We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cornell Hotel de France
Ranked #26 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I love so many things about this hotel that I'm not quite sure where to begin. Let me start with the magnificent little dining room where the complimentary breakfast is served each morning. Everything about it is exquisite. Our triple room was light airy and quiet. All I could hear was the sounds of the streetcars down below. Quintessential San Francisco. The cafe near the check in desk is amazing and always stocked with complementary coffee and cookies. The service was friendly and the location could not have been better. And did I mention the price was better than most hotels in the area? I spent many frustrating hours searching for an affordable place to stay in SF. Save yourself the time and book this hotel. I'll never stay anywhere else in SF.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyGalDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear FamilyGalDallas,

Thank you for sharing your good opinion of our small hotel
with the readers of Trip Advisor. A comment like yours is a
reward for us and we hope to have your visit in the future.

Merci,
Warm regards

Claude Lambert - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,785)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

784 - 790 of 1,785 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

I've been staying at this hotel several times over the past years. It's centrally located, the staff is very friendly, the rooms are cozy and uniquely decorated. Breakfast is good, the dinners at the restaurant Jeanne d'Arc are fabulous. The parking garage is right across the street, with a modest fee for San Francisco. I think it's a great place and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: check out their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Tina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Tina T,

Thank you very much for your kind words. It is a reward for
everybody working at our Cornell Hotel de France and we are
happy to know that we shall have the pleasure to welcome
you again.

Warm regards

Claude Lambert - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Have just returned from four days in SF and were happy with our stay here. After doing research on a Trip Advisor we chose this hotel because of its excellent location close to centre of town, a great place and the fact that breakfast was included. The room was big enough for the two of us, the shower was hot and good water pressure and the staff were helpful and polite. Would recommend if you wanted a small homely place to come back to after a long days sight seeing. Thank you

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hamhawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear hamhawks from New Zealand,

We are glad that you liked your stay with us and we thank you
for your good review. You described very well our unpretentious
but homely small establishment so ideally located in the heart
of our beautifull city.

Best regards

Claude Lambert - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My daughters and I stayed at the Cornell for 4 nights in early August. I have stayed in our hotels in the Union Square area but chose this hotel on the recommendation of a friend and because the room rate for 3 people was good in comparison to other hotels. I found the hotel charming as others describe, although a little shabby, but it was a problem I believe specific to our room 601 that has resulted in my poor review. The shower is a mere trickle, making it difficult to even get the shampoo out of your hair. I'm not exaggerating! I twice complained to the management about the shower. Initially I was told it was a problem with the shower head and the handyman would come but the next day was told it was a larger problem and not a quick fix. No rooms were available to move us to and I didn't explore the inconvenient option of perhaps showering in another room. Unless I am mistaken I believe the hotel was aware of the problem before I was given this room which is really disappointing. Unfortunately this problem combined with street noise making wearing ear plugs to sleep each night would make me not return to this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 23blen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear 23bien,
.
Let us apologize for this " misfortune" with the shower of room 601
for which I am partly responsible. Two months ago I bought a new
shower head to replace the old one and installed it . I noticed
then that the water pressure was reduced because the holes of the
head were very tiny. So I was not surprised when afterwards a few
customers mentionned that the flow of water was slow and it was my
intention to simply, buy another "head". The Office should have had the
imagination to report your predicament to me and the incident would
have been solved the following day. May I blame you a little, you could
have knocked at the door of the " Bureau du Directeur" which is located
accross the main office and besides a prompt repair, you would have
been compensated. You would have left us, then, with a smile and
may be would have come back.

We respect your opinion and accept our punishment , thank you for
keeping your objectivity under the circumstances.

With our apologies and best regards

Claude Lambert - Owner

May we mention thou, that all our rooms facing the street have double
windows, when closed you hardly hear a noise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My husband and I loved this hotel. It reminded us of a hotel we stayed in, in Paris. The room was a good size (not large), similar to many European hotel rooms. A basic breakfast (eggs, french toast, cereals, juice, great coffee, tea, etc.) is included in the rate. The restaurant is beautiful. We dined there one evening and truly enjoyed our meal. The location is great! You can walk to Chinatown, the Italian section, and Fisherman's Wharf (a bit far). The hotel has a deal with the parking facility across the street, $26 a day. Although the Cornell is located in downtown SF, it is on a quiet street. We loved old-fashioned elevator, the clawfoot tub, the restaurant,and location. If you are looking for modern luxury, this hotel is not for you.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank TeacherMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Dear TeacherMal,

Your generous praise means a lot to us.
We are happy that you had a nice stay
in our small Cornell Hotel and thank you
very much.

Warm regards

Claude Lambert - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Quirky, characterful, slightly unpredictable, but overall good value for money for a city centre hotel. The rooms were well furnished and quiet, public areas well-furnished. Breakfast was included, well-prepared but basic and there were not enough staff on duty on the mornings we were there. This hotel's big plus point is its reasonable price for such a great location.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the hotel for a quiet night's sleep in the heart of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank TravellingMan1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

DearTravelingMan1963,

We are glad that you appreciated your stay at our small hotel.
Thank you for revealing your positive view of our business on
Trip Advisor.

Warm regards

Claude Lambert - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The family stayed at the Cornell the first weekend in August 2014.
The four of us had two rooms in various parts of the hotel.
The rooms are slightly smaller than the typical chain, but well laid out and both rooms had plenty of storage, nice sized baths with claw-foot tubs and queen sized beds. One room was two twins. The free breakfasts were good, if a limited selection, but the two servers were kind and quick. This in itself saved us $30 a day and about an hour in time. Well worth the effort. The hotel was clean and had easy access to various public transport (Cable Cars, Tram, Bus) as well as parking right across the street and up about 50 yds. Note: When picking up your car just walk up to the attendants. The line is for car renting, not parking and picking up! We had a number of oddities during our stay. Items found and items lost. Comcast issues with the TVs and the like. IF you're going to SF to watch the news or swim in a pool, I'm sure there are better places. IF you're going to SF to see SF, stay at the Cornell.

Room Tip: The cable cars 'ding-a-ling-ling' for quite some time throughout the day. The back of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank PeterLenagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2014

Dear Peter.enagh,

We are happy to know that you enjoyed staying at our small
Cornell Hotel de France. Thank you for the nice words posted
on Trip Advisor. We appreciated particularly your compliments
regarding our breakfast. We hope to welcome again...

Best regards

Claude Lambert - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,360 reviews
Union Square
Petite Auberge
Petite Auberge
#24 of 230 in San Francisco
1,543 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#7 of 230 in San Francisco
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
613 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornell Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Hotel de France

Address: 715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £95 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cornell Hotel de France 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of San Francisco Discover the charm and elegance of France in the heart of downtown San Francisco at this family-owned and operated hotel, ideally placed within walking distance of vibrant Union Square. Cornell Hotel de France boasts an exceptional location close to many of the city's main points of interest. The theater district as well as the legendary Chinatown can be found only minutes from the hotel. The city's historic cable car system is also easily accessible and provides service to many areas of the city. Originally built in 1910, the Cornell combines old-world charm with today's modern amenities such as wireless internet access. Start the day with a free breakfast at the hotel's on-site renowned restaurant, Jeanne d'Arc. Admire prints of masterpieces from famous artists throughout the hotel. Union Square is a great choice for travelers interested in shopping, restaurants and city trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cornell Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing