We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for business travel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Galleria Park Hotel
Ranked #33 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good hotel for business travel”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Excellent location, at least for my meeting. They have a happy hour, which is minimal, but good. Popcorn and wine. Nothing fancy, but the staff was nice and very helpful. The rooms and bathrooms are small, but they were clean and comfortable. Close to lots of restaurants etc.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    990
    734
    198
    49
    21
See reviews for
333
741
136
464
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Great service, soft towels, good pillows. My room was a little small but that's okay. Bathroom small too but upgraded. A little noisy (I was on the street side) but didn't bother me. Very nice boutique hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irvine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel in August 2014. The location is excellent with North Beach and Nob Hill very close and the Wharf about a 30 minute walk. The staff is friendly and the hotel is very clean and did not look run down. The hotel is 100 years old so it has a lot of character. There is an outdoor terrace on the 3rd floor and a gym on the second floor. The wine hour (5:30-6:30) was a lovely touch and many people gather in the lobby at that time to talk. As others mentioned, the rooms are a bit small (we stayed in a King Deluxe room) but workable. The only issue I had was with the bathroom. It was so small there was no counter space at all, so putting on makeup was an issue. Also the shower was a tiny triangle in the corner which I barely fit in and I am pretty small. Shaving my legs was quite a challenge. Even with the tiny bathroom I would highly recommend this hotel for the price, location, cleanliness and friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shannonoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

After booking this hotel and based on its ranking here on TA, I was expecting this hotel to be pretty good. I did know that it was 3.5 stars, meaning it would not be a stay soaked in luxury but I expected a very pleasant stay. Upon arrival the lobby area was very nice and absolutely in line with expectations. The persons at the front desk were also very accommodating and nice, which means the stay started out very nicely. When we got up to our room on the first floor, the impression did however change to very average. The room itself was small, pretty dark and the walls had a dark green colour which was kind of depressing. The bathroom was extremely small, but with a high standard. We had booked a queen bed, but the problem was not so much the size but the fact that it was so soft on both ends. That meant that the bed almost tried to push you onto the floor during the night. Would probably work fine for one person, but not very pleasant when you are two. All in all the stay was OK, but in my honest opinion this hotel does not deserve its current rating on TA. If you find a good price I am sure you will be very satisfied, but bear in mind that this hotel is very average. Last time in SF I stayed at Clift, which has four stars but still delivers a much better experience than Galleria Park Hotel. Front desk staff and location are howver excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristianMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tottington, Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My family of 5 stayed in the Galleria Park (in 2 rooms) for 3 nights as part of our holiday in California. The quality and cleanliness of the hotel were pretty much as you would expect for a place in this price range i.e.good without being spectacular. The hotel is well located, being only a couple of minutes' walk from Union Square, but the rooms we had weren't at all noisy (except for a nightly crashing nose at about 2am when one of the neighbouring buildings emptied their bins). All the staff on the door and at reception were very helpful indeed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
160 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

There is absolutely nothing wrong with this hotel. The rooms are comfortable and it is very convenient to the Union Square area. But I didn't find anything special about it-certainly not enough to rate it as highly as others have done. No complaints but, on my next visit to this neighborhood, I'll try a different place in search of a more memorable experience.

Room Tip: All night construction was happening nearby. The noise was unavoidable, even from the 8th floor.
See more room tips
Green Features: I like the green policies of this hotel. What more can I say about their policies?
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dangerFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalleriaHotelGM, General Manager at Galleria Park Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
First off, I would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We believe that feedback is a gift and I truly appreciate you taking the time to gift your feedback to us so that we can improve on our service.

I am pleased to read that we met your expectations, but at the same time--it was disappointing to hear that we did not provide you with an experience that would have made your stay more memorable and special.

I would love the opportunity to welcome you back to the Galleria Park and should you choose to give us another opportunity to change your perception, I would ask that you reach out to me prior to your arrival so that I may take a personal care to your stay.

In closing, I would like to thank you again for your feedback.

James Lim
Managing Director
jlim@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel is perfectly located 2 blocks from Market St and Union Square - all you need is walkable, even if Embarcadero or Fisherman's Wharf is your destination. The room is great, clean, boutique style and super comfy. Staff is very helpful all times. Only negative was the fact of hotel restaurant closes, so had all my meals outside.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexWacla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#18 of 228 in San Francisco
1,427 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#12 of 228 in San Francisco
2,746 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#22 of 228 in San Francisco
829 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#32 of 228 in San Francisco
2,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galleria Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galleria Park Hotel

Property: Galleria Park Hotel
Address: 191 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94104-4595
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Galleria Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of San Francisco, Galleria Park gives you easy access to everything the Bay Area has to offer to its visitors. The hotel is located with easy access to the Bay Area's central transit systems of BART, MUNI and the fabled cable cars. Within blocks are Union Square, Chinatown, the Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, and several world-class museums. The hotel is just steps away from world-class shopping destinations in Union Square--an area that is definitely a tribute to the power of shopping. Saks Fifth Avenue, Neiman Marcus, Barneys New York, Gump's and a very substantial Macy's are right on the Union Square. The venerable Bullock and Jones and Tiffany and Co. are within walking distance, as is the nine-story Westfield San Francisco Shopping Centre with its three-level Nordstrom and Bloomingdale's. It is also a center for exclusive couture and high fashion, with boutiques dedicated to Betsey Johnson, Kate Spade, Herve Leger, Karen Miller, and Michael Kors. Post Street, which is a block away from Galleria Park is where the high-end stores are located including Ralph Lauren, Ferragamo, Juicy Couture, Tory Burch, Ferrari and Porsche clothing stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galleria Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galleria Park, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel San Francisco
Galleria Park San Francisco
Galleria Park Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing