We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
US$334
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$267
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$304/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$317
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$276
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Beck's Motor Lodge(San Francisco)
US$356
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
US$301
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$278/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$273/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$348
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$325
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Diva(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$273/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$470
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$386
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$312/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$446
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$416
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,897)
Filter reviews
1,897 results
Traveller rating
948
735
135
49
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
948
735
135
49
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjeanne d'arcfrench hotelbasement restaurantfrench themeclaw foot tubdifferent french artisthand paintedunion squarecharming hotelcable carsmall hotelhot breakfastbreakfast was includedtwo blockspowell stheart of san franciscothere is no air conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 1,897 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Hotel was very pretty and well decorated. Rooms small but do the job. Breakfast good. A lot effort has been put into making the place special. Toiletries very nice.

Two doors down is a male strippers joint which has a sign that invites you to 'touch their junk'. Lots of vagrants whether drunks or druggies in streets and you need to avoid them. Did not feel safe out at night.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lyndacanning1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear lyndacanning,

Thank you very much for your good review about our small hotel.
So sorry you were a little scary but we are located in what is
considered a good neighborhood. The drunks,vagrants or druggies
live somewhere else in San Francisco. We never had an incident
with the theatre that you mention despite their questionable
advertisement. Remember, we are in San Francisco.
Hoping to have the pleasure to have your visit again!

Gratefully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

I recommend this hotel whole-heartedly. It is modest, but full of character & ambiance. It is very well taken care of, and if I were to refer to it like a home, I would compliment the houseperson for an efficient and high-level upkeep of the place. The restaurant on the premises is like a charming little French museum, paying tribute to Joan of Arc. The French style breakfast is excellent. Free coffee, tea and iced lemon water are offered free of charge 24/7. The staff is not only efficient, but truly warm and kind. The location is ideal.
To make our stay even more enjoyable, we would recommend adding a mini-refrigerator to the room.
In sum, I would certainly return to the Cornell on my next visit to SF. as well as highly recommend it to anyone looking for a good hotel in SF.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank gissi s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear gissi,

Merci beaucoup.. for your nice, praising review of our small Cornell Hotel de France,
posted on TripAdvisor. So rewarding for everybody working in our establishment that
you described with such kind words.
We already considered adding a mini- refrigerator in our bigger rooms.
Hoping to have the pleasure to welcome you again and please,introduce yourself.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Room was extremely hot with a mold smell, (and not because San Fran weather is cool, it was 17c outside and our room was still deadly hot). Breakfast food was mediocre, no fruit, no vegan options and no effort to accommodate, surprisingly since it is San Francisco. Bread crumbs under the bed and 100-year old dust on the windows. Never again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Maya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear Maya R,

We understood dear Madame, that our small Victorian hotel did not fit your expectations. When told that you would shorten your stay, we did not object. Why did you decide to stay the next day!
Most of the year the nights are cool in San Francisco and the late few days of extreme heat have been difficult for everybody. We are sorry if you have been inconvenienced but if the outside temperature at the time was 60 degrees you should have opened the two windows of your fifth floor room.
We have always offered breakfast to our clientele (free.. no charge), served at the table, in the beautiful dining- room of Restaurant Jeanne d' Arc. We are sad to observe that he meaning of the word generosity may be fading?

Ouur best regards, dear Maya.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel is located in a great location, there are lots of buses, street cars and even the cable car line run within easy walking distance. It's also walking distance to Chinatown and union square. The main attractions were all a short public transport ride away. The area the hotel is located in had a lot of homeless people, but never felt unsafe walking around.

The room itself had a comfy bed and was decorated in a French style. The walls were quite thin and we could hear our neighbours using the bathroom and showering but it didn't bother us at night. The bathroom was good and we had L'Occitane products provided which was nice. However we had stained towels, everyday. When we asked for replacements they still had stains. The towels also looked a bit old and frayed.

Breakfast was included for our stay and it was adequate. It always took a while to get seated. The food was pretty average but since it was conviniently located in the building I can't complain too much.

Overall I had a nice stay but wouldn't come here again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RockieHazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear RockieHazel,

We are glad you enjoyed most of what we have to offer and thank you for
mentioning them. There are many homeless people in San Francisco but not
in our neighborhood. So sorry for your misfortune of having a stained towel two
times in a row . It was, of course, an accident which had never happened
before. Breakfast is not included but offered ( completely free), served to the
table in the beautiful dining- room of our restaurant Jeanne d' Arc. Of course
most of the customers come at the last minute, our kitchen being small, they
have to wait somewhat. Generosity has lost its meaning... and next year every
body will have to pay like everywhere else.
Thank you again dear RockieHazel for saying that you "cannot complain too much"
and that you had a good stay overall"

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

We return to the Hotel Cornell as often as possible. The location in Union Square is one of our favorites. The staff is friendly and efficient. The decor is lovely; we feel as if we might just be in France. Our rooms are always clean and again the decor in each room in fun and sometimes whimsical. The restaurant on the bottom floor is very good; we eat there often.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jgibbs5740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Dear jgibbs5740,

Thank you so much for being faithful to our small hotel.
Glad you like to stay with us. Nice of you to have posted
a praising review on TripAdvisor.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews