We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic and poor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cornell Hotel de France
Ranked #28 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Very small rooms with poor ventilation. The rooms are tired. Very noisy at night. Staff nowhere to be seen. Breakfast is served and has limited choice. No selections apart from eggs. No breads,fruits,yoghurt etc
Overall very poor and only positive sign would be location. Rather book at a chain hotel as they are in abundance.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dominic L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2014

Dear Dominic L,

So be it. We must admit that we are not used to so severe critics
but as we say in French " l' exception confirme la regle" and it is
good to know that we can always do better.
However we would like to add that we offer a free breakfast in the
beautiful dining room of our Restaurant Jeanne d' Arc and consi-
dering our reasonable rates the choice has to be somewhat limited.

Best regards

Claude Lambert - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,715)
There are newer reviews for Cornell Hotel de France
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

760 - 766 of 1,715 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

My third time in San Francisco and first stay here. Overall, the stay was fine and I would return because of the good value. My room needed upgrading and I did see one other which was smaller, but much better (newer paint, carpet, tile). My room size was average, although the bathroom was tiny. It faced the back (not Bush Street) so viewed office buildings and was quiet and bright. This hotel has an 'inn' like feel and is so very well located. The last block walk to this hotel (from Powell BART station) is straight uphill; do-able and typical of this town. The restaurant is truly a gem and you won't find a better breakfast included in a hotel rate. I felt safe here and the staff go out of their way to connect with you. Very good for the solo traveller. Neighborhood not an issue. Coin-op laundry a few doors down.

Room Tip: My room at the back of the hotel (not on Bush Street) was quiet and bright although looked at office...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingRenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

If you have taken any Rick Steves tours to Europe, then you will know what I am talking about when I say this is the kind of place you'd stay on one of his tours. Quaint, clean, charming and European.
My daughter and I shared a larger room with two twin beds. The room size was more than adequate, the bathroom large and the beds were very comfortable.The room had a new TV and free wi-fi. There is an old elevator with room for four, but we always took the stairs. Our room was in the back and it was very quiet and bright and had a window that opened A wonderful breakfast served in the lower level restaurant is included in the price, and it's fantastic. You order off a menu, with a choice of either pancakes or french toast (depending on the day) or eggs served your way. I choose the omelet with vegetables, my daughter the scramble. Eggs were light and airy. Breakfast included orange juice, coffee. toast, small serving of hash browns, bacon and some fruit. We spent our days shopping and sightseeing and evenings at the theatre and we walked everywhere. You could spend more on a room, but personally I'd rather spend my money on fine dining and shopping. This is a first class "budget plus" hotel in an excellent location . Highly recommend and we'll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KLJH54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We were pleased with the quaint European fell on arrival, but small issues will not warrant a return. Arrived and needed to go to 5th floor room, but elevator was in use by a delivery vendor (shouldn't customers come first?). Unusual little heat wave for city this week, and extremely uncomfortable nights we had with no air conditioning in room. First morning, a notice in bathroom stated do not use dryer on the wall, use portable one. No portable hair dryer in room, go all the way down to office, ask and receive a non-working dryer (we tried every outlet to be sure it was defective), returned all the way down to office, and man said i'll bring you another. Never showed, we ate breakfast, dressed for the day, and on the way out asked the man if he found another dryer and he said "she didn't bring it to you?" The problem with delegation of tasks is one must follow up on the employee assigned. The man at desk should have at least apologized rather than asking me why his employee failed his directions. Hoping for service the next morning, however, dryer never did appear. We went to drug store on the corner, purchased one ourselves and even left it in the room, for the next customer. Your welcome. Breakfast tasty, and servers VERY pleasant each morning, although we thought maybe breads & cheese or french pastries would be a choice rather than American bacon & eggs every day. Dinner in the restaurant outstanding and hotel location central to downtown. If we had to suggest ....... it would be eat dinner here, but maybe sleep down the street, there are tons of hotels within blocks.

Room Tip: Unfortunately, we could not say about the noise level as we had to open our windows at night to prev...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank zmn4500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Considering the price this was a fantastic find, Centrally located, Tastefully decorated with French theme ( that is a positive). Basic but very clean. Breakfast is excellent with very good friendly service.
Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Richard S,

We are happy to know that you would not hesitate to stay
again our our small Cornell Hotel de France. It would be
our pleasure to have you again.
Thank you very much for your nice comments

Very gratefully.

Claude Lambert - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My wife and I were invited to the annual Bastille Day Dinner celebration last Friday at the Cornell Hotel in San Francisco by our good friend Deborah. What a treat! The restaurant at the Cornell has a richly textured intimate dining room complete with tapestries and hand painted frescoes. It immediately took me back to France and while I appreciate a beautiful room, it was the sumptuous food and festive atmosphere that made this dinner one of the most memorable that I have had. Our five course dinner was delicious. We especially enjoyed the warm goat cheese & spinach pastry second course, and our entrees, roasted ribeye with shitaki mushroom sauce and seared veal medallions with truffle sauce were prepared perfectly and served hot. For the final course, we all chose the Grand Marnier souffle which should not be missed. It was light, fluffy and delicious. Even the pear sorbet with touch of liqueur that was served between the second course and entree was a surprising delight. And Ester, our waitress was terrific. She was always attentive and warm and never rushed our courses. But what really set it all off was the festive mood created by the Cornell's owner Mr. Claude Lambert and his troupe of musicians which included an accordion, sax and violin player accompanied by both a female and male vocalist. The musicians played a range of classics which included among other songs snippets of opera as well as a Les Miserables tune. The music engaged all the diners. This was evidenced by strong participation of the diners in loud singing of "The Star Bangled Banner" and "La Marseillaise" which we later learned is part of the tradition of the Bastille Day dinner at the Cornell. This was a night of old school French culture created lovingly by the Lamberts. I would definitely recommend the Cornell to Francophiles and non-Francophiles alike. The Bastille Day Dinner there is a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Steve S,

Dear Steve S,

Thank you very much for coming with our good friend Deborah.
We are very happy that you liked your evening at our Bastille Day
dinner. The musicians had never been so good and we were proud
to have organized and offered this party.. Amazing to watch our
customers, mostly Americans, standing and singing la " Marseillaise"
We appreciated your nice, detailed comments.
Merci....

Warm regards

Claude Lambert - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

A gorgeous french boutique hotel in the heart of San Francisco. The staff were extremely friendly and very accommodating. We were lucky enough to be there on a Saturday night so we dropped in downstairs for the 4 course french inspired dinner. The food and wine were excellent as was the in house violinist. The hotel is in the perfect spot ti walk to Union square, China town with easy public transport to Fishermans Wharf.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank LindaJohn87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear LindaJohn87,

We are pleased that you liked your stay in our small hotel
and the food of our restaurant- Francine our violonist will
happy to be mentioned- Thank you for your good comments.
We hope that you had a nice trip back to Australia.

Warm regards

Claude Lambert - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
5,279 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#9 of 230 in San Francisco
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#13 of 230 in San Francisco
2,828 reviews
Union Square
Petite Auberge
Petite Auberge
#23 of 230 in San Francisco
1,526 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#62 of 230 in San Francisco
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornell Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Hotel de France

Address: 715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £107 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cornell Hotel de France 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of San Francisco Discover the charm and elegance of France in the heart of downtown San Francisco at this family-owned and operated hotel, ideally placed within walking distance of vibrant Union Square. Cornell Hotel de France boasts an exceptional location close to many of the city's main points of interest. The theater district as well as the legendary Chinatown can be found only minutes from the hotel. The city's historic cable car system is also easily accessible and provides service to many areas of the city. Originally built in 1910, the Cornell combines old-world charm with today's modern amenities such as wireless internet access. Start the day with a free breakfast at the hotel's on-site renowned restaurant, Jeanne d'Arc. Admire prints of masterpieces from famous artists throughout the hotel. Union Square is a great choice for travelers interested in shopping, restaurants and city trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Cornell Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing