We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Galleria Park Hotel
Ranked #32 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Victoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 27 March 2010

Friendly, helpful staff.
They let us lock our bike in the secure underground parking garage.
Sutter Street gave us a great flat home base to begin our bicycle rides.
Close enough to walk to SOMA, North Beach, Waterfront, Chinatown, big shopping stores.
Next door was a coffee shop with great espresso and oatmeal breakfast. Across the street, was inexpensive juice bar.
The lobby was relaxed and played electro lounge music. Free wine hour every night.
Mainly younger clientele. Mellow , easy going place.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sueyVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    992
    734
    199
    49
    21
See reviews for
333
741
136
467
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2010

The hotel was fine. I stayed for 6 nights, and while the "Deluxe King" room was small (edge around the bed end), it ticked all the boxes for a business class hotel - clean, friendly staff, free wifi etc. I was surprised they don't serve breakfast at weekends, which was annoying but did send me off to Dottie's for a brilliant pancake or three. I'd give the hotel restaurant a miss. That was one dry, bog standard burger.

The bizarre thing about this hotel (and many other SF ones apparently) is the fact that the doormen operate a con. Ask them to order you a taxi, and they call their favourite cab company. When the cabbie arrives, he asks you whether it's cash or credit card. If you say the former, the cabbie has to pay the doorman $10 and if it's CC, they pay $5. I saw the "transaction" - the cabbie passed the bill to the doorman who palmed it. Now that HAS to be illegal. I asked him why he paid the doorman and he said that if he didn't pay, he would not get the call from the switchboard putting him on the fare. He said that the doormen have an agreement to share what they take from the cabbies with the cab company switchboard operator. My cabbie told me that this is the way it works in San Francisco. If you complain, you get no fares. And no-one will snitch for obvious reasons. RICO...

So, a standard hotel if you can ignore the corruption on the door.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrxterW11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2010

Stayed here 2 nights recently. Best thing was the comfortable bed! We had an inside (away from street) room which was very quiet at night. Place is well decorated, but here and there in our room was some chipped paint, but is expected for an older building. All amenities we needed were here, so would recommend. Only 2 blocks from BART, easy 30 minute ride to SFO.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConnieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

This was a nice place to stay. It's about 1 block from the BART system from the airport, 2 blocks from Union Square and a close walk to other shopping and eating places. We were upgraded on arrival to a junior suite and it was nice. The rooms aren't very large but with everything to do in San Francisco, you aren't in the room very much. Complementary Wi-Fi, a happy hour and complementary coffee and tea every morning completes this hotel as a great place to stay at a great price.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKEandR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

We had a great Valentine's stay at the Galleria Park. We stayed in a very nice suite. The Decor was modern but timeless...the location is great, close to everything! But the real "hidden treasure" of this hotel is the restaurant! Midi is great and available as room service as well. Staff is really nice without any of the attitude I encounter in nicer or "design" hotels. Very genuine and honest. Wine hour is a great idea too!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LorenzMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

So far this is our favorite Joie de Vivre in the Union Square / Financial district. The lobby is very welcoming with comfy chairs and a fireplace. Ask for an exterior room unless you don’t mind looking into a smallish interior courtyard. Mr. R probably doesn’t care much about it, but I like pale blues and greens that break up the nice, bright white walls. A good paint job goes a long way, but cannot possibly mask the fact that this is a very old building. Beds are comfortable and the work area is sufficient although the internet was unreliable and unusably slow. Nothing notable in the bathroom, which given the age of the building is a good thing! Many restaurants are within a few blocks so we haven’t yet tried the hotel’s own eatery which is often too noisy for us.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamRandR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulFrentsos, Manager at Galleria Park Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2010
The hotel just upgraded the High Speed Internet Bandwidth to 5 times greater than our previous system, make it much speedier!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2010

I hadn't stayed at the Galleria before and I was very happy. I travel regularly for work and this was my first JDV Hotel experience. Everyone was very friendly and the rooms were clean. Unfortunately I didn't have a chance to check out the bar/restaurant, but they had teh Olympics on a screen and it looked like a lot of people were having fun. I would definitely stay this hotel and my only complaint is that I couldn't stay longer!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SETHDEHART
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#19 of 228 in San Francisco
1,429 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#13 of 228 in San Francisco
2,749 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#22 of 228 in San Francisco
830 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#33 of 228 in San Francisco
2,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galleria Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galleria Park Hotel

Property: Galleria Park Hotel
Address: 191 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94104-4595
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Galleria Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of San Francisco, Galleria Park gives you easy access to everything the Bay Area has to offer to its visitors. The hotel is located with easy access to the Bay Area's central transit systems of BART, MUNI and the fabled cable cars. Within blocks are Union Square, Chinatown, the Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, and several world-class museums. The hotel is just steps away from world-class shopping destinations in Union Square--an area that is definitely a tribute to the power of shopping. Saks Fifth Avenue, Neiman Marcus, Barneys New York, Gump's and a very substantial Macy's are right on the Union Square. The venerable Bullock and Jones and Tiffany and Co. are within walking distance, as is the nine-story Westfield San Francisco Shopping Centre with its three-level Nordstrom and Bloomingdale's. It is also a center for exclusive couture and high fashion, with boutiques dedicated to Betsey Johnson, Kate Spade, Herve Leger, Karen Miller, and Michael Kors. Post Street, which is a block away from Galleria Park is where the high-end stores are located including Ralph Lauren, Ferragamo, Juicy Couture, Tory Burch, Ferrari and Porsche clothing stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galleria Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galleria Park, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel San Francisco
Galleria Park San Francisco
Galleria Park Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing