We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Jewel in the City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cornell Hotel de France
Ranked #24 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
EAGLE
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Jewel in the City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

I am grateful to other Trip Advisor reviewers for showing me the way to the Cornell hotel de France.

The welcome is warm and gracious; the hotel is truly Paris 1935; the room is big enough, clean, nicely appointed, comfortable bed, good quality toiletries, and - although our room faced directly onto Bush St. - quiet, thanks to dual pane windows. And, icing on the cake, a great breakfast served by hard working ladies whose fun characters made it a special occasion ! Lastly, a great location to explore the city (it's literally minutes to Union Square, Nob Hill, the Financial District and Chinatown) and room rates which are, by the standards of this outrageously over-priced town, reasonable.

No, I don't have any connection to the owners of Cornell or a financial interest in the property. I'm just happy to have at last found a pied à terre in the city. We'll be back !

Room Tip: Room 300 at the front in a good size and quiet even though it face onto Bush St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ANDREW C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Andrew C,

Sorry we did not answer you sooner for your beautiful review
about our small Cornell Hotel de France. We are so pleased
you found a " pied a terre" in our establishment.
Grand merci et a bientot peut- etre.

Warm regards

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    785
    635
    120
    41
    27
See reviews for
215
871
101
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I only stayed one night in San Francisco, but the Cornell Hotel was wonderful. My single room was cozy, but would have been a comfortable stay for 2 as well. The staff was charming and helpful with sending postcards, calling an airport cab, and storing luggage. Breakfast was delicious. I would definitely stay here again! :) Oh, the location is awesome too! Union Square is just around the corner, but the hotel's street is quiet and no trouble getting a good night's rest.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Christy V,

Thank you for sharing your good comments with the
Trip Avisor travellers. It is a privilege for us and we are
very grateful. It is nice to know that we treat well our
customers. Too bad you could not stay longer...
Next time...may be.

Warm regards

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

My son and I were doing a Yosemite/SF trip. We dropped off our car and used the City Pass for our time in SF. Parking is super expensive in SF, public transportation is the way to go. This hotel does not show up on your typical travel sites, like Orbitz. The hotel is pretty cool, very unique. It has a French, Joan of Arch theme. Restaurant in the basement is nice, good choice of breakfast and dinners. If you are planning to spend most of your visit in your hotel room, this might not be the best choice of hotels - the rooms are pretty small and only a few have decent views. Our window looked at the wall of the building next to ours, but that was not why we stayed here. The price was pretty good for SF, and we were 2 blocks from the gate of China Town. 1/2 a block from one of the cable car lines - great location. Old school elevator was cool to see. Loved this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I've stayed at many different hotels in San Fran. Never have I found one with such a great combination of character, comfort, location and reasonable rates.

Character: felt like I was in a little boutique hotel in Paris -- windows that actually open, real keys, claw tubs, hand-painted motifs on the ceilings and walls, and a cloister-like dining room in the basement

Comfort: great bed, quiet location (for downtown), and delicious morning pancakes, eggs and bacon

Location: Two blocks from Union Square and steps away from the Powell cable car line. An easy walk from the Powell St BART and Muni station.

Rates: unbeatable, especially compared to neighboring hotels. Includes a full breakfast and wireless access.

If you're looking for the typical hotel, go elsewhere. If you want a unique and special experience, the Cornell is the place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Pete I,

What a pleasure to read your good comments regarding
our small establishment . Good description of what we offer,
who we are, of our " character". You said it all and we could
use your words to explain to would- be customers what to
expect in our place.

Merci encore... and our best regards.

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lannion, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Nice Hotel, clean facilities, nice breakfast, well located, people at reception is cool and willing to help you. The temperature of room was a little bit high, but openning the window problem was solved!!!. I definitively recommend to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fausto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We drove from Los Angeles and arrived there at 10:30 PM on Friday then we got a warm welcome from Jose. It felt like we have come to our families home. He waited an hour for us to arrive. We felt comforted and nurtured during our stay by his welcoming smile. We were real hungry so he told us exactly where to go for great food choices and how to avoid the high expenses of parking in San Francisco.
He let us know that we have a personal key for the front door because it gets locked after 9:30PM. I felt so safe and secure. He was so kind that I felt like I was talking to my older brother when he guided us to our destination the next day. The charm, the many collected pieces that came from France, the art work was unique, authentic and was painted all over the ceiling and walls. I felt I was in France rather than San Francisco. I loved the elevator! it worked perfectly and it felt like it's from old times with a French style decor. The stairways looked like a maze when you looked down from above.
Jose went the extra mile to show us the restaurant since we didn't get to eat there due to our early event in the mornings. To me the restaurant was a breathtaking masterpiece. Jose gave us as much time as needed to take pictures and answered all our questions about all of the art in this restaurant. I would also like to mention his excellent services during our checkout. We lost our parking ticket so he actually walked with my husband to the parking garage to make sure everything was taken care of. At the end he even helped to put our luggage in the car. He was a true gentlemen with a great heart.

We will definitely return to this hotel, especially because of Jose's great service!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaEurope3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear BellaEurope3,

So glad you liked our small hotel and appreciated the art
and decorations displayed around. Jose is a devoted
employee who loves to welcome and help the customers.
It is a pleasure to see that you were well served.
We thank you, again,for your wonderful comments

Gratefully,

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I had my doubts about a hotel in such a great location at such a reasonable price, but was very pleasantly surprised. The room was clean, quiet and large enough for my needs as a business traveler. Claw foot tub in the bathroom was cute and turned out to be a good shower too. The bed was comfortable. Wireless was free and fast enough for my needs - though I sat on my bed to work since there was nowhere else to sit. Staff at the front desk were friendly and very helpful with recommending restaurants, planning a bike trip, making arrangements for airport taxi during rush hour, holding my bag all day after I checked out. Location is terrific right next to Union Square and Chinatown and trolley stops right by on Powell. I walked everywhere and felt comfortable doing so (with some caution of course). Free breakfast was pretty good, certainly much more substantial and with more choices than I expected. Only (very minor) complaints are that the hair dryer in the room was terrible and there was no conditioner. Trivial complaints considering the great value. I would absolutely stay there again!

Room Tip: Medium room was a nice size. I saw a small room that looked a bit cramped. My room overlooked an all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,062 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Marines Memorial Club Hotel
Marines Memorial Club Hotel
#10 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#8 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornell Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Hotel de France

Property: Cornell Hotel de France
Address: 715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cornell Hotel de France 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of San Francisco Discover the charm and elegance of France in the heart of downtown San Francisco at this family-owned and operated hotel, ideally placed within walking distance of vibrant Union Square. Cornell Hotel de France boasts an exceptional location close to many of the city's main points of interest. The theater district as well as the legendary Chinatown can be found only minutes from the hotel. The city's historic cable car system is also easily accessible and provides service to many areas of the city. Originally built in 1910, the Cornell combines old-world charm with today's modern amenities such as wireless internet access. Start the day with a free breakfast at the hotel's on-site renowned restaurant, Jeanne d'Arc. Admire prints of masterpieces from famous artists throughout the hotel. Union Square is a great choice for travelers interested in shopping, restaurants and city trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cornell Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing