We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticked all boxes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Ranked #110 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Ticked all boxes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

After looking at endless hotels in different areas and price ranges we finally chose comfort inn by the bay and as the title says it ticked all boxes. Location good on bus route, check in quick , room large,clean and comfortable beds. Despite reading negative reviews about wifi and the lifts no problem with either during our 5night stay. Breakfast area plenty of tables, clean and well stocked. Overall a good clean comfortable safe hotel to explore what is a beautiful city.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank burf97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COMF_SFO, General Manager at Comfort Inn by the Bay, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
We truly appreciate your kind review. Please call us anytime you need another relaxing weekend away.
Wayland K. Campbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    488
    290
    89
    56
See reviews for
306
378
44
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tomah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We were looking to stay near Fisherman's Wharf. We were not renting a car so needed easy access to the local sights. It was good location for us to walk about. We paid extra for a room with a bay view but the dirty window made it hard to enjoy the view. We had issues with the shower...did not work well, very fussy to get water temp just right as well as the flow was not very strong. Our hairdryer blew out and it was immediately replaced but the outlet it was in had issues since we had to hit the reset button often to use the outlet. The breakfast staff (Cruz) was very helpful and friendly...kept everything well stocked and area clean. The food was simple but at least you could start the day off with a bite to eat.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mary p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COMF_SFO, General Manager at Comfort Inn by the Bay, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Clearly we were not performing to our usual standards that day, and for that I sincerely apologize. I have reviewed your feedback in detail with our staff. We welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to get better.
I will pass on your positive coment to Cruz and hopefully we another to serve you in the near future.
Wayland K. Campbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a very nice place to stay if you are visiting the Bay Area. Our son lives there and it is a great place to visit, especially since we are from the Northeast. The hotel is convient to everything. I wouls definitely recommend it.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COMF_SFO, General Manager at Comfort Inn by the Bay, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel. We hope you are able to visit your son again in the near future.
Wayland K. Campbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, CT
Level Contributor
114 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Of the zillions of hotels in San Francisco, we were glad we picked this one. Everything was spotlessly clean, the breakfast was good quality, all the staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is about as good as you can get -- walking distance or a short cab ride to some of the most famous points of interest. Anywhere in San Francisco you will be walking up and down steep hills, so bring comfortable shoes!

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side have views of the Golden Gate Bridge, even if you're on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsa_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COMF_SFO, General Manager at Comfort Inn by the Bay, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for the positive feedback and your business. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our great city.
Wayland K. Campbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We were fortunate to get a room with a great view on the 10th floor! Room was recently renovated and was very clean. Location is very convenient, 10 minutes walking to Fishermans Wharf, two blocks from the famous Lombard St winding slope.
There were a couple of big tours staying at the hotel at the time, so breakfast area was a bit crowded, had to wait a little bit.
Be aware that if you are traveling with a car, there is $26 per night charge for parking, which seemed competitive with other closed parking options.
I woud stay at this hotel again, and would recommend it!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Hakan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COMF_SFO, General Manager at Comfort Inn by the Bay, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your comments and your business. We try very hard to operate the breakfast as smoothly as possible but we do get crowd at times. We hope to seen you again in the near future.
Wayland K. Campbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Can't beat the location -- relatively short walking distance to the water, at the foot of lovely Lombard, all for good prices for this very expensive city. Free parking too -- but the garage is tight, so if you've got a big car, beware. Depending on where you park it, you might find yourself squeezed in a bit too tightly for comfort. Still, a good spot for a traveler who doesn't want to pay a fortune to be near some of the city's nicest spots, and who likes to walk.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teenasnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COMF_SFO, General Manager at Comfort Inn by the Bay, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
We are very happy to hear that you had such a wonderful stay. We also enjoy the short walk to water and Fisherman's Wharf. We hope to have you stay with again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

My family and I always stay at Choice Hotels as we find them to be a good value and, in our experience, are usually clean with comfortable beds and good hot and cold breakfast buffets to get your day started. The Comfort Inn by the Bay was no exception. The desk staff were ALL very helpful and friendly as were all staff members that we met. Our room was on the small to average size but was very clean and had a comfortable bed. The breakfast buffet had many, many options and the facilities and dining tables were constantly being cleaned. There happened to be a convention of hundreds of screaming, giggling girl scouts staying at the hotel but you would have never known it by the way they kept the dining area cleaned and well stocked.
As usual, we had another great experience at a Choice Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COMF_SFO, General Manager at Comfort Inn by the Bay, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for the great review. Please call us the next time you visit San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#90 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#79 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Wharf Inn
The Wharf Inn
#113 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn by the Bay

Property: Comfort Inn by the Bay
Address: 2775 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-1497
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn by the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn® By the Bay is conveniently located off U.S. 101, near Fisherman's Wharf, the San Francisco Marina Yacht Harbor, Fort Mason Center, Union Street and Lombard Street, the World's Crookedest Street. This San Francisco, CA hotel is close to popular attractions, including AT&T Park, the Golden Gate Bridge, San Francisco Chinatown and the San Francisco Civic Center Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn by the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn By The Bay Hotel San Francisco
Comfort Inn San Francisco
Comfort Inn Bay San Francisco
San Francisco Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing