We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit TOO quaint?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cornell Hotel de France
Ranked #23 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A bit TOO quaint?”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Excellent location, staff very helpful... perhaps a touch TOO "quaint" for MY taste.
We were VERY disappointed that our "deal" as originally booked was not available due to there being no Chef ---- one MAJOR factor in selecting the Hotel was the menu.
The staff at breakfast could not have been more helpful.

Jim Hallam (U.K.)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimhallam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Jim Hallam,

Thank you for giving us four stars in spite of your disappointment.
We did not want to close our restaurant. We knew that our chef had
to be away but when the cook who was supposed to replace him,
had to be rushed to the hospital at the last moment, we had no option
but to close our dining- room. Very sorry about that.
We have a talented artist working for us three days per week, and some
pieces in the restaurant are genuine ...and the theme is Jeanne d' Arc.
It may explain why we are " different".

Thank you again for your nice review.

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    831
    666
    126
    42
    30
See reviews for
231
918
107
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This Gem of a Hotel is a slice of Paris in San Francisco. My wife and I have stayed here several times and every time has been wonderful! The room was quiet and was facing the street! Comfortable beds, quaint and lovely painted ceiling and touches of French ambiance everywhere, each floor in the Hotel is dedicated to a different French artist so is a mini art gallery. And our stay included the unbelievable dinner prix fixe at the Jeanne'D;Arc restaurant in the Hotel which is a French 4 course amazing meal in a 1 of a kind atmosphere. There's more breakfast included in the same beautiful restaurant was fabulous. I was on business and what more can I say this stay was the highlight of our trip and of course we will be back! Viva La France!

Room Tip: I think that all the rooms are nice, the rooms facing the street have double windows so noise is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Jacob F,

What a way for us to start the day...that is by reading your
comments about what we offer to the public. We were also
pleased to see that you appreciated the beautiful work that
our talented artist - he works three full days per week - did
all over our Cornell Hotel de France.
If you revisit us , knock at my door ,I want to thank you in person.

Warm regards

Claude Lambert - Owner
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I stayed here 15 years ago and after coming back through the years and staying at the Hyatt, Hilton and other chains, I decided to come back for a visit. Nothing has really changed! I had the small cozy room and it was perfect for one person. The price cannot be beat for the area. It's very quirky (the Joan of Arc decor adds to the charm) and it's an older hotel but it was PERFECT. Wonderful staff and the complimentary breakfast in the Jeanne d'Arc restaurant downstairs was great (I thought it was going to be just muffins and coffee but they actually wait on you and take your order and its FREE). I hope to return in the near future and make this my home away from home in SF.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Booklover124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Boooklover 124,

We are very glad that you decided to revisit us.
Thank you for your sweet comments.
It is with great pleasure that we shall eventually
welcome you in you " San Franciscan home".

Merci beaucoup,

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This is a cozy, warm, comfortable boutique hotel with a great ambience, that makes you feel as if you are in Paris. The rooms are large and the bed really comfortable. The decor is traditional French, as are the owners, who, personally take care you have everything you need. The rest of the staff is very polite and helpful. Breakfast, included in the price, is excellent and served in a beautiful basement restaurant. The restaurant per se is also superb, if you do not want to dine out. Free wifi in the rooms, coffee and tea in a tea room always available. I have been here twice and will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear DianaEK,

We are not pretentious but your beautiful review of our small
hotel shows that we do somethig right. It is very rewarding
for all our team. We are ready to welcome you for the third time.

Merci,...best regards..

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

A really charming, European-style small hotel near Union Square at the corner of Bush & Powell.

When I checked in, the lovely staff were all speaking French to each other. I dredged up my high-school French and joined in, to their delight (or kind forbearance)! The elevator is old-fashioned, with a grill that opens and closes, and each floor features prints by a particular artist, though Joan of Arc is the predominant visual motif.

Beds were very comfortable; I slept very well. Room was sufficiently spacious, there were plenty of fresh towels, & an enormous & satisfying breakfast (included in the room rate) is served in the dining room, which is furnished with antiques and contemporary works of art, all relating to Joan of Arc. The waitresses in the dining room were as friendly as can be. Wifi included and worked great.

Though clean, there are a few spots here and there needing paint or a touch-up of some kind. Breakfast huge and fresh, though a "slow food" gastronomic experience it's not. If you are a foodie, you might want to go easy on the hotel breakfast & walk to the nearest Blue Bottle in Mint Plaza (about a 10-minute walk) for morning espresso and pastry. The room was a bit too warm; we were told to open a window to adjust the temperature . . . still too warm. The soap and shampoo provided were not very interesting--I love soap and scent and would bring my own next time. But these are quibbles.

I've stayed in several hotels in San Francisco, and I would happily stay at this friendly, warm, and charming hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuffy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Stuffy33,

Thank you for your positive review of our small Cornell Hotel.
We are glad that you were satisfied with our estabishment in
spite of "the few spots" that need attention: we shall do our best
to correct them.. Like many small hotels in San Francisco we
have steam heat, healthy but hard to control, we apologized if
you have been inconvenienced.
Our breakfast is not included in the price of the rooms, it is offered
graciously by Restaurant Jeanne d' Arc, this explains why the menu
is somewhat limited but... as you mentionned it, there are many
breakfast places in the neighbourhood.

Thank again,

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I typically only stay at large chain 3-4 star properties but when they were asking $300 and up per night I found this property and took a chance. What a sweet little place, like going back in time to a simpler period. We did stay in one of the larger suites on the 6th floor and I would recommend the room we were in (604). No idea how the lower level rooms are but the place is clean and well maintained. Breakfast in the morning was great and they had a good overnight parking rate across the street. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Mike P,

We loved your nice comments . You described very well who we are, what
we are offering to our customers " going back on time in a simpler period :"
We try to bring authenticity, warmth, beauty to our establishment with the
help of faithful employees who have been with us for twenty or more years.

Un grand merci Mike P

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgeway, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

My husband and I booked this hotel based on the positive reviews. We like to stay in unique hotels and avoid the chains. We were very disappointed in this hotel.

An article from a local paper was in the lobby of the hotel indicating that portions of the building had been reinvigorated from a low rental facility. I think the reinvigoration has a ways to go. The staff was cool and unfriendly, the room was dingy and musty and the furniture in the room reminded me of thrift shop finds.

We had booked for 2 nights but left after only staying one night because we did not enjoy this experience at all. The restaurant in the basement served mediocre food and echoed the décor of the room - dark, dingy and musty.

I'd avoid this one!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HarperLeeFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear sherrybel,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our small establishement.
We are deeply sorry that your expectations were not fulfilled.
We have the feeling that something " else" displeased you ..and we would
have liked to talk directly to you before your departure. May be we could have
remedied to your obvious discontentment..
Most of the small hotels of the neighbourhood were residential not so long
ago and since, our neighbourhood has changed dramaticaly for the best.

Have you eaten in the beautiful dining room of Restaurant Jeanne d' Arc
.
Writers, artists, a member of the French Academy, a minister of Jacques Chirac,
an ambassador, members of the nearby consulate have been our Guests in our
restaurant ( and hotel ! ).
May be you should dare to come back and give us another try.


Best regards

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 229 in San Francisco
5,228 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,773 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#58 of 229 in San Francisco
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#9 of 229 in San Francisco
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornell Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Hotel de France

Property: Cornell Hotel de France
Address: 715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cornell Hotel de France 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of San Francisco Discover the charm and elegance of France in the heart of downtown San Francisco at this family-owned and operated hotel, ideally placed within walking distance of vibrant Union Square. Cornell Hotel de France boasts an exceptional location close to many of the city's main points of interest. The theater district as well as the legendary Chinatown can be found only minutes from the hotel. The city's historic cable car system is also easily accessible and provides service to many areas of the city. Originally built in 1910, the Cornell combines old-world charm with today's modern amenities such as wireless internet access. Start the day with a free breakfast at the hotel's on-site renowned restaurant, Jeanne d'Arc. Admire prints of masterpieces from famous artists throughout the hotel. Union Square is a great choice for travelers interested in shopping, restaurants and city trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cornell Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing