We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite hotel experiences of all time.”
Review of Hotel Drisco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Drisco
Ranked #1 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I love the Hotel Drisco. The staff was very friendly and I was upgraded to a room with a beautiful city view. The room itself was spacious enough and beautifully furnished with classic looking furniture. The bathroom was nice and I really enjoyed the morning breakfast.

As for location, it does not get any better. Some people may love being in the middle of the action, surrounded by thousands of other tourists, but I am not one of them. The Hotel sits on top of the ridge in Pacific Heights. It is an amazing place with beautiful homes. You are definitely away from the hordes of other tourists. Cow Hollow and the Marina District are down the hill with many neat little restaurants. You also have Fillmore to the east. Going up and down the hills can be a challenge, but great exercise. There is a beautiful park right near the hotel and the people were super-friendly. I had spent the last decade living in South Florida, which has the most unhappy people on Earth, so I was pleasantly surprised how friendly the people were in Pacific Heights.

The one drawback would be public transit. Taking the buses can be a tiring experience. I ended up mainly using cabs. I liked to walk down to the Marina and then take a cab back up the hill to the Hotel.

Room Tip: Getting a city view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Williebeamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

486 - 492 of 1,520 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

This is the perfect hotel if you want to have easy access to San Francisco without being in the city. The second you walk through the doors everything is taken care of. Complimentary wine, water, espressos and breakfast are all included. While the hotel is good for being quiet you do have to be prepared for a 10-15 minute taxi ride to the city so depending on what you're doing this may not be the hotel for you. The rooms are very well done without being over the top.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank megs0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The staff is superb - the hotel is a classic - the location is perfect - the neighborhood upscale (take the walking tour that the hotel provides) - breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese are provided. The afternoon wine is attended and presented by different members of the staff and each made our time tasting different wines fun. Don't skip the breakfast buffet - the pastries alone are worth the time.
We've been to a number of hotels in our travels and not one compares to the Drisco - I knew we were comfortable when after a long day of touring Monterey and Carmel my wife said let's head back home - that one word describes this hotel - it's home and the staff were like staying with family - thank you everyone for providing us with a perfect vacation. We will be back!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

I had heard that the food at the Disco was good but even I was shocked. Great breakfast lunch and dinner. Don't miss it. Also the service was amazing. Really nice and helpful staff. A very charming hotel. Would stay there any time I come to the Bay Area.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenjoyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We reserved a 2 bedroom suite expecting to have 4 people for a family event. We had an unexpected surprise and found out one of our daughters and her partner could now join us as well for this momentous occasion (Masters graduation ceremony). I requested to have the two people included in our reservation in a suite that has two bedrooms and a queen sized sofa bed. I was told unequivocally and in no uncertain terms that the room could only accommodate 5 adults. I wasn't told why, just that 5 was the limit. We've now had to adjust our plans and move to another location (Courtyard by MARRIOTT) which will make logistics more challenging. True customer service is finding a way, especially when a special occasion is involved. I was appalled at the way the hotel staff handled this situation. I understand rules, but sometimes they can be bent. This #1 rated hotel has now lost a potential future guest that has two families living in the local area. I guess that's not a problem for them though, they are #1 (and done!).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
9  Thank JoeandCherylB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest,

I regret that we are unable to accommodate six adults in our Two Bedroom Two Bathroom suite, but the maximum occupancy for that room is five adults. There are limits to occupancy in each of our different room types in order to maintain the safety, security and comfort of all of our guests.

I am very sorry you were disappointed and I hope you found agreeable accommodations elsewhere.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I are staying here for our anniversary weekend. Our room was upgraded to a suite and the room, city view and amenities are amazing! Great complimentary breakfast and wine hour, beautiful neighborhood and perfect location to access Union Square, Golden Gate bridge, Fisherman's wharf etc..we would happily stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Santos34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

As part of my 50th birthday treat we booked Hotel Drisco for 3 nights and from the date of booking until the time we were dropped off at the airport, the service was exceptional.
For small cost we were picked up and dropped off at the airport in a Lincoln Car and Julio the driver was amazing and so helpful and gave us lots of suggestions for things to do in SF. Also unlimited team & coffee in the lounge was a lovely touch as too was the cheese and wine in the evening. I could write forever, but readers would give up reading. This hotel oozes quality

Room Tip: Facing the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GoonerPaul1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
551 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,541 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#30 of 230 in San Francisco
3,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#4 of 230 in San Francisco
1,275 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#8 of 230 in San Francisco
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Drisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drisco

Address: 2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115-1011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £305 - £685 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Drisco 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Drisco, constructed in 1903, blends traditional elegance with the convenience, comfort, and amenities of a world-class modern hotel. The warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere, and impeccable service are designed to please business and leisure travelers alike. Complimentary services include a gourmet continental breakfast, evening wine reception, chauffeured sedan service to several popular San Francisco locations and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Drisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drisco Hotel San Francisco
Drisco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing