We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Authentic French Hotel (see below for hints)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cornell Hotel de France
Ranked #28 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I had always wanted to try Cornell, was in S.F. from Sac for a 3-day conference and decided to try it on the company dime.

Room Reservation Hints: The biggest advice I received was to book the premier queen room in advance. I was able to do this only two weeks in advance and am glad I did. The upgrade cost from a non-premier room was basically negligible. I can see the point of the reviews here for folks that booked smaller rooms that would have tiny bathrooms, etc. The premier room bathrooms are large enough for 2 people to get ready at the same time and have claw foot tub/showers.

Atmosphere: The atmosphere at this hotel was above what I was expecting. I felt like I was back in France the whole time I was there. The owners were extremely pleasant without being snotty, very accommodating and helped with advice on restaurants and transportation. The whole building is done in beautiful soft colors and art. The elevator is an *old-school* elevator with the sliding iron gate and smell of grease/oil (the good smell). I was so comfortable here, I left my conference two hours early one day for the sole reason to come take a nap here in the atmosphere.

Amenities: There is a snack/break room, an amazing free breakfast in the mornings down in the gorgeous Jeanne D'arc restaurant. I was bummed they were closed/on vacation for dinners. To have this restaurant located in the hotel...wonderful. They have everything you need in the room (coffee, hair dryer, safe, iron/ironing board, hangers, sitting area, dressers).

Room: My room was done in soft blue with impressionist art on the walls. Brand new flat screen cable tv, sitting table/chairs, gorgeous stereotypical bathroom with claw-foot tub/shower. Plenty of quick hot water (this is a major problem for most S.F. hotels). I was located in the front of the building fronting the very busy Bush street and it was extremely quiet. No street traffic or noise even during the middle of the day. Windows open for fresh air as well.

I really can't express what a wonderful and amazing stay I had here. I would definitely want to book the premier queen rooms in order to avoid a tiny bathroom and more space. More window space as well. So centrally located to Union Square, the Moscone center. Four blocks from the trolley end-point (easy to get down the to wharf from here).

Room Tip: *Definitely* pay the small up-charge for a premium queen bed room. I did not see the smaller rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sacramento_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Dear Sacramento_ J,

Thank you, " merci mille fois" for taking the time to comment
on our small establishment. You are a very special person for
posting such a kind, detailed revue about your experience with
us. We are very grateful and hope to have the opportunity to
welcome you again.

Merci encore
Warm regards

Claude Lambert - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,765)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

882 - 888 of 1,765 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

Excellent location at downtown SFO... close to every important shops (from GAP to Saks) and Union Square (just to blocks down). Great service, specially from de ladies at the breakfast room. Very comfortable beds and cozy deco at each room. Breakfast included is perfect... orange juice, coffee, cereal, milk, eggs (poched, scrambled, fried) with bacon, toasts and hash brown potatoes, french toasts or pancakes. WIFI also included at every room. The cable car stop is at the corner of the hotel and it can bring you to fisherman's wharf or Market (here you can take de Street car to Castro, ferry bauiding, civic center, etc... BART station is also at this point). Super value!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carlos O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Monsieur Blanquet,

Thank you for sharing your good impressions of
our Cornell Hotel on Trip Advisor. We should be
pleased to welcome you again.. with a good breakfast
(offered by Restaurant Jeanne d' Arc) to start your
days. Our apologies for not answering sooner.

A nouveau ; merci beaucoup

Claude Lambert - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed for three nights and were extremely pleased with the hotel. The location is excellent, very close to Union Square without being on top of it and a half block from the cable car line. Our room was large, quiet and comfortably furnished. Nothing fancy here, just the basics done extremely well. Everything about the hotel is European, including breakfast in the basement restaurant. A parking garage is located conveniently across the street. An amazing value in San Francisco.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dijoens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear dijoens,

Merci ..for your kind words about our small Cornell Hotel
de France. We know that we cannot compete with bigger
luxurious establishment but we have a different " character"
and.. the satisfaction of our customers is our first concern.

Gratefully..

Claude Lambert - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I stayed 3 nights at the Cornell Hotel de France based on the recommendations I saw on trip advisor. I wasn't disappointed. The hotel is very nice, in a great location, the staff are friendly and helpful and the room was comfortable and quiet. There's also a lovely restaurant downstairs where you have breakfast. All at a good price. I couldn't have asked for more and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back will be the most quiet as they are away from Bush Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Fiona C from London,

Thank you for " highly" recommanding our small hotel.
We are pleased that your stay with us was satisfactory.
Let us apologize for the delay in answering your good
review of our establishment.

Merci...best regards

Claude Lambert - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My wife & I have stayed here before and we just love this cozy hotel, it is like a little slice of Paris. Wonderful people who are at your beck & call. great decor and very comfortable. Great breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foppm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear foppm,

Thank you for your kind words about our Cornell Hotel
de France. described often as a " vestige of the past" .
Comments like yours are a reward for everybody working
in the establishment.

Warm regards

Claude Lambert - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I am grateful to other Trip Advisor reviewers for showing me the way to the Cornell hotel de France.

The welcome is warm and gracious; the hotel is truly Paris 1935; the room is big enough, clean, nicely appointed, comfortable bed, good quality toiletries, and - although our room faced directly onto Bush St. - quiet, thanks to dual pane windows. And, icing on the cake, a great breakfast served by hard working ladies whose fun characters made it a special occasion ! Lastly, a great location to explore the city (it's literally minutes to Union Square, Nob Hill, the Financial District and Chinatown) and room rates which are, by the standards of this outrageously over-priced town, reasonable.

No, I don't have any connection to the owners of Cornell or a financial interest in the property. I'm just happy to have at last found a pied à terre in the city. We'll be back !

Room Tip: Room 300 at the front in a good size and quiet even though it face onto Bush St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ANDREW C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Andrew C,

Sorry we did not answer you sooner for your beautiful review
about our small Cornell Hotel de France. We are so pleased
you found a " pied a terre" in our establishment.
Grand merci et a bientot peut- etre.

Warm regards

Claude Lambert - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I only stayed one night in San Francisco, but the Cornell Hotel was wonderful. My single room was cozy, but would have been a comfortable stay for 2 as well. The staff was charming and helpful with sending postcards, calling an airport cab, and storing luggage. Breakfast was delicious. I would definitely stay here again! :) Oh, the location is awesome too! Union Square is just around the corner, but the hotel's street is quiet and no trouble getting a good night's rest.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Christy V,

Thank you for sharing your good comments with the
Trip Avisor travellers. It is a privilege for us and we are
very grateful. It is nice to know that we treat well our
customers. Too bad you could not stay longer...
Next time...may be.

Warm regards

Claude Lambert - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#18 of 230 in San Francisco
5,341 reviews
Union Square
Petite Auberge
Petite Auberge
#25 of 230 in San Francisco
1,542 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#8 of 230 in San Francisco
1,751 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornell Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Hotel de France

Address: 715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £86 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cornell Hotel de France 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of San Francisco Discover the charm and elegance of France in the heart of downtown San Francisco at this family-owned and operated hotel, ideally placed within walking distance of vibrant Union Square. Cornell Hotel de France boasts an exceptional location close to many of the city's main points of interest. The theater district as well as the legendary Chinatown can be found only minutes from the hotel. The city's historic cable car system is also easily accessible and provides service to many areas of the city. Originally built in 1910, the Cornell combines old-world charm with today's modern amenities such as wireless internet access. Start the day with a free breakfast at the hotel's on-site renowned restaurant, Jeanne d'Arc. Admire prints of masterpieces from famous artists throughout the hotel. Union Square is a great choice for travelers interested in shopping, restaurants and city trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cornell Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing