We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Motel 6 San Francisco Downtown
Ranked #154 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and 3 days. During our stay, the place is good, staff are friendly and clean room. We did not book for a reservation, we just go there and get a room! It's affordable for a traveler like us who's always on a budget.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IslandGurlLAboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2012

To be honest, I've never stayed in Downtown SF before. The area overall is dirty. I think the price for the hotel is high for what you get, but compaired to nicer places that cost $400 a night in the same area, i think it was pretty fair. They don't have a lot of things in the room that you may need (iron, blow dryer) but they do have them at the front desk. The bathrooms are dirty, and the shower curtains dont work well so water gets all over the floor. All in all for somewhere to stay to avoid high costs it would do in a pinch for a few days. There can also be a lot of noise at night.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loverlylyllah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We are Belgian Citizen (58 YO) and like to travel in the USA. For our Agust 2011 holidays this was our hotel choice for San Francisco. The Motel is ideally situated. You can easily visit San Francisco from here without need for a car. The drop on drop off coaches are nearby. The city shops too including Macys (delight for the wife). Do not expect a luxurious hotel but a nice, clean and spacious place to sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pierre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

While in what might seem to some a "sketchy" neighborhood (Tenderloin), it was a clean hotel with a private bath at a good price in San Francisco. My wife and I never felt unsafe but there A LOT of homeless people in the neighborhood. If this bothers you, this hotel is NOT for you.

Room Tip: We were on the side overlooking the garage, not the street and it was never noisy from outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank losgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

After following the stunning Highway 1 down through California we crossed Golden Gate Bridge into San Fran. Book in advance for Alcatraz trips - San Fran fun - crooked streets amusing - go to Lombard Street the famous crooked one - Pier 39 fun & pretty - aqaurium okay but we preferred Vancouver's which had more shows. See the painted ladies too if you're there (a rwo of old houses). The hotel was okay - bog standard - good value - but wouldn't recommend for a long stay - however easy links into the city.

Room Tip: Fine but no frills
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizziemartie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We made a last minute trip to the city and did not anticipate a convention in town. Most hotels/motels were sold out. We got lucky and got a room for $120/night at the motel 6. The location is not terrible but it is on the edge of a seedy part of town. We walked to dinner then walked down to Union square and back. It was safe enough but clearly this is not a tourist area. We heard street noise throughout the night, including people arguing on the street. (We were on the 2nd floor). Our room was good size and clean. The bed was hard. The desk staff were friendly and helpful. Typical hotel 6, the towels were way too small and thin. Basically, if you are in San Francisco, the hotels are booked, and do not want to spend a $300-400 on a room, this place is fine. (It also had free parking, but the staff was careful to tell us not to leave anything in our car). We would stay there again, but it would not be our first choice.

Room Tip: Perhaps if we had a room on a higher floor we would not have had as much outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kfhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Just want to say, Thank You! We had a fun night of partying and came back a little over the top. I hate to admit it, we left some of our dinner and drinks in the elevator and all over the bathroom. I thought I would see some kind of extra cost billed to the room for sure. Fair enough too. The next morning the elevator was smelling fresh like Pine and they did not say a word about it. The best part, they never charged my card extra! Thank You So Much!
The room was very clean too!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveMyGirls_1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#86 of 231 in San Francisco
624 reviews
Marina District
Greenwich Inn
Greenwich Inn
#153 of 231 in San Francisco
251 reviews
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#80 of 231 in San Francisco
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District
Howard Johnson San Francisco Mar...
#189 of 231 in San Francisco
236 reviews
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#135 of 231 in San Francisco
687 reviews
Music City Hotel
#117 of 231 in San Francisco
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 San Francisco Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Francisco Downtown

Address: 895 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94109-7217 (Formerly Days Inn)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £100 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 San Francisco is located within walking distance to may area restaurants and attractions. Union Square & Chinatown .75 Miles; Fisherman's Wharf 2 miles; Golden Gate Bridge 4 miles. Free Wi-Fi, parking, and morning coffee is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Motel 6 San Francisco Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 San Francisco Downtown Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Motel 6
San Francisco Motel Six
Motel Six San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing