We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My "go to" hotel in SF”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Ranked #112 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My "go to" hotel in SF”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

A great value in a great neighborhood. I stay here whenever I am passing through SF. The front desk staff are very friendly and courteous, even it is busy, the rooms are clean and a good size, and the beds are comfortable. All in all a good place to stay, and its just around the corner from trendy Union Street and a stones throw from the wharf.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    493
    292
    89
    57
See reviews for
310
382
45
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014

stayed at this hotel for about 4 days, great location with many things to do in the surrounding area , the staff was great and the Duty Manager was exceptional with making sure our every need was met. if your looking for a great place to stay with friendly and great service this is the place.

Cheers to all the staff for going above and beyond!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 459amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed in as part of a road trip of California. After a long drive along higway 1 from LA we arrived quite late at night.

The location was easy to find and has parking, great feature.

The checkin was interesting to say the least and the staff didn't really seem to be able to handle 3 bookings at the same time.

The hotel was decently equipt the beds were amazing and the rooms clean. What more could you ask for?

The breakfast was adequate. It was a bit unhealty but not too bad.

The best thing about this hotel was definately its location. Just by the famous Lombard street and a short walk to the centre. Golden gate bridge is walkable but it is probably best to hire bikes. Cycling across the golden gate bridge was a highlight of the holiday. If you do this, once over the other side take a left and go up the hill slightly. Amazing views of San Fran and Alcatraz! Also Colt Tower is a must a short walf from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rgle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We really enjoyed our two night stay in San Francisco at this hotel.
The staff was very friendly.
Location is the key. We could walk up the hill and be at the the top of Lombard street (steep climb).
We walked to Fishermans Warf and to China town.
Quite a few restaurants close to the motel.
Lots of choices for breakfast.
The rooms were clean and nice and even though we were right next to the elevator we didn't hear it. We could see the Golden Gate Bridge from our room.
Parking is tight, but nice to just park and walk.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
144 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

A welcoming smile.

A great rate.

A good location with a cab stop outside the front door and a city bus stop across the street.

Staff helped us learn about city buses which were clean, convenient and everywhere.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MLStanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
133 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 416 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

excellent and clean facility, the price was great and includes breakfast, staff is super and pleasant. Right in the heart of where all the action is, like Fisherman's Wharf, cable car etc. We'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BB1Tampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento CA Area
Level Contributor
165 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The facility is undergoing construction however our rooms had views of the Golden Gate Bridge. While we were not in the room that much it was very comfortable. The staff is very approachable and seem to enjoy their work. They offered great suggestions for places to eat and things to see if you wanted them.

Room Tip: Go for the upper floors or any room with a view of the Golden Gate Bridge. Lower floors resound with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bw13802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#90 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#78 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Wharf Inn
The Wharf Inn
#117 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn by the Bay

Property: Comfort Inn by the Bay
Address: 2775 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-1497
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn by the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn® By the Bay is conveniently located off U.S. 101, near Fisherman's Wharf, the San Francisco Marina Yacht Harbor, Fort Mason Center, Union Street and Lombard Street, the World's Crookedest Street. This San Francisco, CA hotel is close to popular attractions, including AT&T Park, the Golden Gate Bridge, San Francisco Chinatown and the San Francisco Civic Center Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn by the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn By The Bay Hotel San Francisco
Comfort Inn San Francisco
Comfort Inn Bay San Francisco
San Francisco Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing