We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure I get the glowing reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Galleria Park Hotel
Ranked #31 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
NY NY
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not sure I get the glowing reviews”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

In short, the rooms at the Galleria Park were too small and a little dingy for the price paid. I stayed in a room witih my two children, and we had no room to walk. The bathroom is similarly small. If I stayed on my own, my experience might have been different.

I also found that there was a disconnect between the lobby (nicely appointed), and the rooms. The first room we were assigned had a musty Lysol smell, and I had to ask to be changed. The 2nd room was better, but still smelled a little stale.

Our street-side room was *very* noisy. During our recent stay, the restaurant was closed, so we had to order in food, which took way too long.

I will say that service is very good. All in all, this is an ok hotel, but should be at a lower price point.

Room Tip: Avoid a street-side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trappedinfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,031 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,019
    742
    200
    49
    21
See reviews for
339
754
141
476
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I adore this hotel! Small enough to be intimate; yet large enough to offer fine appointments - The Galleria Park Hotel is 'just right.' I've stayed there nearly a dozen times (for work) and found the hotel to be my 'home away from home'. The rooms are cozy and inviting; and, the recent bathroom remodel well done. From the warm greeting, at check-in, to the wine reception every evening.....ahhhhhh is all I have to say. Only about 3 blocks from Union Square shoping and resturants abound. I highly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieHara, Manager at Galleria Park Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Chris K -

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay! I am so glad that we have become your "home away from home"! We look forward to welcoming you home again soon!

Safe travels,
Katie Hara
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Just returned from 4 nights at the Galleria Park. We discovered the hotel through The Joie de Vivre website. We booked a great deal at a significant discount. So happy we discovered this wonderful hotel! Here are the reasons we loved our stay.

- Great location! A short walk from the BART and buses. Centrally located for all attractions
- Good neighborhood
- Exceptional staff- always available and willing to go the extra mile
- Clean well appointed rooms and bathrooms
- Newly renovated
- A/C in rooms

We would stay here again in a heartbeat. A simply delightful stay. And again, cannot say enough about the staff. They were all genuinely friendly and took time to see to any needs we had.

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We had an inside room so that cut down on street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KL_Hedberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My family was extremely pleased with our stay. The location is perfect as it's close to almost everything. The service is great and the rooms have a very luxurious feel. It's very convenient that Bread & Cocoa is right next to the hotel so that we can go there for breakfast. I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChocoNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We've stayed at the Galleria Park Hotel about four times over the last five years. Each visit has been great. The staff has been very professional and the rooms have always been maintained well. The location is great; walking distance to the Ferry Building and Union Square. We've stayed at other hotels in Union Square and still return to the Galleria Park Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank proncis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

After lots of research we found this little gem in the city of chaos.
The rooms where very clean and well appointed.
We found the hotel to be very peaceful.
The location was excellent. Close to all the places you want to be.
Excellent coffee shop next door.
The staff where amazing nothing was to much trouble. 10/10 for customer service
I would recommend this hotel to anybody wanting a relaxing and stress free time in San Francisco
We will return some day.

Room Tip: Cost to the court yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simtel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I stayed here on a business trip and was really impressed with the entire experience. Within walking distance from Bart, great restaurants and the Wharf. The hotel is exceptional for the price. You can use the elevator or walk the beautiful marble stairs. There is a fireplace in the lobby that you can enjoy while sipping your glass of free wine during happy hour. The staff is really friendly addressing you as you enter or leave. The room I stayed in was so cozy. I loved the ambiance! Made me want to move to San Francisco!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cosmomischa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#20 of 229 in San Francisco
1,439 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,760 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#19 of 229 in San Francisco
841 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#35 of 229 in San Francisco
2,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galleria Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galleria Park Hotel

Property: Galleria Park Hotel
Address: 191 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94104-4595
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Galleria Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of San Francisco, Galleria Park gives you easy access to everything the Bay Area has to offer to its visitors. The hotel is located with easy access to the Bay Area's central transit systems of BART, MUNI and the fabled cable cars. Within blocks are Union Square, Chinatown, the Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, and several world-class museums. The hotel is just steps away from world-class shopping destinations in Union Square--an area that is definitely a tribute to the power of shopping. Saks Fifth Avenue, Neiman Marcus, Barneys New York, Gump's and a very substantial Macy's are right on the Union Square. The venerable Bullock and Jones and Tiffany and Co. are within walking distance, as is the nine-story Westfield San Francisco Shopping Centre with its three-level Nordstrom and Bloomingdale's. It is also a center for exclusive couture and high fashion, with boutiques dedicated to Betsey Johnson, Kate Spade, Herve Leger, Karen Miller, and Michael Kors. Post Street, which is a block away from Galleria Park is where the high-end stores are located including Ralph Lauren, Ferragamo, Juicy Couture, Tory Burch, Ferrari and Porsche clothing stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Galleria Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galleria Park, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel San Francisco
Galleria Park San Francisco
Galleria Park Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing