We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My first choice in SF, every time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Drisco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Drisco
Ranked #1 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“My first choice in SF, every time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

What can I say, this hotel never disappoints. Although due to it's Tripadvisor popularity it's been increasingly difficult to get a room here!
The location is peaceful and quiet in this Pacific Heights residential neighborhood.
I love (and hate) the Lyon Street stairs just a few blocks away, take a jog down the hill to the golden gate bridge along the coast, and do shopping nearby. It's along billionaire's row and if you like to walk and appreciate amazing architecture, you'll be thrilled. The vistas from the hotel and surrounding area are sublime.
As always, a wine reception, included breakfast, free wifi, and available street parking make it an excellent value. The rooms are spotless, the beds are heavenly, and the staff (who have been there for years) are professional, friendly, and warm.
I always feel like a VIP at the Hotel Drisco, thank you!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fmjmclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,204
    169
    35
    16
    12
See reviews for
271
758
56
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I will only ever stay at Hotel Drisco when I travel to San Francisco. Everything about this hotel was outstanding- the hotel staff was amazing- at check-in and check-out, when we were looking for directions or reservations, at breakfast and all other times.
Location: Its in the middle of the Heights neighborhood which was great if you like to walk in the morning- lots of scenic routes around some beautiful mansions and blocks away from Presidio park. There is an area of shops and restaurants about a mile away that was easy to walk to. Besides those areas, you do have to take a taxi most places.
Rooms: They told us the hotel is an old boarding house so it has a lot of character but it is very clean and updated. The sheets on the bed were so amazing that I asked if I could purchase them before we left! Also, they give you two bottles of water complimentary daily in your room and cookies at bedtime- I know that is a small thing but so appreciated! And the view from our room was spectacular!!!
Food: Complimentary breakfast was fresh and delicious and available early which I liked. Also, they always have water, tea and coffee available for free which is so nice.
Overall: I would definitely recommend Hotel Drisco and stay here again and again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tigerlily129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I stayed at Hotel Drisco for the first time with a few girlfriends in May and it was a fantastic experience. Hotel Drisco is tucked away on a quiet corner in Pacific Heights -- an excellent home base and place to explore the city from.
The hotel itself has a very upscale boutique feel. The rooms are very clean, well-appointed, with luxury furnishings. The beds were comfortable, the showers powerful. In terms of the room, I really have no complaints. We stayed in a suite, so we had a lovely sitting room with a pull-out sofa as well as the main bedroom, and it was very nicely sized. From what I gather the traditional rooms are a little small, so I'd advise going the suite route if you can. But really, the Hotel Drisco is exactly what I look for in a hotel.
Beyond the room, the staff was very nice and the attention to detail (especially when it comes to food) was superior. They offer a free breakfast spread every morning, as well as a "wine and cheese" happy hour in the evenings. These aren't your typical offerings, either - they really go above and beyond. Breakfast had everything from pastries to good quality sheep's milk yogurt to smoked salmon and hardboiled eggs and a nice variety of cheese and other spreads. They featured different wines for the wine and cheese every night, as well as a nice variety of cheese, fruits, and nuts.
I've stayed at a variety of other nice San Francisco Hotels (The Huntington Hotel, the W, etc...) and there is no doubt in my mind that the Hotel Drisco is the only place I'll stay from here on out. A truly wonderful place!

Room Tip: Go with a suite if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank katieL87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

This gem of a hotel was a delight from check-in to check-out. I took a run every morning in the Presidio which was just a couple of blocks away. The Drisco oozes old world charm and attitude. Upon check-in my city view King was upgraded to a suite. All the windows opened, top and bottom which gave us cross ventilation that provided a beautiful cool breeze all night long. Staff were lovely, attentive and professional. The neighborhood has good restaurants within walking the neighborhood which felt very safe and free of panhandlers.

We slept like babies.... the mattress very comfortable and the hotel quiet. Didn't hear anyone above or in the halls. Both Bob the concierge and Victor, the manager were very efficient and welcoming. They couldn't do enough to help us.

Room Tip: Third floor city view suite provides a great view and wonderful cross ventilation breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

The room was small but the hotel amenities and staff were awesome! Didn't like the extra taxes we had to pay since we didn't know about them when we booked. Also, the location was kind of out to the way. It's up on a hill so we had to cab it everywhere except to shop at Filmore street.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OCallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I love the Hotel Drisco. The staff was very friendly and I was upgraded to a room with a beautiful city view. The room itself was spacious enough and beautifully furnished with classic looking furniture. The bathroom was nice and I really enjoyed the morning breakfast.

As for location, it does not get any better. Some people may love being in the middle of the action, surrounded by thousands of other tourists, but I am not one of them. The Hotel sits on top of the ridge in Pacific Heights. It is an amazing place with beautiful homes. You are definitely away from the hordes of other tourists. Cow Hollow and the Marina District are down the hill with many neat little restaurants. You also have Fillmore to the east. Going up and down the hills can be a challenge, but great exercise. There is a beautiful park right near the hotel and the people were super-friendly. I had spent the last decade living in South Florida, which has the most unhappy people on Earth, so I was pleasantly surprised how friendly the people were in Pacific Heights.

The one drawback would be public transit. Taking the buses can be a tiring experience. I ended up mainly using cabs. I liked to walk down to the Marina and then take a cab back up the hill to the Hotel.

Room Tip: Getting a city view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Williebeamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

This is the perfect hotel if you want to have easy access to San Francisco without being in the city. The second you walk through the doors everything is taken care of. Complimentary wine, water, espressos and breakfast are all included. While the hotel is good for being quiet you do have to be prepared for a 10-15 minute taxi ride to the city so depending on what you're doing this may not be the hotel for you. The rooms are very well done without being over the top.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank megs0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,804 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#18 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,833 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Drisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drisco

Property: Hotel Drisco
Address: 2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115-1011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Drisco 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note that we are currently closed for renovations until July 1, 2017! The Hotel Drisco, constructed in 1903, blends traditional elegance with the convenience, comfort, and amenities of a world-class modern hotel. Our warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere, and impeccable service are designed to please business and leisure travelers alike. Our complimentary services include a gourmet continental breakfast, evening wine reception, chauffeured sedan service to several popular San Francisco locations and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Drisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drisco Hotel San Francisco
Drisco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing