wash bottles-appreciated the reduced waste with elimination of little bottles. I would have liked softer, thicker towels. Location is in transition area. Neighborhoods to the south are definitely grittier. Saha, the hotel restaurant, is very good as is the Yemeni restaurant across the street and the bar next door. Nice ceramicist's collective store a couple doors down. We didn't have any issues with taxis or using Uber to go to and from the hotel. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 70catem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Many thanks for being a guest of our Hotel Carlton and for sharing the experience with such acclaim. We take immense pride in our historic site, and we're so happy to hear that you enjoyed it's infinite charms. Whether you're looking to stick local or to explore San Francisco, our property and team are quick to offer ease of access to any whimsy or destination, and we're so happy to hear that we were able to make your stay a memorable once. We'd love to host you again, and we encourage you to reach out to the team with any of your future destination needs. Many thanks again, and all our best on your travels ahead!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed here for a quick weekend get away. Good rates, nice Hotel and friendly staff. The Hotel is not near the wharf, which is reflected in the rates, but it is near enough to everything that a cab ride is only $9-10. The Hotel hosts a free wine tasting from 5:30-6:30. The room is clean and modern although the Hotel is older. For the money, this Hotel is a bargain in San Francisco. Everything was great in the room with the exception of the walls being like paper. You can hear everything going on in the adjacent rooms. The bed is comfy, the wi-fi is free, parking is $35, and I was able to walk to most places I wanted to go. The neighborhood is busy and not threatening. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: When in San Francisco consider paying the Hotel parking fee and taking a cab or pubic transportation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacksvlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thanks for being a guest of our historic Hotel Carlton and for taking the opportunity to reach out with the experience of your visit. We simply love sharing our site and services with first time guests, and we're happy to hear that the offerings of it and our region were such memorable elements of your trip. We encourage you to reach out to our team as you stage return travels to San Francisco; we'd love to see more of you soon. Many thanks for your time, stay and thoughtful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
3,742 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#52 of 230 in San Francisco
2,328 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-5817
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £95 - £317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Carlton offers an international ambiance paired with outstanding guest service. Built in 1927, this nine-story San Francisco hotel is 3 blocks from the California Street cable car line, 6 blocks from Union Square, 8 blocks from the main entrance to Chinatown and 9 blocks from Civic Center. Complimentary evening wine receptions are held in Hotel Carlton's lobby nightly and feature live music from local artists. In addition, Hotel Carlton provides complimentary wireless internet to all guests; upgraded bandwidth is also available (surcharge applies). Recently renovated, all 161 non-smoking guestrooms at Hotel Carlton feature remodeled bathrooms including decorative floor and wall tiling, new vanities and sinks. The public spaces showcase cross-cultural design that incorporates treasures from Africa, India, Nepal, Laos and Asia. Our restaurant Saha features award-winning Arabic Fusion cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Splitty, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Carlton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing