We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in San Francisco”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cornell Hotel de France
Ranked #28 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Very nice place to stay in SF; we already had high hopes because of the emailcontact before our arrival (all very pleasant and helpful). Breakfast (which is also great!) is included. Very good location near Union Square and close to Cable Cars. Public parking garage just across the street as well as car rental pick up (Alamo). We had a very nice room and the service and welcome on our arrival were great. Had a great 4 course dinner the evening we arrived and very good.
Would definately stay in this beautiful French orientated hotel again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marieke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,715)
There are newer reviews for Cornell Hotel de France
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

993 - 999 of 1,715 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

The title is a fun parody of an old song.

This place was a fabulous place to stay in SF. It is conveniently located near the corner of Bush and Powell, close to the trolley, buses and other modes of transportation making it easy to see all the sites.

Each floor was named for various French artists, beautifully painted, and decorated with reproductions of these artists.

A quaint old fashioned elevator took you to your floor.

The rooms we stayed in, although not large, were also beautifully decorated, clean and well maintained by the hotel staff.

The hotel had a parlor in the front where you could relax, read or just unwind from a busy SF day.

There was also a small coffee/tea sitting room to enjoy a beverage and some cookies.

The room included a great American style breakfast, with eggs, juice, coffee, cereal etc.

The staff of the Cornell was outstanding, courteous, helpful, patient with all of my questions or requests.

We can tell you, our next trip to SF, we'll be staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear JS,

It is very satisfying for us to know that you have been very
happy during your stay in our establishment. Thank you so
much for your good comments.

Warm regards

Claude Lambert - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Very nice and quaint. Rooms are small, but we didn't go to SF to spend time in a hotel room. Three blocks from Union Square, very convenient for transportation. Cable Car pick up about a hundred feet from the front door. Breakfast is part of the room cost and was very good.

Room Tip: Arrange your shuttle from and to the airport thru the hotel, less expensive.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 111GregLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Dear 11Greg Linda,

Thank you for your good comment. You noticed that the
location of our small hotel is ideal... glad you liked our breakfast
which, by the wasy, is not part of the reasonable rates but
graciously offered by Restaurant Jeanne d' Arc.

Best regards

Claude Lambert - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I stayed 4 nights in Cornell which was a pleasant experience as prev reviews had said. Room was quite small as I expected but nice and clean. It was nice and quiet mostly but I seemed to have elephants staying above some nights moving furniture around at odd times-must have had a larger room to do that.No view as I was stuck in corner block it seemed.
The restaurant was quite unique like a church with stained glass windows and religious figures dotted about-very unusual. The waitress greets you saying Eggs or French toast!! Could do with a menu as you find out if manageress serves you have more extensive menu and you find cereal is available!! I wondered why people lower down getting something else out of view!!
I tipped off some guests following day of this. There must be a bacon shortage as we I got 1 rasher of streaky bacon each day.Despite this the food was nice and welcome.
Could have done with a door on bathroom as you heard anyone use it next dr at anytime-old plumbing I expect.

Room Tip: See what other cozy rooms available and if any view.203 offered no view at all.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SIMON R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Dear Simon R,

Interesting to read you long comment for which I thank you.
Sorry that you did not get a bigger room,.. and had elephants
walking (at times) in the room above yours.
I agree with you that our nice, little waitresses are not
very articulate... but we just printed beautiful menus and you
will be nicely surprised ,,,,when you visit us next time !.
Yes, we should serve another slice of bacon ...bur as explained
in our brochure, the breakfast served by Restaurant Jeanne
d' Arc is offered graciously, for free, it is not included in our
very reasonable room rates.
We have new copper pipes as far as our plumbing is concerned
they have been changed a long time ago.The rooms are not completely
sound proof.. but do not forget that our small establishment is
more than a century old...
Thank for giving us four stars in spite of the " deficiencies" that
you noticed.

Best regards

Claude Lambert - Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I really enjoyed our stay at the Cornell Hotel de France. The Hotel was clean and comfortable, with a nice French charm to it. The old elevator was especially fun. The hotel staff were very understanding when our flight was cancelled, making us miss our first night of our reservation. They did not charge us for the missed night, which I thought was very generous of them. I would definitely recommend staying here: short walk from Powell BART station, close to the French quarter, Top of the Mark, cable car lines, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Anna L,

Thank you for a good comment and a nice description of
our hotel. The satisfaction of our customers in our main
concern. We love to please them and make their stay as
comfortable as possible

Best regards

Claude Lambert - Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Our first stay at the Cornell Hotel de France and we felt that it was lacking in service and disposition of the staff. We had no problems but would walk out past the office with someone there and they wouldn´t even look up to say bye or hi or ask if all was ok.
The location is good, quite close to Union Square but up the hill. The room and bathroom were fine, cleanliness also fine. Breakfast was not buffet, and had few cereals to choose from, no pastries or croissants (!!!), and if you did not want a hot breakfast it was therefore very limited. The cooked breakfast was very good and ordered from the kitchen, but there was no expresso coffee - only american filter coffee!!! - in a French restaurant??? For a hotel of that standard we consider this to be unacceptable nowadays.
We expected more and were disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jlp-arg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear Tandil,

Thank you for commenting on our small, unpretentious hotel.
Reception people should be all smile and eager to please,
I understand that it was not the case when you stayed with us.
Our employees are gracious. Unfortunately you met two
individuals who are not with us on a permanent basis.
I, sincerly, apologize for this bad feeling that you felt.

But, we were surprised by your comment on our
breakfast, which, offered and served by restaurant Jeanne
d' Arc is free of charge and not included in the reasonable price
of our rooms ( as explained in the document provided
when checking in). Every morning four employees come at 6:30 to
prepare and serve our customers a full, hot, authentic breakfast
unlike most competitors which only give a continental breakfast.
We want you to know, too, that we served starbuck coffee which
is offered in many countries and does not deserve to be described
as a mere " filtered american coffee".

We hope that you had a nice trip back to Argentina and send you
our best regards.

Claude Lambert - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

So happy to have found the Cornell Hotel de France! This is definately our San Francisco hotel from here on out. This place has it all!! Perfect location. Couldn't ask for better service. Spotless room and you could just tell that a lot of love went into the appointments. The price is right, but you don't feel skimped upon in any way. Loved the French background music playing in the lobby and so many other small details that add up to a most pleasant stay. Oh, almost forgot, our room was quiet, and that's saying alot in the city! And, by the way, the guys in the garage across the street where they have you park are a blast, too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mousel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear Mousel54,

Thank you for your goods comments.
We shall be happy to welcome you again.
Yes, we love taking care of our customers

Best regards.

Claude Lambert - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
5,279 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#9 of 230 in San Francisco
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#13 of 230 in San Francisco
2,828 reviews
Union Square
Petite Auberge
Petite Auberge
#23 of 230 in San Francisco
1,526 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#62 of 230 in San Francisco
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornell Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Hotel de France

Address: 715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £107 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cornell Hotel de France 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of San Francisco Discover the charm and elegance of France in the heart of downtown San Francisco at this family-owned and operated hotel, ideally placed within walking distance of vibrant Union Square. Cornell Hotel de France boasts an exceptional location close to many of the city's main points of interest. The theater district as well as the legendary Chinatown can be found only minutes from the hotel. The city's historic cable car system is also easily accessible and provides service to many areas of the city. Originally built in 1910, the Cornell combines old-world charm with today's modern amenities such as wireless internet access. Start the day with a free breakfast at the hotel's on-site renowned restaurant, Jeanne d'Arc. Admire prints of masterpieces from famous artists throughout the hotel. Union Square is a great choice for travelers interested in shopping, restaurants and city trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cornell Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing