We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would definitely stay here again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Ranked #94 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We visited San Francisco in March to see the sites. I was a little apprehensive as Comfort Inns seem to vary in quality. I was very pleased with this hotel.

It appears to be recently remodeled. The rooms while not fancy or spacious, but were clean and more than adequate. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The hotel is in a wonderful location just a short walk-able distance from the touristy attractions by the piers.

They had they typical breakfast for these sorts of places, the waffle machines, pastries, cereals, juices, fruit, etc. They also had some sausage and eggs that folks seem to be enjoying. I passed as I do not eat meat and the eggs looked like they were from a box. The meal was adequate though. My only gripe was the plates and utensils at breakfast. Most of these places utilize paper and plastic. They had plates that looked like they had seen better days and the metal utensils were about the cheapest I have ever seen. I think I would have been happier with plastic.

If I were to go San Francisco again, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

447 - 453 of 1,206 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

A great value in a great neighborhood. I stay here whenever I am passing through SF. The front desk staff are very friendly and courteous, even it is busy, the rooms are clean and a good size, and the beds are comfortable. All in all a good place to stay, and its just around the corner from trendy Union Street and a stones throw from the wharf.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

stayed at this hotel for about 4 days, great location with many things to do in the surrounding area , the staff was great and the Duty Manager was exceptional with making sure our every need was met. if your looking for a great place to stay with friendly and great service this is the place.

Cheers to all the staff for going above and beyond!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 459amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed in as part of a road trip of California. After a long drive along higway 1 from LA we arrived quite late at night.

The location was easy to find and has parking, great feature.

The checkin was interesting to say the least and the staff didn't really seem to be able to handle 3 bookings at the same time.

The hotel was decently equipt the beds were amazing and the rooms clean. What more could you ask for?

The breakfast was adequate. It was a bit unhealty but not too bad.

The best thing about this hotel was definately its location. Just by the famous Lombard street and a short walk to the centre. Golden gate bridge is walkable but it is probably best to hire bikes. Cycling across the golden gate bridge was a highlight of the holiday. If you do this, once over the other side take a left and go up the hill slightly. Amazing views of San Fran and Alcatraz! Also Colt Tower is a must a short walf from the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rgle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We really enjoyed our two night stay in San Francisco at this hotel.
The staff was very friendly.
Location is the key. We could walk up the hill and be at the the top of Lombard street (steep climb).
We walked to Fishermans Warf and to China town.
Quite a few restaurants close to the motel.
Lots of choices for breakfast.
The rooms were clean and nice and even though we were right next to the elevator we didn't hear it. We could see the Golden Gate Bridge from our room.
Parking is tight, but nice to just park and walk.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

A welcoming smile.

A great rate.

A good location with a cab stop outside the front door and a city bus stop across the street.

Staff helped us learn about city buses which were clean, convenient and everywhere.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank MLStanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

excellent and clean facility, the price was great and includes breakfast, staff is super and pleasant. Right in the heart of where all the action is, like Fisherman's Wharf, cable car etc. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BB1Tampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#119 of 231 in San Francisco
1,080 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#86 of 231 in San Francisco
624 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#54 of 231 in San Francisco
2,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn by the Bay

Address: 2775 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-1497
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £112 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn by the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn® By the Bay is conveniently located off U.S. 101, near Fisherman's Wharf, the San Francisco Marina Yacht Harbor, Fort Mason Center, Union Street and Lombard Street, the World's Crookedest Street. This San Francisco, CA hotel is close to popular attractions, including AT&T Park, the Golden Gate Bridge, San Francisco Chinatown and the San Francisco Civic Center Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn by the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn By The Bay Hotel San Francisco
Comfort Inn San Francisco
Comfort Inn Bay San Francisco
San Francisco Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing