We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, basic, safe accommodations near Union Square”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Motel 6 San Francisco Downtown
Ranked #154 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 22 September 2013

In looking for relatively safe and inexpensive lodging near Union Square, based on reviews by Trip Advisor reviews, we chose this Motel 6 and are glad we did. It is about as basic as it can get, but clean and there are elevators to all of the floors.

Would recommend this hotel if you don't plan to be in your room much except for sleeping.

Room Tip: A real bonus is that this hotel has on premise, self-parking included in the price of the room which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barb1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

Room was as simple as expected, but the cleaning material smell inside was terrible.

Free parking, if you need it. 15 minutes away from the Financial District. Do not expect breakfast or any other Service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank postscriptum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I was in San Francisco few years back and i was over there to attend the conference "Obesity Prevention and Treatment" organized by Contemporary Forums. I stayed in this Motel for 2 nights, less charming of tourists and service was nice. I love to stay in this Motel again during my next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Prakash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

This motel is decent, but not really near anything you will probably be doing in SF. The area is okay, but I wouldn't want to hang out there at night. It's quite a hike down to Market to catch a tram to Union Square, the Embarcadero, or the Piers. The parking was free in the parking garage & the rooms cannot be accessed w/o a key card for the elevators, so those were pluses. We were also allowed to park in the garage with our reservation even though we were too early for check-in. All rooms are upstairs. It's an affordable place to stay, most other chains were at least double the price. We paid $135 for a Sat night. The room was clean though our shower was backing up. If you're looking to save money this is the place for you. Otherwise this offers no incentive for anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank thebri77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed at this place for two nights while we were doing a roundtrip from LA.
The rooms are very "simple" and the "breakfast" consisted of a coffee over the counter.

SF is a rough city, as is this Hotel. You get in and out with your chipcard, simulating a little safety.
There were very few tourists here and we got the impression that people used the rooms to "exchange goods".

If " a place to sleep" is all you are looking for this might be your place.
But if you are looking for a "vacation place" you better spend a few extra bucks.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

This was the perfect situation where You need to pick Your priorities. Pros: Motel is very affordable, in fair distance form city center and includes parking slot (which is always good ). Cons: Security is below poor, You can get to rooms without passing any of the employees or registration desk. Very questionable block with a lot of dangerous looking people outside. I usually don't pay attention to such things, but this was a lot to much. We decided to limit our time near the motel outside. Room was clean and simple, but the smell inside was terrible (i was not dirt, but it looked like some old school cleaning material was used). So just decide what is most important for You.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with windows to inside of the building and as far up as possible so You don't n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Briedis_Paulius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

Where do you start. Cheap fitout, ordinary beds, flaking paint, paper thin walls, paper thin towels.... Probably the worst part is that the elevator opens to the driveway into the parking lot. More than once we saw people use the elevator who jumped in from the street. Very poor security imho. The area around the motel is dodgy as well, a lot of bums and loiterers. The motel increased its tariff by 60% from its advertised rate. Unfortunately we stayed between xmas and new year when everything else was booked. Never again. AVOID

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#86 of 231 in San Francisco
625 reviews
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#135 of 231 in San Francisco
688 reviews
Music City Hotel
#117 of 231 in San Francisco
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Greenwich Inn
Greenwich Inn
#153 of 231 in San Francisco
251 reviews
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#80 of 231 in San Francisco
766 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#142 of 231 in San Francisco
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 San Francisco Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Francisco Downtown

Address: 895 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94109-7217 (Formerly Days Inn)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £101 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 San Francisco is located within walking distance to may area restaurants and attractions. Union Square & Chinatown .75 Miles; Fisherman's Wharf 2 miles; Golden Gate Bridge 4 miles. Free Wi-Fi, parking, and morning coffee is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Motel 6 San Francisco Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 San Francisco Downtown Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Motel 6
San Francisco Motel Six
Motel Six San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing