We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Courtyard Room for a great night's sleep.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Galleria Park Hotel
Ranked #35 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This hotel in an older building has been nicely refurbished. If you want a great night's sleep, ask for a courtyard room. It's not so much a courtyard, and not a great view, but very quiet. The marble staircases are in excellent condition and give a clue to the age of the original building.

Great, friendly, helpful service, rooms in good condition (if a bit small), and in a great location.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FairButHarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,033 - 1,039 of 2,250 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed here for a couple night on a business trip. Loved this hotel. Great rooms, great decor and an excellent location. The best part thought was the service, very efficient and very friendly.Will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusyTraveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stayed here for one week, I really enjoyed it and would definitely come back - great for couples. Very comfortable and welcoming hotel. Situated very centrally , a lot can be visited by foot, but with some noise like anywhere else downtown. Close to Union Sq and Embarcadero

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutchspirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Recently stayed here for a long weekend in the city and was very pleased. The room and bathroom were small, but were well appointed, clean, and comfortable. Since I don't spend much time hanging around the room (much more interested in being out in the city) the size didn't bother me much. Plus, it was so central to everything it made getting around on public transportation super easy. I would stay here again, for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed here for several nights in May 2013- it probably would have been better for a one or two night stay as the rooms are really tiny.

What we liked:
-Very much dog-friendly (though we didn't see many other dogs during our stay), the walking track is perfect for taking your dog out and we used it quite a bit.
-Location is great (quick walk to Union Sq, Chinatown, etc)
- Decor is nice, updated.
- Morning complementary coffee/tea (a little tough to find on a mezzanine level above the lobby)
-Wine hour: this definitely got busy, but a really nice touch!
- Front desk service was great-- the girl we spoke with really went out of her way to make recommendations for restaurants and called to get us reservations.

What we disliked:
-Our room was SO small. Maybe we were in a particularly small room, or maybe they're generally that tiny (?) We are not snobs about size of hotel rooms (have backpacked Europe, so used to tiny rooms and bathrooms) but this room was tough to manage. We had to step over our luggage to get on bed, and when in the room the only real option was sitting on the bed.
- Didn't quite measure up to other JDV experiences.
- The internal (?) courtyard view we had was quiet, which was a plus, but not so pretty to look out at.
-At the time we visited, no restaurant on site (I think they were maybe renovating).. but there is a good cafe right on the corner, so not a huge deal.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KEMP527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalleriaHotelGM, General Manager at Galleria Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Kemp527,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review online.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our services and amenities. With regards to the size of our rooms, we have several room configurations (some rooms are average in size, some are larger). As a historical, boutique hotel, we don't have the large bathrooms either. However, with our recent multi-million dollar renovation, we tried to maximize the space.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best,

James Lim
General Manager
jlim@jdvhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

A great location, reasonable price, clean comfortable rooms ,and a friendly, helpful staff makes this my favorite place to stay in San Francisco. Have coffee in the morning on the third floor park, and complimentary nightly wine hour in the lobby. We will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pvan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalleriaHotelGM, General Manager at Galleria Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay at The Galleria Park Hotel San Francisco.

We are delighted to hear that you had an exceptional experience with us. I appreciate your kind words about our staff and I am pleased that you enjoyed your location, rooms and amenities.

We look forward to your return visit to the Galleria Park, your "home" in San Francisco. Please do not hesitate to contact me prior to your arrival if there's anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable.

Sincerely,

James Lim
General Manager
jlim@jdvhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The room is small like most hotels in downtown San Francisco, but the staff made me feel cared for as if I were family. The location is amazing. It was a little noisy so you want to ask for room away from the street. I found it a good value for the price.

Room Tip: Higher up and away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Covisioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#36 of 230 in San Francisco
619 reviews
The Alise - A Staypineapple Hote...
#12 of 230 in San Francisco
674 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,544 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#53 of 230 in San Francisco
571 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#31 of 230 in San Francisco
3,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galleria Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galleria Park Hotel

Address: 191 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94104-4595
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £167 - £511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Galleria Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of San Francisco, Galleria Park gives you easy access to everything the Bay Area has to offer to its visitors. The hotel is located with easy access to the Bay Area's central transit systems of BART, MUNI and the fabled cable cars. Within blocks are Union Square, Chinatown, the Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, and several world-class museums. The hotel is just steps away from world-class shopping destinations in Union Square--an area that is definitely a tribute to the power of shopping. Saks Fifth Avenue, Neiman Marcus, Barneys New York, Gump's and a very substantial Macy's are right on the Union Square. The venerable Bullock and Jones and Tiffany and Co. are within walking distance, as is the nine-story Westfield San Francisco Shopping Centre with its three-level Nordstrom and Bloomingdale's. It is also a center for exclusive couture and high fashion, with boutiques dedicated to Betsey Johnson, Kate Spade, Herve Leger, Karen Miller, and Michael Kors. Post Street, which is a block away from Galleria Park is where the high-end stores are located including Ralph Lauren, Ferragamo, Juicy Couture, Tory Burch, Ferrari and Porsche clothing stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Galleria Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galleria Park, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel San Francisco
Galleria Park San Francisco
Galleria Park Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing