We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm atmosphere in a traditional and delicious ambiance”
Review of Hotel Drisco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Drisco
Ranked #1 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Blonay, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Warm atmosphere in a traditional and delicious ambiance”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Very warm welcome with gorgeous wine testing. Room is nicely decorated and well equipped with a splendid view on San Francisco. Breakfast is generous and very tasteful. Employees are extremely helpful. Parking is really easy around the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raouliraoulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased you enjoyed your experience, and thank so much for your kind words about the staff! I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,213
    169
    35
    16
    12
See reviews for
273
764
57
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed in the Drisco for 2 nights . It was just fantastic,. The staff were so friendly and happy ion their jobs. Our room was out of this world. Breakfast and the evening wine reception top notch. If i ever back in San Francisco I will be staying at the Drisco.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gabbie-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Guest,

I love the phrase "top notch." It's so apt for the Drisco (with apologies for the lack of humility). My staff and I are thankful every day that we have the privilege of hosting our guests in such a special environment. I look forward to welcoming you back when you're next in San Francisco.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My husband and I chose Hotel Drisco for our recent 3 day trip to SF, and had an absolutely wonderful stay. We travel a lot, often in Europe, and treasure the opportunity to stay in a hotel that has a sense of place, and history; this is one of those places. The hotel is refreshingly removed from the scramble of tourism elsewhere in the city, but is still close to everything, and is located in a beautiful, peaceful Pacific Hieghts neighborhood. All details were thought of, from many toiletries, beautiful linens, water and expresso in the room, bountiful European-style breakfast, all-day coffee and tea, afternoon wine reception, delicious, reasonable room service menu,and welcoming staff throughout the hotel. We had a corner suite, which was bright and roomy, with lovely city views. The street parking worked very well (much better than the parking at Union Square hotels), and since the area is so much fun to walk, we enjoyed extensive wanders on foot. This hotel creates the ideal blend of attentiveness and privacy, luxury and old-world charm. So perfectly San Franciso....finally we've found our SF home away from home!! Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank portofino3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Guest,

The work is its own reward when managing such a special place as the Hotel Drisco, and yet from time to time a review comes along that just makes me smile -- yours was such a review. I am so pleased that you had a great experience, and I am very thankful that you took the time to post such a lovely review. My staff and I work very hard to strike the right balance between, as you say, "attentiveness and privacy, luxury and old-world charm." We strive to offer a unique sense of place, to be quintessentially San Francisco, and I'm glad we hit the mark with you!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here for the second time and once again, it did not disappoint. The rooms are clean and spacious. We had a city view room. The breakfast was delicious as were the complementary cookies upon the nightly turn down service. The property is in a quiet, upscale neighborhood. The staff are always readily available and willing to help with anything you may need. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Davis2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, California, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The Hotel Drisco is a historic building that has all the character and charm of days past. We experienced wonderful customer service from the time we checked in and throughout our stay. The hotel staff always greeted us with a smile and a "hello" when they would see us.

The hotel offers nice touches such as all day coffee, tea, and newspapers in a sunny, comfortable sitting room. Biscotti is added in the late afternoon. Complimentary bottled water, as well as an espresso machine complete with the espresso, is available in your room. Of course a daily newspaper is delivered every morning. The breakfast is included with your room. The buffet offers salmon, cheese, bagels, different breads for toasting, a variety of fruits and cereals, oatmeal, five flavors of juices including freshly squeezed OJ., and of course, excellent cappuccinos served at your table.

The room we stayed in was a king that faced the courtyard. It was very quiet. The room was not large, but we were not cramped. There was a bureau, desk, chair, sitting chair, and a roll away bed. The bathroom is definitely large enough and has little extras such as mouthwash and air freshener in addition to the usual soaps, sewing kit, etc. The bed was comfortable and the pillows were just right. The hotel offers three types of pillows. There is a card in the room describing each one that is available depending on your sleeping preference. Along with that amenity is a sound machine to help lull you to sleep. Chocolate shortbread cookies and a bucket of ice are left at turndown. The morning of our departure we found a cute little gift bag hanging from the outside knob of the door. It contained mints and a special cloth to clean your glasses, or the screen of your cell phone.

The Hotel Drisco is a lovely place to stay in a great location. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Our room facing the courtyard was very quiet. There was no road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

After a long internal debate about staying in a location far from Union Square, I decided to take a chance with the Pacific Heights location of Hotel Drisco. I should be so lucky with all my decisions! This is a wonderful hotel in a beautiful part of San Francisco. Everything about our stay was first rate - the decor, room amenities, breakfast selection and presentation, afternoon wine tasting and hors d'oeuvres. The staff are gracious and could not be more helpful (and seriously nice!); arranging dinner reservations, suggesting activities and most importantly valet parking the car for us when needed with no additional charge. In fact, it was a refreshing change to stay in a hotel that does not nickel and dime their guests for things that should be part of the daily rate; high speed internet, valet parking and bottled water to name a few. As a resident of NYC it was nice to stay in a quiet place, out of the Union Square area but with quick and easy access to Golden Gate Park and the Presidio. My daughter and I stayed here for two nights as part of a surprise 21st birthday trip for her. Our stay at Hotel Drisco surpassed a all expectations and helped make a memorable occasion truly unforgettable.

Room Tip: A spectacular view from the fourth floor city view room that we inhabited
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Magifur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel Drisco and thought it was outstanding in every way. The location at the top of Pacific Heights and near the Presidio is unique. The staff is remarkably helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet is really amazing and beautifully presented. As is the nightly wine and cheese. The bed rooms and public rooms are elegant and understated . The information on what to do in the area is well thought out. The room service menu is limited but wonderfully good. I hesitated to write a review of the Drisco for fear it will become popular and will change. But this hotel is so outstanding it deserves to be recognized.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,076 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 228 in San Francisco
3,016 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 228 in San Francisco
955 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Drisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drisco

Property: Hotel Drisco
Address: 2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115-1011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Drisco 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Drisco, constructed in 1903, blends traditional elegance with the convenience, comfort, and amenities of a world-class modern hotel. The warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere, and impeccable service are designed to please business and leisure travelers alike. Complimentary services include a gourmet continental breakfast, evening wine reception, chauffeured sedan service to several popular San Francisco locations and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Drisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drisco Hotel San Francisco
Drisco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing