We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #47 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed only one night but while the hotel has undergone a good makeover, it is largely superficial. It is still an unreinforced masonry building that likely would not survive a strong earthquake. It's two elevators reminded me of Faulty Towers but the staff was friendly, the end/corner room we had reasonably quiet (although had we been in any other room the hall noise would have been unbearable) and the water pressure was adequate. The real benefit however was that this newly refurbished, King bed room cost slightly less than US$200 and parking was only$35 per night. A good deal overall.

Room Tip: Get an end room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you Kevin for taking the time to submit your review. I am so happy to hear that the service the staff provided, the new beds as well as the bathrooms to be a great value!

As noted on our website, www.hotelcarltonsf.com, one of the great things about Hotel Carlton is that it is actually built on the tip of one of San Francisco's few chunks of bedrock. The hotel was designed as one of the nation’s very first buildings specifically constructed to withstand earthquakes. This proved to be beneficial in 1989 immediately after the big 7.1 earthquake. Hotel Carlton ended up with just one broken window along with some very superficial plaster cracks. As tourists began leaving other parts of the city, our hotel remained as one of the few in Northern California that continued to be fully occupied. The quake inspectors and engineers traveling to the city from around the world to assess the damage chose to stay at the Hotel Carlton. During their stay, they discovered the basement level was cleverly constructed of a reinforced steel “cage” on top of which the rest of the building’s concrete structure was erected. The engineers revealed this flexible steel base is what allowed the Hotel Carlton to withstand such a significant seismic event.

This history of Hotel Carlton is what makes it such a unique experience for our guests and I am so glad to hear that you enjoy your stay and the cultural feel of the building.

We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,932)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

957 - 963 of 2,932 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

We love the Hotel Carlton. Not only is it a great boutique hotel, the staff is out of this world. Very attentive, friendly, helpful and welcoming. Walking distance to Union Square. Windows that open! I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Wow!!! In the Hotel Industry to hear a guest describe your service as "Very attentive, friendly, helpful and welcoming..." means you nailed it out of the park!! I couldn't be more excited and PROUD of our staff for this achievement!

Thank you DEARLY Tom! It's truly appreciated! Come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Just had my first stay; what a great find. Great location, super helpful staff - and a great room; spacious, well-appointed, extremely comfortable bed.

A pleasant mile walk away from the Financial District.

I'll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank marcdanziger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you Marc for the great review! We appreciate the great comments about the staff! I am glad to hear that you found the hotel to be a pleasant walk from the Financial District with comfortable beds as well.

Thank you again! Come visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Upon arriving I was a little nervous about location, but the staff made up for that with their excellent service, very friendly, helpful The rooms were very nice, very clean
Highly recommend this hotel. They would remember each of our names as we came and went. They recommended places to eat, just LOVED our time there.

We were traveling with 4 young adults 19 through 21 and they really enjoyed the hotel. We walked a lot of places, but when we needed transportation the front desk would actually go out and hail us a cab.

The booking agent we used actually double charged us which we would not have known til we got our card bill, the hotel front desk called us and told us about it, they helped us get it resolved and credited back immediately

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roxie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review Roxie! I am so glad to hear that you and your party found the Hotel Carlton to be very centrally located and the staff to be above your expectations!

Come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The best. Staff is great. Not a cookie-cutter place. Better than the fancy places in SF, like the Drake, Marc Hopkins, Hilton, etc... If you don't stay there, you've made a mistake.

It is a city hotel, with that SF unique early twenties feel.
JRR

Room Tip: Corner, king bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redbone7877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam J, General Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you Redbone7877 for your review. We agree that Hotel Carlton is the absolute best in San Francisco! We are happy to have had you as our guest and hope to see you back at the hotel very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for three nights recently at the beginning of our US holiday. Good location about 15 mins walk to Union Square and close to a number of tram lines to get to the wharf area.

Our room was on the top floor, very spacious and comfortable. No air con which is not strictly necessary in San Francisco, even in July, however leaving the window open at night meant for noise from the street below. Light sleepers might want to bring ear plugs.

The staff here are fantastic, especially the staff at reception and the concierges.

All in all a comfortable, good value option in SFO.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Martha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam J, General Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Carlton. We are glad you enjoyed the service from our team and the central location of the hotel. We are so happy you had a great visit to San Francisco!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My 3-day stay at the Hotel Carlton at the beginning of a Northern California Holiday was almost perfect.

Pros: very friendly staff, big room with a lot of room to move, very comfortable bed with ceiling fan above, walk-in closet, practical washroom, quick and cheaper than elsewhere valet service (apprciated since there is no parking at the hotel), cool electrical contraption for all your portable devices.

Con (only one): paper-thin walls.

While you expect some noise in a hotel, the paper-thin walls at the Carlton cause you to hear everything in the neighbouring rooms. Nevertheless, considering this is the only negative point for the Carlton and that hotel management is looking to solve the situation (see management response the earlier reviews), this hotel is a good choice for a San Francisco trip. Street-level noise is below average, at least for rooms at the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patrick059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam J, General Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thanks Patrick for your great review of Hotel Carlton. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the comfortable guestrooms, friendly service and the powramid electrical outlets. We hope to have you again as our guest soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#52 of 230 in San Francisco
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#33 of 230 in San Francisco
3,747 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-5817
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £96 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Carlton offers an international ambiance paired with outstanding guest service. Built in 1927, this nine-story San Francisco hotel is 3 blocks from the California Street cable car line, 6 blocks from Union Square, 8 blocks from the main entrance to Chinatown and 9 blocks from Civic Center. Complimentary evening wine receptions are held in Hotel Carlton's lobby nightly and feature live music from local artists. In addition, Hotel Carlton provides complimentary wireless internet to all guests; upgraded bandwidth is also available (surcharge applies). Recently renovated, all 161 non-smoking guestrooms at Hotel Carlton feature remodeled bathrooms including decorative floor and wall tiling, new vanities and sinks. The public spaces showcase cross-cultural design that incorporates treasures from Africa, India, Nepal, Laos and Asia. Our restaurant Saha features award-winning Arabic Fusion cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Carlton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing