We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in the city of San Francisco”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Galleria Park Hotel
Ranked #33 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location in the city of San Francisco”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We spent two nights at the Galleria Park as part of a large trip to California. This location was great for walking to the Ferry Building--probably 15 minute walk. We also walked to Chinatown from here.
The hotel is in an area of older buildings but the interior has been updated and the bathroom in our room was very modern and clean. The rooms were rather small, but it seems in each older hotel we have found this to be true.
There is a wine reception in the evening and free coffee in the morning.
The price is rather steep, as it was at all of the convenient San Francisco locations. After we traveled for a couple of weeks, we were back at a different location in San Francisco near the wharf--- this hotel was much nicer!
I wouldn't bother with a car in San Francisco because parking is horrible, so expensive and rarely available.
No pool.

Room Tip: I don't think room selection matters. I overheard the front desk guy telling a man who asked fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol_nurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    990
    734
    198
    49
    21
See reviews for
333
741
136
464
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Very pleasant boutique style hotel--nice front desk staff, small but well appointed room with nice amenities (including keurig coffee maker, free wifi, robe). The location couldn't be beat, and the evening wine was a nice touch. I am knocking off one star, because the first night I was awakened several times by the sound of trash being dumped right outside my window--and I was on the 5th floor! To their credit, when I let the front desk know the following morning, they immediately suggested moving me to a room facing the inner courtyard on a high floor to provide the most natural light. That room was very quiet, and I totally enjoyed the rest of my stay. I'd stay there again--but be sure to request an inner courtyard room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the inner courtyard on a high floor for a quiet stay. Avoid the rooms facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Arrived a bit tired after driving up from LA and it was a relief to see the helpful valet who very kindly looked after the car while we got swiftly checked in and then we retrieved it to return it to the hire company. The hotel is very clean with excellent fixtures and fittings. The bathrooms were particularly impressive with a lovely large shower. The hotel does have a bit of an 'executive feel' about it but it is extremely comfortable. The hotel is well located and we walked up to pier 39 (few hills though!). I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naughtybutnicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed 5 nights in early June. We had a room on the 8th floor on the courtyard side of the building. It was extremely quiet! We didn't hear any city noise. The room is on the small side, but that is to be expected in the city. The room was very clean and had modern decor. The bed was comfy too!
The staff were very friendly and always greeted us when we came and went. We also had dinner and drinks at Gaspar, the new restaurant in the hotel. The food and drinks were excellent.
The location is very convenient to Union Square and Chinatown and public transportation was close, although we walked a lot of places because that's how we roll. I would avoid walking through the Tenderloin though.
We had a great experience at Galleria Park and will definitely stay here again when in SF!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PookDog78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My partner, parents and I stayed in the Galleria Park hotel for 4 nights at the end of May and absolutely loved it! We arrived late evening and we were greeted by Zach, who was so friendly and helpful. Our rooms were small but clean and modern with a lovely bathroom. The garden terrace on the 3rd floor was great, we took our wine there a few nights during free wine hour! Although one night we felt guilty sat drinking wine and eating crisps when a large exercise class suddenly surrounded us , we found this so funny! The maid was fantastic, our rooms were kept lovely and she was so friendly. Fantastic location, close to Union Square and short taxi from Fishermans Wharf. Tea and coffee maker in room, hair dryer and air con. Free wi-if is also great. Thank you so much Galleria Park for the fantastic accommodation! If we return to San Francisco we will definitely stay with you.

Room Tip: 3rd floor room for easy access to garden terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My first time staying with the hotel but I am familiar with Joie de Vivre. I have stayed with some of the sister properties. They hold up to their name. I loved everything from the friendliness of the staff to the style of the property. Such a unique experience! I recommend anyone to experience this lovely hotel, no complaints.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuxCherii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The staff make this an excellent place to stay. The bakery next door was a delight. The room was clean and roomy. It is close to all public transport. The decor creates a relaxing environment which is much needed after travelling around busy San Francisco !

Room Tip: We stayed in a room facing the street and slept like babies
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#18 of 228 in San Francisco
1,427 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#12 of 228 in San Francisco
2,746 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#22 of 228 in San Francisco
829 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#32 of 228 in San Francisco
2,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galleria Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galleria Park Hotel

Property: Galleria Park Hotel
Address: 191 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94104-4595
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Galleria Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of San Francisco, Galleria Park gives you easy access to everything the Bay Area has to offer to its visitors. The hotel is located with easy access to the Bay Area's central transit systems of BART, MUNI and the fabled cable cars. Within blocks are Union Square, Chinatown, the Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, and several world-class museums. The hotel is just steps away from world-class shopping destinations in Union Square--an area that is definitely a tribute to the power of shopping. Saks Fifth Avenue, Neiman Marcus, Barneys New York, Gump's and a very substantial Macy's are right on the Union Square. The venerable Bullock and Jones and Tiffany and Co. are within walking distance, as is the nine-story Westfield San Francisco Shopping Centre with its three-level Nordstrom and Bloomingdale's. It is also a center for exclusive couture and high fashion, with boutiques dedicated to Betsey Johnson, Kate Spade, Herve Leger, Karen Miller, and Michael Kors. Post Street, which is a block away from Galleria Park is where the high-end stores are located including Ralph Lauren, Ferragamo, Juicy Couture, Tory Burch, Ferrari and Porsche clothing stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galleria Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galleria Park, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel San Francisco
Galleria Park San Francisco
Galleria Park Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing