We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Boutique Hotel in an Amazing location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cornell Hotel de France
Ranked #29 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We booked this hotel as part II of our honeymoon trip (part I was Napa!). The location couldn't have been better! Right by the trolley cars (useful to hop on/off when needing to get to the station for the Bart or Muni and just fun in general!). Near all the best shopping, food, and attractions. Super safe area (walked around at all hours of the night). The hotel itself was beautifully decorated/hand painted... really romantic! For those who are light sleepers or get annoyed with "guest noise", this is not the spot for you (it's an older building, so the walls are thinner than what most are used to with chain hotels!). Hot breakfast every morning was wonderful. We were slightly miffed at the note that was left at the coffee/tea nook about how the tea cups cannot be taken to private guest rooms and that a tip should be left (for self serve coffee and tea), but we figured that was a customs gap. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and hope to be back in a few years!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel have big windows, less "guest noise".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adam a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,760)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,273 - 1,279 of 1,760 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2012

The good: Comfortable bed, great location to Nob Hill and Chinatown; easy transport to everything else. Breakfast was good, but doesn't start until 7am. Friendly staff and front door locked in the evening (maybe a minus to some, but left me feeling more secure). Airport Transport arranged easily and a multilingual staff.

The not- so- good (not bad enough to be called bad): Room was small, but as-advertised. The decor is a little less than 'family friendly' on some of the floors (lots of nudes, but I didn't care). It is an older hotel but I feel like it adds character. I did hear other guests sometimes (mostly water pipes from other rooms), but not really any traffic noise.

Room Tip: We had a cosy Queen with bath en suite. It was enough for the two of us with only carry-on baggage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becca_224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This hotel is a little gem. Situated right on the Trolley Car line near Union Square and the gates to ChinaTown. Great location for getting to everything in that San Francisco has to offer. The rooms are really small but we didn't care, we are only there to sleep. Breakfast is included, very basic but very good, try the French Toast...people rave about it. Bring bubble bath because the baths are old clawfoot soakers which is great at the end of a long day. The staff are very helpful. Will stay here again next time im in town.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deedlebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Charming, great location, great breakfast, great price - will stay there again. I started coughing in the lobby and the manager ran out with a bowl of hard candy - that would not have happened at a chain hotel.

Room Tip: Room 600 - corner room with bay window and cross ventilation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mk30030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This is a quaint little hotel without the luxurious amenities of some of the chains, but also without the high price. Considering the location on Nob Hill within walking distance of shopping, restaurants, public transportation, and hidden neighborhood gems, the Cornell is actually quite a bargain. The place is definitely old, but is well kept with clean bedrooms and bathrooms. This is the kind of hotel for people who consider themselves low-maintenance travelers. We met one couple on the elevator who had been staying here every year for 15 years. If I wanted to stay in downtown San Francisco again, I would definitely stay here again too.
We did not eat at the hotel restaurant so can't give an opinion on that. Loved the stuffed bear and the Jeanne d'Arc statue in the main hall.

Room Tip: Our room did not face the street, but had a window looking into an inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mantonat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

...if you are not interested in all teh same style hotels and you are looking for something particular tehn go tehre!! The location is excellent. The aerea very safe and the hotel simply to go and have a look!!! We liked it a lot expecially the breakfasts!! Very funny and kind waitress she made us laugh many times!! The welcoming was excellent!! Though if you come by car the parking is very very expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CamillaSad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We love this hotel. We have stayed here several times. It is very much like actually being in Paris.The service is good, rooms are clean and the best part is the Jeanne d'Arc restaurant that is in the basement of the hotel. It is very cozy and the food is wonderful. We find our mouths watering when we just think about the Gran Marnier Souffle!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,338 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
608 reviews
Union Square
Petite Auberge
Petite Auberge
#25 of 230 in San Francisco
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#8 of 230 in San Francisco
1,751 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#14 of 230 in San Francisco
2,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornell Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Hotel de France

Address: 715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £89 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cornell Hotel de France 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of San Francisco Discover the charm and elegance of France in the heart of downtown San Francisco at this family-owned and operated hotel, ideally placed within walking distance of vibrant Union Square. Cornell Hotel de France boasts an exceptional location close to many of the city's main points of interest. The theater district as well as the legendary Chinatown can be found only minutes from the hotel. The city's historic cable car system is also easily accessible and provides service to many areas of the city. Originally built in 1910, the Cornell combines old-world charm with today's modern amenities such as wireless internet access. Start the day with a free breakfast at the hotel's on-site renowned restaurant, Jeanne d'Arc. Admire prints of masterpieces from famous artists throughout the hotel. Union Square is a great choice for travelers interested in shopping, restaurants and city trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cornell Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing