We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #45 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 25 July 2014

First off, I enjoyed my three-night stay: nice-sized room, big closet, comfy bed, windows that open, a ceiling fan. Very nice-quality toiletries (shampoo, conditioner, shower gel) in the shower, which I appreciated. The staff was welcoming, friendly, and helpful. A wide variety of people stay there, which I also enjoyed. Restaurant on-site, filtered water, wine reception nightly, valet parking. (Although the resourceful can find free parking on the street.) However...

I would give this place 5 stars, because the property + location + price is a tremendous deal. If you don't mind walking or public transit the Carlton is super-convenient to Union Square, Powell St, California-Van Ness cable car line, Hyde St cable car line, all without the crowds and noise of a hotel closerto Union Square, or the grime of a hotel in the Tenderloin.

But their wifi needs some lovin'. Most of the time I didn't bother because it was so slow. But the worst offense is you only get one device per room! So if you and your spouse each have a smartphone, or tablet, you have to pay an additional $10/day for connectivity--slow connectivity.

A minor quibble was reserving a room with two twin beds and checking in to find there were none, so we shared a king. Might not work for everybody, though.

Overall, I did enjoy my stay tremendously.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank wishfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam J, General Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you Wishfrog for your kind review of your stay at Hotel Carlton! We are so happy you loved the service, location and decor of the hotel as well as our restaurant and nightly wine reception. We will speak with our guest internet service provider about the setting on our wifi access so more devices are allowed per room as you are correct that only 1 device is not sufficient. We will work with our provider to process a refund for the extra internet service you incurred. We hope you come back to visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,875)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

915 - 921 of 2,875 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

I go to SF once a year for work and this hotel is conveniently located to where I am working. I stayed there last year, and while it wasn't the most impressive hotel ever, my experience last year was fine and this hotel was my first choice for my trip this year due to location. After my experience this year I will NEVER stay at this hotel again.

When I arrived it was late at night and front door was locked. Desk clerk takes his time to even get on intercom and ask me what I want (got the impression he thought I was a vagrant trying to break into the hotel). I explain I have a reservation. He asks for my name to confirm and then finally lets me in. Not very welcoming, but gives me room key.

Room itself is pretty bad. The radiator is noisy the entire time but the walls are also soooo paper thin I can hear every single sound on the floor the entire stay. I hear every conversation in every room (which means I also have no privacy). Guests in room next to mine were pounding on my wall at 10pm on Sat night because I guess my TV (which was low) was too loud for them and they wouldn't stop until we turned it off. I heard people having sex all night one of the nights.

The acoustics situation in the hotel is totally unacceptable and the WORST I have ever seen and I stay at a hotel at least 1-2 times/month for work trips. When I checked out the clerk did not ask how my stay was. Overall, terrible stay and terrible experience. Hugely overpriced. Won't stay here again. If you are visiting SF, stay at one of the hotels by the airport. Better rates, better rooms and better service.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mereditherin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam J, General Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Hotel Carlton. I appreciate your speaking with me on the phone earlier today and once again, I apologize for the noise and service levels you experienced. As I mentioned we are in the process of testing a few different sound proofing initiatives at the hotel that we hope to implement as soon as we determine which has the greatest impact. We will also be using your experience in our upcoming team service training so that future guests do not have similar experiences. We hope you choose to try us again when you are in town next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The hotel has a nice balance between vintage and new furniture and atmosphere. The restaurant is good for breakfast. The staff in both the restaurant and hotel took the term excellent customer service a whole new level. They really like their jobs and works for the hotel. Everyone I met was always very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you Donna for the great review! I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the decor, the restaurant and the service you experienced while you were our guest.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I stayed for 4 nights and have a mixed review of this place:

Pros
- Staff is friendly
- Rooms are clean
- filtered water available on 3 floors
- bed was comfy
- Price was reasonable for San Francisco hotels

Cons
- Walls are paper thin...i asked for a quiet room and got a corner room. I thought this would be great until I could hear both the TVs of my neighbours and and any phone conversations they were having.

- I didn't think the neighbourhood was great. There are certain ways to get to this place so be selective which streets you take. I found walking down Sutter was generally pretty safe. So if you need to get to Union Square use Sutter as your main path.

- I needed to be in Union Square area a lot so I don't think I would come back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KentWeare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you KentWeare for your review of our hotel. We know that hearing your feedback is one of the best ways that we can learn and continue to grow and improve. Thank you for the great comments about our service, cleanliness and price of our rooms!

Many thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed at the Hotel, as part of a Cosmos Tour. 5.30 drinks on the house! Rooms adequate, bearing in mind the location, 15 minutes walk to central San Francisco. For a sandwich Sutter Fine Foods is 3 minute walk. Inside is a deli which make the best sandwiches I've ever tasted. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alanbullafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you so much Alanbullafc for the great review! I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the 5:30 Happy 1/2 Hour we offer in our lobby. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the close proximity to the heart of downtown Hotel Carlton offers as well as some fantastic food and dining experiences nearby!

Thank you again! We hope to see you in the future back at Hotel Carlton!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The best staff ever! Thanks a lot for these wonderful moments. We could not have found a better hotel for our first time in San Francisco! Staff and management members are kind and very helpful, and the room was so cosy. A great moment!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Elodie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam J, General Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your first visit to San Francisco and your stay at Hotel Carlton. We are happy to be part of your experience and hope you come to see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Booked a room cause I had a event at The Regency Ballroom that Saturday. I rarely go to San Francisco so did not really know what to expect. Easily checked in to one bed room. The staff was very friendly and informative about where to go. The only confusion there was where to park. But the staff also let me know about the garage close by. I found a good park right in front of the hotel. Great food at the restaurant as well.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 912lesliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you Leslie for the great review! I'm so glad that you were pleased with your first time experience to San Francisco and your stay at Hotel Carlton with it's close proximity to the Regency Center! Thank you for the great feedback about our staff and the parking instructions! I'll be sure to touch base with everyone again and ensure we are more clear about options nearby.

We hope to see you again in the future!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
5,306 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Union Square
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
#65 of 230 in San Francisco
1,701 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#73 of 230 in San Francisco
4,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-5817
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £105 - £352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Carlton offers an international ambiance paired with outstanding guest service. Built in 1927, this nine-story San Francisco hotel is 3 blocks from the California Street cable car line, 6 blocks from Union Square, 8 blocks from the main entrance to Chinatown and 9 blocks from Civic Center. Complimentary evening wine receptions are held in Hotel Carlton's lobby nightly and feature live music from local artists. In addition, Hotel Carlton provides complimentary wireless internet to all guests; upgraded bandwidth is also available (surcharge applies). Recently renovated, all 161 non-smoking guestrooms at Hotel Carlton feature remodeled bathrooms including decorative floor and wall tiling, new vanities and sinks. The public spaces showcase cross-cultural design that incorporates treasures from Africa, India, Nepal, Laos and Asia. Our restaurant Saha features award-winning Arabic Fusion cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Carlton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing