We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay in the heart of San Francisco” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galleria Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Galleria Park Hotel
Ranked #33 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay in the heart of San Francisco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I absolutely loved my stay in this classy, hip, and modern boutique hotel! Service was excellent -- front desk was always so helpful. Because it's a smaller hotel, I felt they paid better attention to my needs -- and were always prompt if I ever needed anything. What I loved most was hotel's proximity to all the great shops, Union Square, Chinatown -- all located less than 5 minutes from the hotel! Also, tons of cute restaurants/bars right near the hotel. Perfect stay, perfect location. It also felt good to support a hotel that cares so much about the environment.

Green Features: It felt good to support a hotel that cares so much about the environment.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizcas7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    943
    706
    186
    45
    21
See reviews for
315
711
129
438
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

This was my first time to stay in a boutique hotel and I was very pleased! The location alone is worth the price of a night's stay especially since I wanted to be car-free during my visit. Every place that I wanted to go to in the city was within walking distance - Union Square, Chinatown, shopping district, museums, and restaurants. Cable car stations are nearby, and the BART is only 2 blocks away.

The hotel lobby is gorgeously decorated, yet inviting. The courtyard/terrace on the third floor was a welcome surprise. I love the gardens and seeing some greenery while relaxing on one of the benches. I even enjoyed my late afternoon complimentary glass of wine up on the terrace!

Rooms with 2 full size beds are a bit small, but still cozy and inviting. What matters most is that the rooms are clean, and the bed was comfy. Service was great and every staff member I met since day 1 were nice and friendly. Yes, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who's looking into staying in the heart of the city!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Our entire Board of Directors and VIP Guests stayed at the Galleria Park Hotel this weekend and had a fantastic experience. From reservations to check-in to room service we were greeted with the greatest warmth and hospitality. The rooms were beautiful and well appointed. They even accommodated special needs for my family. Also, the location of the hotel is very central to many of the things you would want to see in SF. Close to shopping, theater and great restaurants... it's great to walk around the neighborhood and enjoy some of the best of SF!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath3rine2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
132 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Generally speaking if a hotel has the word "boutique" in its description this means expect overpriced and old and this hotel certainly can claim this. Nice renovated bathrooms but old doors that require a real key (real keys still exist..?), very slow and constantly disconnecting wifi, no central heating and no thermostat in the room means constant manual operating of the AC. Yes it is quaint with its fireplace in the lobby, and the location is good if you want CBD access, but really for the price just stay elsewhere.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nickcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalleriaHotelGM, General Manager at Galleria Park Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Nickcom,

I would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Feedback, such as yours, is the best way to improve the hotels service standards and amenities.

I want to truly apologize for the issues that you encountered during your stay and that we did not meet your expectations. I am not quite sure what you meant with an old key as all our guestrooms have electronic locks. We also recently upgraded our WiFi network by adding access points throughout the building and increasing the bandwidth 3x faster. I'm sorry that your experience with our WiFi was not parallel to what we were trying to achieve with our network upgrade.

While we make every attempt to ensure that all guests receive a truly warm and unique experience and a comfortable room, it is apparent that that did not occur in this case and for that I truly apologize.

Thank you again for your feedback and should you return to the area, I would very much like to have you stay with us and give us another chance – if you do, would you please let me know once you have made your reservation, as I would like to personally make sure that we provide you with a better accommodation prior to your arrival.

If there is anything else I can do, or if you would like to discuss further, please do not hesitate and I would be happy to assist.

Best Regards,


James Lim
jlim@jdvhotels.com
415-835-6473
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights on a road trip and enjoyed our stay. As ever Tripadvisor was invaluable in helping us to choose hotel and request room.

Pros - amazing location, very helpful staff, nightly wine hour, lovely comfy bed and clean, well presented room. Ours was smaller than other US rooms ( as expected in San Fran), but had free wifi and was cool and quiet ( requested internal room based on other feedback).

Con - expensive valet parking (again perhaps as expected in SF).

Would we stay again? Yes. Definitely.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fi-W-Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalleriaHotelGM, General Manager at Galleria Park Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Fi-W-Scotland,

Thank you for taking the time to share the pros and cons of staying in our hotel, based on your recent experience.

We are very lucky to have one of the best locations in San Francisco, just a few steps away from Union Square, Chinatown and other major sights. More importantly, I am very pleased to hear that you liked our staff as it's what I personally value the most. It's also wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our amenities, including our nightly wine hour, our beds, the overall presentation of the room and our recently upgraded WiFi.

I am sorry to hear that you found our valet parking charge expensive. I agree that due to limited parking spaces in the City, hotels and parking garages charge a premium rate. We recently shopped the cost of overnight, valet parking in other hotels in the City and our rate is actually less expensive than the average.

Thank you for taking the time to share your views about our hotel. I am looking forward to welcoming you back to San Francisco someday.

Sincerely,


James Lim
jlim@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

I was a guest at the Galleria hotel last week while in San Francisco for business. On the night before my departure I lost my wallet while at dinner. I had to leave the hotel at 5am for the airport to catch my flight. I did not have any cash or credit cards with me to get to the airport. Jesse Huggins was at the front desk that morning and was able to assist me. He tried to get a car to take me with the credit card on file. When that didn’t work he gave me his metro card out of his pocket and an additional $10 of his own money so I could get to the airport to catch my flight. I really can’t thank him enough for all the help he provided and found it incredible that he went so far out of his way to help me out of the jam I was in. This kind of customer service is almost non-existant these days.

(They also have a free wine hour in the evening with some really nice local wines and the location is perfect)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank E A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

I had an amazing stay at the Galleria Park Hotel. The showers were amazing and I did not want to stop showering. I was excited for the next shower as well. I highly recommend this hotel for those of the fancy genre.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Romie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#16 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#22 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,826 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galleria Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galleria Park Hotel

Property: Galleria Park Hotel
Address: 191 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94104-4595
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Galleria Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of San Francisco, Galleria Park gives you easy access to everything the Bay Area has to offer to its visitors. The hotel is located with easy access to the Bay Area's central transit systems of BART, MUNI and the fabled cable cars. Within blocks are Union Square, Chinatown, the Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, and several world-class museums. The hotel is just steps away from world-class shopping destinations in Union Square--an area that is definitely a tribute to the power of shopping. Saks Fifth Avenue, Neiman Marcus, Barneys New York, Gump's and a very substantial Macy's are right on the Union Square. The venerable Bullock and Jones and Tiffany and Co. are within walking distance, as is the nine-story Westfield San Francisco Shopping Centre with its three-level Nordstrom and Bloomingdale's. It is also a center for exclusive couture and high fashion, with boutiques dedicated to Betsey Johnson, Kate Spade, Herve Leger, Karen Miller, and Michael Kors. Post Street, which is a block away from Galleria Park is where the high-end stores are located including Ralph Lauren, Ferragamo, Juicy Couture, Tory Burch, Ferrari and Porsche clothing stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel and TravelUp so you can book your Galleria Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galleria Park, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel San Francisco
Galleria Park San Francisco
Galleria Park Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing