We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must stay here”
Review of Hotel Drisco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Drisco
Ranked #1 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“You must stay here”
Reviewed 9 October 2010

What a beautiful hotel with lovely homely touches and such friendly helpful staff. It is very well priced too.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WallisKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,227
    169
    35
    16
    12
See reviews for
274
773
59
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

A remarkable hotel, elegantly appointed in a beautiful and quiet neighborhood. Extremely helpful treatment from Bob the doorman on arrival - although he was busy behind reception on our departure.

The room was tastefully decorated with pastel walls and drapes and a very comfortable bed. Sadly there was a big drawback as the bathroom was across a corridor used by the occupants of Room 204A. This was not mentioned at check-in or adequately explained by Bob. Frankly we found it unacceptable not to have an en suite bathroom in a quality hotel, although the positives of the hotel helped balance our disappointment.

The complimentary continental breakfast was served in another beautiful room, tables nicely spaced with subdued classical music, quality food and freshly-squeezed orange juice - though no other fruit.

Although Pacific Heights is at the top of a steep hill, the walk down to the Marina district is not far and is rewarded by the views to the Bay and wonderful homes along the way, there were even kids selling lemonade at one corner. Check-out Chestnut street for interesting shops and restaurants, before the Marina.

The Drisco has the look and feel of a classic hotel from an earlier era, it exudes charm and quality and should not disappoint. We wouldn't hestiate to return (though not to room 204B).

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chacann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2010

We were traveling with our teenage son and daughter. We arrived late at night. The rooms had only one bed so my daughter and I shared one and my husband and son reluctantly shared another. We planned to move the next day. However, the rooms were so luxurious we stayed 2 nights as planned. The rooms were a bit small, but very comfortable. The bathrooms were wonderful. We planned on eating at Sears, our traditional breakfast place in San Francisco. The breakfast buffet does not have a large selection as we are accustomed. Many of the guests are European. In fact, the breakfast buffet is a very European breakfast.However, the items there were so delicious we stayed and ate there both days. Lattes and cappuccino's are free. The dining area is beautiful, modeled like an elegant living room.
Caution, not all of the rooms have attached bathrooms. If you make reservations in advance make sure you get attached bathrooms. If you don't get one, each room comes with a bathrobe and slippers. The unattached bathrooms are private, assigned to each room.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

The hotel is situated in a residential area away from the noise of the city yet near enough for an easy commute. The staff are very polite and friendly and are always there to offer advice nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are very clean with lovely decor and spacious bathrooms. The selection at breakfast was very good, and the evening cheese and wine added a really special touch before going out to dine.
All in all an excellent hotel and we would certainly recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizburden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Part of a 2 week California tour we spent 3 nights at the Drisco and then 1 night at Union Square hotel at the end of our trip and we much preferred the Drisco on every level.

Whilst you might not be near the main shopping area at the Drisco there is more than enough locally to entertain and it's in a beautiful neighbourhood in SF, where you will feel less like a tourist. There are better restaurants, shops and bars on Fillmore st and Union st (which are close by) and it's within walking distance of the water for amazing views of the Bay and the Golden Gate.

The hotel itself is elegant and understated. Breakfast included and a wine reception in the afternoon is also a nice touch. Finally the staff are excellent. All very helpful and friendly. A special mention must go to "Bob" who will plan you a walk, dinner, brunch, anything you want.

Only one negative is that we had a room in the basement which was a lovely room but no view, but you can get that anywhere. I won't stay anywhere else if I go back to San Fran!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C8282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2010

We are an english couple who stayed here from 6th September for thee nights. This was the first of six stops around California and Nevada and it was the best. We stayed in a variety of hotels including a large one in las Vegas and taking into account style comfort and service hotel Drisco came out top. We have stayed in San Francisco several times and wanted an area away from the tourists. This was an area that was quiet and elegant with beautiful houses and parks around. We always check out all we can about the hotel and area so we know what to expect. Our room was on the top floof and had views over the city. The room was large, quiet and comfortable. My husband was very surprised at the quality of the frr wine and the breakfast was excellent. The staff were always helpful and we will certainly recommend the hotel to others.






we

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lancing1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2010

My husband and I took relatives from out of town to the Hotel Drisco. All four of us loved the entire experience. The rooms were lovely, the location quiet and away from the bustle of down town. We were treated as if we were the most special of guests. We will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chatoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,232 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#20 of 229 in San Francisco
3,200 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#8 of 229 in San Francisco
1,070 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Drisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drisco

Property: Hotel Drisco
Address: 2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115-1011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Drisco 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Drisco, constructed in 1903, blends traditional elegance with the convenience, comfort, and amenities of a world-class modern hotel. The warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere, and impeccable service are designed to please business and leisure travelers alike. Complimentary services include a gourmet continental breakfast, evening wine reception, chauffeured sedan service to several popular San Francisco locations and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Drisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drisco Hotel San Francisco
Drisco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing