We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Ranked #38 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Right next to union square this Hyatt hotel was worth staying ,though it was expensive but got a good deal with breakfast .we all loved it n ESP the breakfast Buffett was nice.on the whole we really had a wonderful stay at grand .

Room Tip: Corner city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vishalkap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your review! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and the breakfast at the Grandviews restaurant! Look forward to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,056
    1,650
    521
    163
    103
See reviews for
1,023
1,335
231
1,280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (871)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Earlier reviews noted the dilapidated state of the hotel and more recent reviews talked about the construction under way. As several recent reviewers have indicated, the hotel re-model is mostly complete. As of early June, 2012, there was still work being done in the lobby. The rooms are tastefully done in a toned-down modern way. The rooms have small (very small) refrigerators which are nice for cold drinks and a couple of snacks. No microwave but most hotels in this class don't have microwaves. Coffee pot in the room stocked with the standard coffee, powdered cream and 1/8th teaspoon packets of sugar (2 for each cup) (if you use sugar or cream, bring some -- no hotel ever understands that the mini-packets of same don't have enough of either to be of any use.) We didn't take a car -- which was a wise choice since valet is almost more per day than I have to pay for a corporate-rate rent car. Room service and restaurant menus are limited -- and the food is somewhat mediocre. Bread pudding (with whiskey sauce) at 830pm was so dry that it must have been a day or two old. We asked for extra sauce (not really 'extra' since there was none on it when served. Waiter first brought ice cream....we said, no, no, we want whiskey sauce....came back with what appeared and tasted like melted ice cream. As others have noted, the 36th floor bar and restaurant have great views. It was out understanding that the 36th floor would be converted to meeting space (suitable for wedding receptions, etc.) soon. A plus is that the hotel is within a block of 2 diners which serve reasonably price and fairly decent food. Overall, rooms are very nice, the location is great and the service was acceptable. (no pool or spa)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank swtrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, IN
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Went for the wine tasting and fell in love with San Francisco! The Grand Hyatt is exactly that, GRAND we were luck enough to get a room on the concierge level definitely worth it wonderful breakfast buffett each day appetizers in the early evening as well as desert in the late evening is all part of the concierge level the Grand Hyatt is in a great location you can walk to all of the great shops, Chinatown, and Union Square Park So many things to see and do in San Francisco The hop on hop off tour is great. You can go at your own pace spending more time where you want to and you are not tied to anyone's schedule. We took a wine tour to Sonoma. The tour first made a short stop in Muir Woods. We absolutely loved being able to stop here. We made four stops on the wine tour and that was plenty. Lunch was on our own which was nice. We stopped for pictures at the Golden Gate Bridge on the way back and the pictures were great. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Splurge for the concierge level. It was well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teachforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you kindly for your review! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us last July and took advantage the amenities offered at the Grand Club. Sounded you had such a great time touring the wine country! I must agree our convenient location is ideal. We look forward to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

The Grand Hyatt is a great location just up Stockton Street from Union Square, putting it within walking distance of tons of restaurants, bars, and stores, and a quick cab ride from most of the things you'd like to do in The City.

I understand that all the rooms were renovated in the Fall 2011, so it goes without saying that the room was well furnished and up-to-date. The views from the bar on the 36th Floor are amazing (with Coit Tower, the TransAmerica Building and Alcatraz all visible). The bar staff was a little reserved but the staff at the rest of the hotel were warm and accommodating.

The lobby is being renovated until later this year, but it didn't present much of an issue for us. The valet parking fee is $50+ per night, which is shocking for most places but for San Francisco, seems to be the norm.

Overall, a great hotel and definitely worth the stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the higher floors so you can get a view of The City, even if it is just a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear Fred M,

Thank you so much for your review! Your recommendation is our biggest compliment! You are absolutely right about the stunning view from our Grandviews Lounge on the 36th floor. Our lobby renovation will be completed by end of this year and we look forward to see you come back and visit us again!

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Kansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

The hotel was clean, staff were kind and everything was in walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keisha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear Keisha,

Thank you so much for your 5-star review! Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire, USA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Very clean and room recently renovated. Great location right on union square. Bar on the 36th floor has the best view of SF I have seen and a lovely place for a light dinner of homemade chicken noodle soup. I would definitely stay here again, a beautiful hotel. Floor to ceiling windows made my room seem twice the size, as did the HUGE bathroom and vanity dressing area outside of the closet. Ask for a room on a high floor, I lucked out and ended up on 32nd floor with a view of bay. Staff was exceptionally nice. Lobby was still under renovation, but that didn't matter.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor, quiet room. Go up to the bar restaurant at the top of the hotel. Lovely light fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gingergirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear gingergirl007,

We appreciate you took the time to write us a 5-star review! We are thrilled you had such a great experience at the hotel! It is always great to hear our staffs were able to assist you with your needs and provided excellent service! I will be sure to share your compliments with my team.

Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to see you come back and visit us again!

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

The location of this hotel is very good! I have stayed there for at least 8 times during my trip to San Francisco.

The location is just beside union square and 5 min walk to Chinatown.

I ususally din include breakfast with the booking, I prefer to eat tim sum in the Chinatown.

The room is clean but a little bit old. TV is normal CRT.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor to have the city view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_Chan_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear David,

Thank you for your review! We are delighted you enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel. Sounded you had a great time having dim sum in Chinatown! Our guestrooms went through a complete renovation last year and the public area will be complete by fall. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#31 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,022 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#57 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Property: Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Address: 345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-4694
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the newly renovated Grand Hyatt is steps away form World Premier Shopping, cable cars, Chinatown, the Convention Center. Guests at Grand Hyatt enjoy exquisite comfort & amenities including a complimentary Fitness Center, daily newspapers, free internet access at OneUP restaurant and lobby area and the ultimate sleep experience in a "Grand Bed". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing