We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant”
Review of Hotel Drisco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Drisco
Ranked #1 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Drisco over the 4th. We really loved it. Very "old-fashioned", down to the actual keys for the doors. Parking there was easy and free. The service was great, the staff available and approachable. Very quiet in a quiet neighborhood. Had a very private feel to it. A lot of little extras. My only complaint is that our bed was a bit firm for us, but otherwise the suite we had was great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

482 - 488 of 1,528 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

Always stay in the heart of the city. This was such a pleasant departure. Our room was a bit cozy, but spotless, quiet and really provided everything we needed. Great weekend brunch. Loved the neighborhood. Nice conversation with others during breakfast. Felt like I was in Europe! You won't be disappointed.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Just spent 5 nights with my spouse and adult son in a 2 bedroom suite at this lovely hotel. It was wonderful. The neighborhood is calm and beautiful; after a day's activities it's so nice to return to a pretty residential neighborhood. The morning breakfast buffet is served with great warmth by the staff; everything was fresh and delicious. The suite was spotless and the furniture well maintained and comfortable. We look forward to returning to this hotel soon.

We used taxis to get to and from the hotel, and to get around town, and it worked out much better then trying to drive and park a rental car.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LA_Phil50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Hotel Drisco fully deserves it's number 1 ranking on TA and the accolades from fellow reviewers. I just returned from a weekend there and while I visit SF often, staying here made this trip very special. First the Pacific Heights location is amazing. Surrounded by stately homes and mansions in a quiet residential area, Hotel Drisco provides an escape from the tourist craziness of the wharf or Union Square areas. A short distance away is Filmore Street where there are many restaurants and shops. The Lyon Street stairs a few blocks away provide a workout that will burn off any calories you consumed as you can descend to the Marina district and the bay from there.

Now for the Hotel itself. The staff is wonderful. They are warm and welcoming and every encounter from checkin to departure was gracious and helpful. There is 24 hour tea and coffee service off the lobby. The wine and cheese reception each evening in the downstairs dining area is fantastic with a fine selection of wines that change frequently and a selection of appetizers and cheeses that was equally fine. The young woman who managed this was friendly and helpful on both of our evenings there. The same room gets transformed into a breakfast buffet in the mornings and it is well stocked with a European style breakfast along with oatmeal, bagels and a variety of juices. Really excellent room as well.
Our actual hotel room was on the first floor. It was quiet, comfortable and very clean. The bathroom is roomy and stocked with Bulgari amenities. While the hotel doesn't have a restaurant or a bar they do offer 24 hour room service.
Overall I was really pleased and the hotel exceeded my expectations on all fronts. I can't wait to return and can't imagine staying anywhere else from now on.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bccrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I am 52 and have stayed in hotels on 5 continents over 30 years. The Drisco is the best I have stayed in by some margin. I can rave about everything - but will highlight only one - the people. In this age of metronomes where hotel staff are taught even to answer the phone by a script of pure drivel, the staff at Drisco are genuine, warm and funny. Special thanks to Bob!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NBC62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We continue to stay at the Hotel Drisco when visiting SF. It is a little more expensive than alternative places but we are always glad we splurged just a little. Very comfortable and attractive rooms in a beautiful building among some of the most impressive and interesting homes in SF. The staff pays great attention to detail in cleanliness and amenities. The evening wine tasting is a great way to wind down or get ready to hit the town. The breakfast is an excellent continental style affair that starts the day out perfect. Having coffee in the sitting room with the sun coming in is splendid.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Broderick may have some traffic noise, but minimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

What can I say, this hotel never disappoints. Although due to it's Tripadvisor popularity it's been increasingly difficult to get a room here!
The location is peaceful and quiet in this Pacific Heights residential neighborhood.
I love (and hate) the Lyon Street stairs just a few blocks away, take a jog down the hill to the golden gate bridge along the coast, and do shopping nearby. It's along billionaire's row and if you like to walk and appreciate amazing architecture, you'll be thrilled. The vistas from the hotel and surrounding area are sublime.
As always, a wine reception, included breakfast, free wifi, and available street parking make it an excellent value. The rooms are spotless, the beds are heavenly, and the staff (who have been there for years) are professional, friendly, and warm.
I always feel like a VIP at the Hotel Drisco, thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fmjmclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 231 in San Francisco
5,577 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#3 of 231 in San Francisco
563 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#4 of 231 in San Francisco
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#31 of 231 in San Francisco
3,622 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#9 of 231 in San Francisco
1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Drisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drisco

Address: 2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115-1011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £310 - £731 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Drisco 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Drisco, constructed in 1903, blends traditional elegance with the convenience, comfort, and amenities of a world-class modern hotel. The warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere, and impeccable service are designed to please business and leisure travelers alike. Complimentary services include a gourmet continental breakfast, evening wine reception, chauffeured sedan service to several popular San Francisco locations and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Drisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drisco Hotel San Francisco
Drisco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing