We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great charm and excellent meals and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cornell Hotel de France
Ranked #21 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
1 review
“Great charm and excellent meals and service”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My hubby and I have been there at least twice before this recent stay, so obviously we are delighted with the place. We take our family there on their "intro" to San Francisco.

Wonderful location.Terrific meals and service. Don't miss at least one dinner treat! Breakfast is amazing also.

It is an old hotel with old world charm; hallways are decorated uniquely and very tastefully; lovely art on the walls.

There is no air-conditioning, but there are fans in the rooms, & some rooms with ceiling fans . We have been comfortable every time; it could get too warm in summer I suppose. We are giving a stay to our children for their anniversaries.

Room Tip: Request a room with a ceiling fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kateleen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Kateleen2014,

Thank you for your kind review about our small Cornell Hotel.
It is always a great pleasure to hear that we are serving our
customers well. We were pleased to know that you liked the
way we decorated the place. We have a talented artist working
three full days per week....

Gratefully,

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    797
    644
    122
    41
    28
See reviews for
220
885
102
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mendocino, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

As others have stated this hotel is a great value. The rates are reasonable and include a hot breakfast that was very tasty both days we ate there. Our room was pretty small but we managed and slept well on the comfortable bed. The staff was very nice and the overall homey feeling of the hotel was such a welcome change from the big chain hotels in which we often stay. I think the best word that describes it is "quaint". The location is Bush and Powell a short walk from Union Square and many public transportation choices including the ever popular cable cars.
We go to San Francisco periodically just to get away and we will definitely revisit this charming and reasonably priced hotel. One added bonus, they have a restaurant that is part of the hotel and the food is very good.

Room Tip: The room sizes apparently vary somewhat so be sure you know what size room you are getting. Ours was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BabyBoomerNorCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear BabyBoomerNorCal,

We are very pleased that you liked our Cornell Hotel de France
during your last visit in San Francisco and thank you very much
for your good review showing our value, caring service and
mentioning the homey feeling of our establishment.
Awaiting your next visit...

Best regards,

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
etown
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed in mid June for 2 nights before our Ca travels and 2 nights afterwards. Located just off Union Square, walking distance to many attractions and transportation (Chinatown, Embarcerado, Financial District, etc.) Convenient to take the train to SFO airport. Just walk 1/2 block to Powell and then 6 blocks down to train station. $8.65 ow. Total time about 1 hour form hotel to terminal.
Breakfast includes hot or cold cereal and choice of eggs ordered your way or omelettes, or french toast or pancakes depending on the day. The 4 days we were there pancakes were not an option. The french toast was very good. The hot cereal was either oatmeal, which I thought was good) or wheat depending on the day.
Our first room had a ceiling fan; most have little portable fans and the windows open. We left one window open and did not use the portable fan as it was breezy and cool when we were there. Very little street noise if you ask for a quiet room. We found the beds very comfortable.
There is a nice "living room" with very comfortable sofa and chairs and a computer for Internet use. The rooms are small compated to chain hotels so we congregated with family here and found it very relaxing with the piped in French music.
I highly recommend this hotel for the location and value.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and a ceiling fan if you prefer one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 60adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear mzelk,

Thank you for a nice description of our small establishment-
location, breakfast ( sorry for the pancakes) comfort of our
rooms and lobby. It is considerate to let readers of Trip Advisor
know what to expect when booking at Cornell Hotel de France.

Warm regards

Claude Lambert - Owner
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We've stayed here several times over the years and keep coming back. While the hotel is nothing fancy, that isn't why we chose it in the first place. It's charming, very comfortable, perfectly located with easy parking and has a wonderful breakfast. Why mess with something that is perfect for our needs? Close to the financial district for our business, close to restaurants and loads of shopping. Ideal.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minou1minou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear minou1minou,

Thank you for your kind words about our Cornell Hotel de France.
It is always a pleasure to know that we are serving our customers
well. We look forward to serving you again and be still perfect for
your needs.

Gratefully,

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This hotel just never disappoints - I know all the big chain hotels in the area are a big attraction but it is nice to patronize a local area business trying to make it. This is our second visit and we stayed in a smaller room than last time, opting for the more economical route. The room was plenty big for us. My only complaint would be the lack of extra pillows...most queen/king rooms have 4 pillows and we only had two. Something I bet the front desk would fix if we felt the need to ask. We were also on the ground floor - right at street level and right off the lobby. I would have thought it would be much noisier than it was but it was ok.

Room Tip: If you want extra space - opt for the upgraded rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Mike P,

Thank you for coming back to our small hotel,
thank you for your good review.
We are pleased that you were not disappointed.
Sorry for the pillows...( we are on the verge of
changing all of them). Yes the rooms in which
you stayed is quiet ( double doors and windows)
and we occupy it when we have to stay at the
hotel overnight

Gratefully,

Claude Lambert - Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband gifted me with a surprise overnight stay at the Cornell Hotel de France for my birthday. He and I had enjoyed a delightful stay there once before for our anniversary. This time he booked a room for three to accommodate our daughter. Our room afforded us a view overlooking the street. Situated in the French quarter of San Francisco, this hotel is very close to Cafe de la Presse, other fine French restaurants, and features remarkable dining room within its spacious catacombs.

The European-size rooms are slightly smaller than standard American hotel rooms, but they make up in size with ambiance. Each floor is named for a French artist. Our room was on the Etage Chagall. The walls and doors are all adorned with delightful hand painted floral designs. The bathroom was not cramped at all and featured a claw-foot bathtub. In-room coffee and tea, a large flat screen TV, and very comfortable beds afforded us a cozy stay.

The breakfast room/restaurant, which occupies the entire floor below street level, is a marvel, being fitted out with accents of medieval France. Our ample morning meal in that room was very like the breakfasts we had enjoyed in the hotels of Paris. The staff are remarkably attentive and very cordial, both during breakfast and throughout our stay.

Self-serve coffee is also available in a small salon just opposite the office on the first floor, and there is an agreeable parlor just off of the entrance. Varied, comfy seating, local newspapers, and soft music make this room nicely relaxing. The stained glass windows, tapestries, and decorative, European-style elevator are only some of the lavishly French ornamentation throughout this hotel.

The Cornell Hotel de Franc is certain to please any Francophile. If your are looking for a place to stay in San Francisco that has a truly French flair, I highly recommend the Cornell Hotel de France. This is a wonderfully unique hotel.

Room Tip: By the way, this hotel does not feature a swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flamingo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Flamingo T,

What a wonderful review. What a nice and favorable description
of our small Cornell Hotel de France. You covered virtually every
aspects of what a customer should know about us.
"Merci beaucoup" for your kindness.
We shall be happy to welcome you again and then knock at the
door of my office.....

Very gratefully

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here three nights during our honeymoon. This is not like a typical hotel by any means, and that's not a bad thing. It is old-fashioned and has a lot of character (an old Otis elevator). We stayed in room 203 which had a window to an air shaft. Like others have mentioned there is no A/C, but it wasn't an issue. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and I usually have trouble sleeping on hotel pillows because they are so soft. These pillows were not too soft and not too firm, they were the right mix of the two. The room was small but it didn't feel cramped because the furniture was laid out in way to utilize all the available space. The breakfast in the morning was perfect and the wait staff was very friendly. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The gentleman at the front desk helped carry our luggage to our room when we first arrived and made sure to welcome us and thank us for staying. The location of this hotel couldn't be better. You're a couple blocks away from Union Square, Chinatown, and North Beach. The hotel is also near a corner where the trolley stops to pick up passengers on its way to Fisherman's Wharf. And for being on a major corner and street, the outside noise didn't creep into the room. This is a very nice hotel with a lot of charm. If you're looking for a run of the mill hotel then this is not the place for you, but if you're looking for extraordinary service and old-world charm then definitely stay here. My wife and I have already said the next time we go to San Francisco, this is the hotel we'll be staying at again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimg9321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,114 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Marines Memorial Club Hotel
Marines Memorial Club Hotel
#10 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#8 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornell Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Hotel de France

Property: Cornell Hotel de France
Address: 715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cornell Hotel de France 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of San Francisco Discover the charm and elegance of France in the heart of downtown San Francisco at this family-owned and operated hotel, ideally placed within walking distance of vibrant Union Square. Cornell Hotel de France boasts an exceptional location close to many of the city's main points of interest. The theater district as well as the legendary Chinatown can be found only minutes from the hotel. The city's historic cable car system is also easily accessible and provides service to many areas of the city. Originally built in 1910, the Cornell combines old-world charm with today's modern amenities such as wireless internet access. Start the day with a free breakfast at the hotel's on-site renowned restaurant, Jeanne d'Arc. Admire prints of masterpieces from famous artists throughout the hotel. Union Square is a great choice for travelers interested in shopping, restaurants and city trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cornell Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing