We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”
Review of Hotel Drisco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Drisco
Ranked #1 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

A lovely, intimate hotel in Pacific Heights. The rooms are spacious and spotless and are very nicely appointed--but the best feature is the staff. Everyone is extremely knowledgeable and accommodating and they must all take a "nice" pill before their shift. Loved the wine tasting in the late afternoon! We will be back.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get the room on the same level as the dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kayesimonetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,213
    169
    35
    16
    12
See reviews for
273
764
57
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We arrived in San Fran on my wife's birthday after several days in LA and a stop in Big Sur -- a birthday cake, champagne, and a bottle of sparkling water (for our boys) were awaiting, which was perfect as were traveling for a fair bit of my wife's birthday. It awaited us because prior to our trip, I received a call from staff at the Hotel Drisco to see if there was anything they could do for us. Yes, there was -- I had been wondering how I would make her day special and they made it easy for us with the presentation when we walked in the room and the reservations at a great nearby restaurant.

The service was incredible, not only with that kind of "pre-emptive thoughtfulness" but throughout our stay. Their evening wine tasting and breakfasts were a welcome treat -- you need to factor those perks into your price; the place we stayed in LA charged $32 for breakfast. And it's clear in the small details, the amenities in the rooms, how things are arranged, etc., that they've really thought through what guests are seeking.

The hotel is older and often-times older hotels can feel thread-bare. Not so the Drisco. It is well cared for and has fine appointments. Our room was spacious. We have two boys -- ages 17 and 14 -- and we had plenty of space. The views were unbelievable as Pacific Heights is at a high elevation. We were on the fourth floor and had views of the city from multiple perspectives, including a beautiful one from the shower!

The location is incredible. My son and I took a long run through The Presidio which is just down the street. You can go for as long as you want through incredible trails and woods that feed into the Golden Gate Bridge.

Whenever we go to San Francisco, we will stay at the Hotel Drisco.

Green Features: Very strong - they have divided garbage cans to separate recyclables.
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Todd F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Perfectly appointed, spotless, quiet and timeless. Staff was attentive and warm without crossing over to disingenuous or forced. Pacific Heights, for me, is perfectly situated but could possibly be a little too quiet for some.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review! We like to think of ourselves as a quiet urban retreat. And I completely agree with you: our location in a wonderful upscale residential neighborhood is absolutely perfect for some, and a little too quiet for others. If you and your friends are interested in partying like it's 1999, I have a few alternative hotel recommendations for you!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aschau Im Chiemgau, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Usually I hate cities ... San Francisco is the only exception. Usually I hate hotels in the city ... Hotel Drisco is the only exception. This place is just wonderful - and that's why I try to write in English that everybody gets the chance to know. Though its look and feel is Victorian all amenties are very modern. But best is their extremely friendly personnel, one really sees that these people love their job and "their" hotel and they are proud of working there. Everything is of highest quality. Also very very enjoyable is that they think of everything a traveller might need, starting with free bottled water, reaching to the package of amenities you need when getting on a plane. Soap and bath stuff is of higest quality as is the food for the room service - that surprisingly is payable. And what just terrific is their location, in walking distance to all the places we liked but away from downtown. Absolutely nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hanauma-bay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest,

I appreciate so very much that you took the time to post your review in English so that English speakers would have the benefit of your thoughts and experiences here! And you've hit on a great point -- we all do love our jobs here. It is a pleasure to work with such great colleagues and take care of such wonderful guests.

Thank you again for your review.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Hotel Drisco in Pacific Heights - an upscale residential area of San Francisco - is a delightful, charming and elegant hotel. The staff could not be more accommodating . Parking is on the street , free and very available and if you like, the staff will take your keys and park for you. There is an ample diverse complimentary breakfast every morning and a very nice wine, cheese , olive oil et al reception every evening with 4 very hie wines. Coffee and tea are always in the living room. Turn down includes 2 amazing dark chocolate covered short bread cookies. There is a nespresso with coffee selections in each room. No detail is overlooked. Not a very ultra modern, overly fussy
place, jut perfectly comfortable and guest oriented.

Room Tip: City view is nice - especially at night - slight view of the bay too. Suites are great as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronnieK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for noticing the many details we provide -- we try very hard not to overlook anything! I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This hotel had an excellent staff & a great location in a quiet neighborhood. Shopping & resturants right around the corner! Charming rooms with excellent views and all you need supplied (bonus points for including a fan!). Great wine evening and good breakfast too. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hockeymom472014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Title says it all. I have stayed at this 30 room boutique in Pacific Heights more than a dozen times over the last 5 years. They have almost zero staff turnover - desk staff is super accommodating - and 70% of their guests are repeat. No hotel feels more like home - my wife would be happy to move in! And they have great breakfasts and wine and cheese hours.

Room Tip: Ask for City View on one of top 2 floors. Suites are even better but, of course, more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UESfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Oh my, talk about setting the bar really high! We stand ready to welcome you as permanent guests if you wish!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,076 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 228 in San Francisco
3,016 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 228 in San Francisco
955 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Drisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drisco

Property: Hotel Drisco
Address: 2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115-1011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Drisco 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Drisco, constructed in 1903, blends traditional elegance with the convenience, comfort, and amenities of a world-class modern hotel. The warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere, and impeccable service are designed to please business and leisure travelers alike. Complimentary services include a gourmet continental breakfast, evening wine reception, chauffeured sedan service to several popular San Francisco locations and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Drisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drisco Hotel San Francisco
Drisco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing