We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Ranked #110 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2006

Our family of four loved the hotel. The location was great, central to the things we wanted to see, and located on 101 and several transit lines. We used the convenient, safe, and well-lit parking garage to park our car and leave it for two days while we walked and took transit.

We stayed at five hotels on this trip and this was the best of them. The room was attractive and well-maintained. Our view of the Golden Gate Bridge was gorgeous. The wireless high-speed internet service worked perfectly from the start. This is the first hotel I've stayed at in years that had a separate thermostat, so the room heater shut itself off when it reached your temperature; no heater running all night!

The continental breakfast was also the best of the trip. The hotel served a wide selection of fruit and baked goods. They even served shelled boiled eggs!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KJMClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    488
    290
    89
    56
See reviews for
306
378
44
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2006

My husband and I with our 15 year old son stayed here for one week from 10th till 17th feb. Couldn't fault the hotel at all. It was ideal for us. Excellent Maid service. We used the Breakfast facilities every morning. A full English breakfast would have been nice but hey, when in Rome do as the Roman's do!
Surrounding views of the Golden Gate Bridge was great and bus and Taxi services just outside the door.
Found the Staff polite and friendly. Would recommend this Hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ukiah, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2006

Rooms were average, small bathrooms. Lights were energy efficient, but not in a good way. When lights were turned on they were very dim, they would warm up after 5 minutes (making sizzling noises the entire time) and then be a normal brightness. Parking was very tight in the garage and they say parking is $25 but they also charge a $3.50 parking “tax” upon check out. Room was nice, beds were lumpy and pillows were rock hard. We paid for a bay view, and that was very nice; had a view of the Golden Gate Bridge!! Free breakfast doesn't start until 6:30 am so if you have an early flight, forget about breakfast. Overall, hotel average, nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jet City Woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2006

Good price, perfect location close to everything.

Breakfast is fast and tasty, get there early to get a seat. Rooms clean and secure, staff helpful

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nickypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2006

My husband and I live in Orange County Calif and have enjoyed vacationing in San Francisco, as we try and get away to this beautiful city as often as possible. We make it a habit of staying in different hotels in different areas of the city, to experience the diversified areas.

For the rating and price, this hotel is a real gem! Staying here on our last vacation was a real find, and I would not object to staying here again.

We were here December 18th - 22nd 2005, right before Christmas. And although most of the entire days were overcast and raining, we still enjoyed ourselves.

The staff, and management at this hotel was very kind and professional, and made our stay that much more pleasant. The continental free breakfast (although they stop serving at 9:30 in the morning) wasn't bad at all. I didn't see the waffles as the ads suggest, but it still was pretty ample quanties, and much better than the usual coffee and simple pastries that other hotels' offer. Because we like to sleep in late; I was usually down before 9:30 to bring a tray of goodies for my husband and I back up to the room, and the wait/kitchen staff was gracious about this.

We didn't pay for a room with a view of the Bay/Golden Gate Bridge, but it actually worked out fine. As with the rainy weather, low clouds, and fog rolling in and out our view would have probably been obscured. We stayed on the 6th floor and our view wasn't that bad. Our room was kept up very clean, and the maid service respectful of our late sleeping hours.

Comfort Inn by the Bay is a good hotel and adjacent to Fisherman's Wharf - nice! When we can, we will return to San Francisco, and I hope we have the opportunity to stay in this wonderful hotel again.

Thank you staff and management!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WeLoveSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KLORIK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Comfort Inn over Thanksgiving weekend. We arrived 3 hours before check-in, but were promptly given our keys. Check-in was quicker than most upscale resorts we have stayed at. Free continental breakfast buffet gets you rolling without having to be waited on. Good location if you are there to see The Warf and shops. Easy walk down hill to Warf and Buena Vista Cafe for breakfast and Irish Coffee. Buses run steadily from The Warf, North Beach and Chinatown for an easy return to the hotel. Not IN the action, but easy to get from one end of San Francisco to the other. We were on the 11th floor (top) but didn't want to spring for the Bay View room. Great city view, especially at sunset. (See Pic). We would recommend staying here if you plan on sightseeing most of the time. It's a good place to lay down your head.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KLORIK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2005

This hotel is definitely a budget hotel, but let me point out a few things. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. The bathroom area is a wee small, however there are many extras, such as a hair dryer, a coffee maker, iron and ironing board, all of which are nice touches for travelers!
We weren't in our beautiful bay view room often, however, when the breakfast area was too full, we brought our continental breakfast up to our room and enjoyed it while overlooking the gorgeous city!
The staff was helpful when asking directions to the bus stops, etc.
I was actually surprised this hotel was rated only 2 stars, I feel it should be a 3. We feel it was a great value for the money!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank dynamodonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#90 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#79 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Wharf Inn
The Wharf Inn
#113 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn by the Bay

Property: Comfort Inn by the Bay
Address: 2775 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-1497
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn by the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn® By the Bay is conveniently located off U.S. 101, near Fisherman's Wharf, the San Francisco Marina Yacht Harbor, Fort Mason Center, Union Street and Lombard Street, the World's Crookedest Street. This San Francisco, CA hotel is close to popular attractions, including AT&T Park, the Golden Gate Bridge, San Francisco Chinatown and the San Francisco Civic Center Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn by the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn By The Bay Hotel San Francisco
Comfort Inn San Francisco
Comfort Inn Bay San Francisco
San Francisco Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing