We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cornell Hotel de France
Ranked #25 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
So.Cal
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Little Hotel”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I had a wonderful stay at the Cornell. The staff was outstanding. The room was quiet and most comfortable. Loved the French ambience. The dinner in their lower level restaurant was so good. Wish I had some of the gran marnier souffle now!. They have a cooked to order breakfast. During my 4 night stay, I had something different each morning. Should have stayed another night just to have the French toast again!

I had a large room with a claw foot bathtub. I probably would request a room with a stall shwoer next time, even if the room were smaller. The room had a nice layout with the dresser in an alcove off the bathroom. It was nice to have the little coffee machine in the morning. I had one service issue which was dealt with immediately and graciously.

There is a nice Mexican restaurant around the corner. Several blocks away is Chinatown. There is a steep walk up from Sutter to Bush. A couple times I took the cable car from Geary up to Bush. Neither time did they take my money when I went to pay. Nice.

Looking forward to another stay, hopefully sooner rather than later.

Room Tip: I had a room at the back which was quiet. Several times I was able to hear the cable car, which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoCalJunebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    818
    656
    124
    42
    30
See reviews for
228
903
107
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This small hotel is a slice of Paris just off Union Square. The French owners (from Orleans) have filled the place with French decor and ambiance. Our medium room (number 202) was quite large for the $176 plus tax charged, with a huge bathtub great shower and decent coffee machine (although we had no view). Our only complaint was the lack of any specialty channels on TV. The basement restaurant serves a decent American breakfast, and the dinner restaurant (Tuesday through Saturday, fixed price four course meal at $42) is very highly rated, although we didn't eat there. The staff was uniformly cheery and friendly--most have been at the hotel more than 15 years. All in all a much better choice than the big hotels down the street.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for. If a view is not important, a medium sized Queen room is very acceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bregli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Greatly enjoyed the Cornell! Charming, affordable, old-European style, just a few blocks from Union Square. Comfortable and cozy with French music in the lobby. A great plus is the complimentary breakfast in the downstairs restaurant. Please leave a tip for the delightful dining room help. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. We'll stay here again when we return to San Francisco.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turk111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twinsburg, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This is a gem of a hotel. Not knowing what to expect, my wife and I were pleasantly surprised as we checked in. Her first comment "It so cute!" (In a good way). The attention to detail was fascinating: hand-painted details on the elevator door and walls, each floor themed after a French artist; the claw-foot tub with shower in our room and the gargoyle on the ceiling!
The desk clerks were friendly, informative, and helpful. With them and the breakfast each morning (Don't be late! There may be a short line for seating. Get the "coffee-coffee"!) We were ready for days full of exploring and entertainment.
The location is great, two blocks from Union Square, with the Cable car at the corner, and around the corner from a 24-hour diner. Plenty of resturants, music and sites within blocks. Parking was across the street, at a reasonable price, if you need it.
Rooms were clean, everything worked, and the bed was comfortable. The property is old, but well maintained. That is the charm
Wife quote: "Absolutely loved the details and accessories. It clearly took years to collect all this stuff. It was great!"
Don't miss the Restaurant Jean de Arc in the basement - same place as breakfast, but dinner is a four course french cuisine meal that is exemplary, as well as a great value. I don't think I ever had mussels as they were meant to taste before this meal. We were even able to speak with the chef at our table.
Downsides: small rooms. Even our mid-size was only big enough for the bed, table and luggage in the corner. But really, it suited our purpose well.

Room Tip: Get at least the mid-size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SantoC330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Cornell for 3 nights is was brilliant, staff where really good and really helpful the pubs restaurants, night live, in that area are great trams line and buses 20 yards. Easy to get to pier 39. Would stay there again. A must when in San Fran you got to go to crab shack. Fantastic food.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Talk2me1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Found this place by accident - it wasnt coming up on any of the usual hotel sites but by enlarging the map we came across it and looked for a website.

Quirky and nicely styled place in a good location a few blocks north of Union Square and a few steps from the cable car line.

Comfy beds, a good breakfast and friendly staff made for a great stay - would definitely look to stay here again when I revisit San Francisco. Parking arranged at $24 a night which is markedly cheaper than most hotels in this class / area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PazzaLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We reserved a room for 4 nights, but checked out after the first night. Our previous experience of US hotel rooms is that they are large, so we booked a cosy room thinking it would be a standard european size. It was in fact tiny and the decor and furniture very dated.

Our main complaints were with the upkeep of the room (the door handle to the wardrobe was falling off and one of the plug sockets was broken, which is just plain dangerous), the lack of ventilation, but particularly the plumbing. We were rudely awoken by upstairs taking an early morning shower, as the pipes made an absolute racket!

Despite it's central location we were also unsure about the area. We encountered a group of prostitutes a block away and a number of homeless men. There is also a seedy looking strip club next door.

Management did offer us an upgrade, but we decided against this and they kindly waved the cancellation fee. We would not stay here again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 228 in San Francisco
5,192 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
2,757 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 228 in San Francisco
1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#54 of 228 in San Francisco
1,629 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#9 of 228 in San Francisco
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornell Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Hotel de France

Property: Cornell Hotel de France
Address: 715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cornell Hotel de France 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of San Francisco Discover the charm and elegance of France in the heart of downtown San Francisco at this family-owned and operated hotel, ideally placed within walking distance of vibrant Union Square. Cornell Hotel de France boasts an exceptional location close to many of the city's main points of interest. The theater district as well as the legendary Chinatown can be found only minutes from the hotel. The city's historic cable car system is also easily accessible and provides service to many areas of the city. Originally built in 1910, the Cornell combines old-world charm with today's modern amenities such as wireless internet access. Start the day with a free breakfast at the hotel's on-site renowned restaurant, Jeanne d'Arc. Admire prints of masterpieces from famous artists throughout the hotel. Union Square is a great choice for travelers interested in shopping, restaurants and city trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cornell Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing