We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Galleria Park Hotel
Ranked #25 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 3 nights.

This was a lovely hotel in a perfect location just close to union square.

The staff were very nice and helpful. Room was lovely and very clean.

There was a wine hour every evening where you could sit at reception at the lobby and have complimentary wine. It gave you a chance to speak to other people and mingle also.

Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steph0611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,182 - 1,188 of 2,146 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2013

Beautiful and very cosy hotel with a great atmosphere and very kind and helpful staff.
We stayed in a deluxe room with two double beds with a three-year-old and an infant. It was a bit cramped but worked okay. However, we missed having a bath tub for the kids. Very well cleaned and tidy.
The park terrace on the 3rd floor was great for playing and for a quick, sleep-inducing walk with the stroller.
Great location. The Yerba Buena Garden with playground and Children's Creativity Museum ("Zeum") is only a short walk away.
On the downside: Wifi was quite slow and the bed was only average (too soft in our opinion). Would have loved a breakfast restaurant in the hotel but the coffee shop / café in the building was fine.
Very good overall impression. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annesjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Great location, comfortable bed, a little noisy over night due to construction in the building opposite but that said I would definitely return, the staff were lovely. Negatives, expensive parking but thats just San Francisco!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I stayed at the Galleria Park Hotel while at a work conference in San Fran. The hotel has a great location and was within walking distance to all activities (work and liesure). The room was well kept and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was on the small size - but the shower was very relaxing. I especially enjoyed the wine hour from 530-630 every evening. The front desk was extremely helpful, friendly and attentive. Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms facing courtyard may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on a family holiday for 3 night over Christmas.

The hotel is clean and modern and is a lovely environment. Although the gym was disappointing.

It is in a great location to walk around SF and the staff were really helpful with directions and advise!

We especially enjoyed the wine tasting hour!

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bethan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

I stayed at the Galleria Park for two evenings and had a wonderful experience. It is close to many attractions and close to good transportation. The staff made me feel like I was at home. And, they personally helped me with all my questions and needs. The staff was exceptional, the rooms were comfortable and the ambience felt historical. I will stay here again and will recommend this hotel to all my friends. Sincerely, Ron

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin S, Director of Operations at Galleria Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Dear Ronald K.,
Thank you so much for the amazing 5 Star review on TripAdvisor! We are thrilled to hear that you found our "gem" of a hotel to be a wonderful experience. We really strive to provide that "home away from home" feeling. We cannot wait to welcome you or any of your friends back to Galleria Park Hotel. I would love for an opportunity to thank you for in person.
Best regards,
Kevin Scott
kscott@jdvhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

The hotel is in a good location for exploring SF on foot and this was the prime reason for selecting this hotel. The lobby and rooms are clean and at a luxury level that fits the price (nothing special but comfortable).

However - the service is appalling. The check in:
- it took a good 5-7 minutes to check us in from the point of it being our turn
- a lot of questions for things that are available in the booking already
- very rude and uninterested

This experience was consistent also with check-out and other front desk contact (other staff was better trained). During our stay we heard several guests with the same complaints - reason I am aware of this is that the check in experience was the topic of conversation in the elevator for every new arrival.

So in short I am finding the rating difficult - objectivly:
- price/quality is good
- location is good
- rooms are nice
Which would make it a 4* - however the staff would rather not have you in their hotel. And given it is called the 'hospitality' industry I think this warants a reduction of star.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esploratore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin S, Director of Operations at Galleria Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Dear Esploratore,
Thank you so much for your recent TripAdvisor review. I am sorry to hear that you found our Front Desk staff to be unfriendly and disengaged. After speaking with my team, I truly believe that this was a one-time incident as we pride ourselves on providing genuine, personalized service to all of our guests. Please know that our team was very disheartened and sorry that they failed to meet your expectations.
Additionally, we have had some new additions to our team since your stay with us last November and I believe their contributions have assisted in improving our overall service.
Again, thank you for your time and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to the Galleria Park Hotel in the future.
If I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at kscott@jdvhotels.com
Best regards,
Kevin Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#21 of 230 in San Francisco
1,507 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#31 of 230 in San Francisco
883 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#12 of 230 in San Francisco
2,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,364 reviews
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#15 of 230 in San Francisco
361 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#5 of 230 in San Francisco
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galleria Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galleria Park Hotel

Address: 191 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94104-4595
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £139 - £465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Galleria Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of San Francisco, Galleria Park gives you easy access to everything the Bay Area has to offer to its visitors. The hotel is located with easy access to the Bay Area's central transit systems of BART, MUNI and the fabled cable cars. Within blocks are Union Square, Chinatown, the Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, and several world-class museums. The hotel is just steps away from world-class shopping destinations in Union Square--an area that is definitely a tribute to the power of shopping. Saks Fifth Avenue, Neiman Marcus, Barneys New York, Gump's and a very substantial Macy's are right on the Union Square. The venerable Bullock and Jones and Tiffany and Co. are within walking distance, as is the nine-story Westfield San Francisco Shopping Centre with its three-level Nordstrom and Bloomingdale's. It is also a center for exclusive couture and high fashion, with boutiques dedicated to Betsey Johnson, Kate Spade, Herve Leger, Karen Miller, and Michael Kors. Post Street, which is a block away from Galleria Park is where the high-end stores are located including Ralph Lauren, Ferragamo, Juicy Couture, Tory Burch, Ferrari and Porsche clothing stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Galleria Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galleria Park, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel San Francisco
Galleria Park San Francisco
Galleria Park Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing