We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel with service to match” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Drisco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Drisco
Ranked #1 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
norfolk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Hotel with service to match”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2010

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Drisco for 4 nights in the beginning of June. We booked the hotel based on recommendations from other Trip Advisor reviews. It is a wonderful hotel. The staff is very gracious and very professional. They will go out of their way to make your stay most comfortable. Our spotless room was very nice with a large bathroom. Storage space was adequate. Every morning there is an elegant buffet breakfast (included with the room) served in the dining room. The buffet tables were always attended to so that they were well stocked and clean and neat. Espresso and capuccino were available. Classical music plays in the background to help set the classy ambience. Newspapers (various local and national) were available. Also, the local paper was delivered to our room daily. In the evening, from 5:30-6:30, complimentary wine and cheese were served by the tuxedoed butler. A great way to start your evening before exploring SF and its amazing restaurants. The hotel is located in an exclusive area called Pacific Heights. It is a very quiet area with numerous elegant homes. It sits atop the hill with terrific views. Street parking is readily available as we had a car and had no problems parking. We took the car with us every day but if you leave a car there during the day note that there are time limits. 2-3 hour parking zones require that the car be moved. The front desk will move your car for you if you leave it. Just sign a waiver allowing them to do this. This is a great perk to have as an option. Public buses are very reliable and close by.
Hotel Drisco is a gem of a hotel. We look forward to future visits to SF and most definitely our stay at Hotel Drisco.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poroke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,204
    169
    35
    16
    12
See reviews for
271
758
56
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2010

Staff was very courteous. The front desk services all-encompassing and friendly. Helpful with cab service during rush hour. Concierge brochures outstanding and most helpful. Breakfast and cocktail hour very nice, casual. Loved the selection, wine, and h'ors d'oeuvres. Loved the view from the corner suite window: tip of Coit Tower and Pyramid Building. Loved walking almost everywhere. Saw the Parrots of Telegraph in Pacific Heights, quiet residential neighborhood; what fun!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karen3459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2010

My husband and I lived in San Francisco many years ago and travel back every few years. We usually stay in the downtown area but decided to give Hotel Drisco in Pacific Heights a try this time. (My first trip to San Francisco was a very long time ago, I was quite young, and stayed at the then-called El Drisco Hotel; the years have been kind to this hotel and it is much better now than it was back "in the day.")

Our room was lovely, quite upscale and very comfortable. The bathroom was huge. The bathrobes, slippers and bath products were all great. The closet (with safe) was large. Best of all was the service. From check-in to check-out , everyone who works there was helpful, kind and not pretentious (a plus in our book). The breakfast and wine hour were both great in lovely surroundings. Another huge plus was the way the staff moved our rental car when necessary so that we wouldn't be ticketed!

Since the hotel is not air conditioned, it would have been problemmatic if the city had been hot (an unusual but not unheard of occurence). As it were, it was usual San Francisco weather while we were there...quite cool and rainy. (The hotel let us borrow an umbrella, which was helpfun.)

The location is wonderful but residential. The neighborhood is very upscale, beautiful homes, gorgeous views but not within easy walking distance to restaurants, shops, movies, etc. A car or cab is necessary for going to these activities.

Would we stay here again? Most definitely, and we highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LNG7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut Yankee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2010

We just came back from three nights at The Drisco and it was everything everyone said it was. Service was great from check in to check out and there were many wonderful small touches. Coffee to go as we began our daily treks all over the City and scented ice water on our return. The neighborhood was great, but it is off the beaten path. For us this was a plus, we had been to San Francisco several times and wanted to stay in a different area. We were so happy we did otherwise we may not have experienced the incredible homes and breathtaking views. The breakfast was great, lots of choices, fresh and really convenient.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alipeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

Stayed for 4 nights at this boutique hotel after its reviews in Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed and after a 20 hour journey from the UK we were picked by Roberto at the airport and were welcomed by hot refreshing towels at reception. A personalisd hand written note from the management and a welcome gift only added to our welcome.
The hotel is located in a very pleasant residential area, outside of the city centre, but the hotel offer complimentary limo. service to Union Sq. in the early morning. Getting back can be via taxi or the superb public transport system. ALL the staff were superb in offering advice on local restaurants, local transport to and from the hotel - particular mentions of Julio and Roberto.
The early evening wine and cheese tasting was a bonus and an opportunity to get to know and meet other visitors.
We can only reiterate what others have said - this is a small hotel with great staff that really make you feel welcome

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tetley62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2010

I can't say enough good things about our recent stay at the Drisco. There is much to enjoy at this hotel--- but it really stands out for its staff, service, location (incredible views).

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WatergirlEvanston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2010

One doesn't know where to start telling all the good things about this hotel. It's seriously a no-brainer for SF - location is hard to beat and the hotel is worth every penny you pay for your stay. If I knew where to buy the mattress we had in our room, I'd do it right now, no joke.

I am a picky hotel guest, and Drisco exceeded my expectations and then some!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sadeja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,804 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#18 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,835 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Drisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drisco

Property: Hotel Drisco
Address: 2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115-1011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Drisco 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note that we are currently closed for renovations until July 1, 2017! The Hotel Drisco, constructed in 1903, blends traditional elegance with the convenience, comfort, and amenities of a world-class modern hotel. Our warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere, and impeccable service are designed to please business and leisure travelers alike. Our complimentary services include a gourmet continental breakfast, evening wine reception, chauffeured sedan service to several popular San Francisco locations and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Drisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drisco Hotel San Francisco
Drisco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing