We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just renovated, Grand Hyatt is amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Ranked #38 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Milano
Level Contributor
158 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 709 helpful votes
“Just renovated, Grand Hyatt is amazing!”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

3rd time for me at the Grand Hyatt, now totally renovated, the lobby is beautiful, fireplaces, cozy sofas and all the staff is really professional. I had a room on the 21st floor with a stunning view on Union Sq. Rooms are nice and simple, super-clean and very quiet; this is a really good hotel in a strategic position. I will come back for sure at Grand Hyatt in San Francisco, my best choice in town... and I am a very picky traveler!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bicocchinaonesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Dear bicocchinaonesta,

Thank you for your great review and welcomed back. We are delighted you enjoyed the recent renovation and the beautiful view from your room. Your recommendation is truly appreciated. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,050
    1,650
    519
    163
    102
See reviews for
1,022
1,330
230
1,278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (870)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
140 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I've stayed here many times over the past 20 yrs. It's a great location for shopping and dining right near union square and the cablecar line. It's been redone recently - modern, functional, but not the best quality. The beds, bathroom, and size of rooms are very good. Great food for breakfast. The conceirge staff is great - do ask them for help and reccomendations. Get a room on a high floor overlooking the square and the hills of San Fran.

Room Tip: Get a high floor facing Union Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susannTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

This is a really nice choice if you are interested in being downtown by the Ferry Building. Many of the rooms have views of bay and most of them have balconies, which I think is a really great given the room ventilation issues with most hotels of this size. We stayed on one of the club levels --- I'd recommend doing this since there a great view from the lounge on the top floor and the food there is quite good. Service is great and the rooms are well designed.
This is a hotel that won't blow your socks away but will likely do a terrific job at serving as a comfortable, convenient base as you explore San Francisco.

Room Tip: Higher floor, facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flowzat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights whilst attending a conference. The room was modern, spacious and well-equipped and the hotel is in the perfect location for visiting Union Square and the conference centre. The new bar and restaurant which opened on the last night of our stay was very nice but expensive. Unfortunately, we had not been informed when booking via the conference website of the building work that would be undertaken during our stay which meant that the new reception area and bar/restaurant were not available for 6 out of the 7 nights. There was a shabby-looking cash only bar on the top floor which was only open from the early evening and not open at all on some evenings and a wildly-overpriced buffet service restaurant with limited opening hours available for food which resulted in us having to go out elsewhere for all of our meals and drinks. When pointing out that we were disappointed about the lack of facilities available during our stay the gentleman on reception merely replied 'yes, the bar is closed' without looking up from his computer and did not apologise or suggest an alternative facility in the area. Not the service we would expect from this standard of accomodation.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FraCalabrese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed our renovated guestroom and the convenient location of the hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies due to the lobby renovation and the limited service during the re-opening week. Our renovation is now completed and many guests have been enjoying the new product and service. We hope you will give us another opportunity to regain your confidence back. Should you decide to visit Grand Hyatt San Francisco in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us directly, so that we can ensure your stay will be an enjoyable one.

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

I've stayed at many Hyatts, and this is one of the best. It's a classic beauty and the service level is top notch. Their Regency Club is the best I've been in. I strongly urge you to book a Club package if you are not a Diamond Member. (In which case it is complimentary.) David made the Regency Club experience unforgettable. He is simply a kind and gracious addition to the experience. Bedding is super comfortable, and I ended up spending more time in bed than I had planned. The location cannot be beat, as we were able to walk to Chinatown, Nob Hill and even Fisherman's Wharf from here. I consider this Hyatt a destination, and I will be making another trip here in the near future.

Room Tip: Book a Regency Club room. You will be amazed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Dear Steve L.,

Wow! Thank you kindly for your 5-star review! We are thrilled you had such a great experience with us. I am particular happy to read your comment that you consider Grand Hyatt as a destination! It is always great to hear our staffs made your stay an enjoyable one. I will be sure to share your review with the team! Look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

I had never stayed at this hotel and I was pleased with the location and service. The have been renovated to a very high standard from both business and casual traveler. The views are tremendous. My only complaint is the restaurant is more then a little over the top for breakfast. Other then that this a great location in SF.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmeriSwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I stayed at the Grand Hyatt for 5 nights whilst in San Francisco for a conference.

Despite having 'man flu' the whole time I was in San Francisco I still very much enjoyed my stay and found the hotel very comfortable, quite and relaxing.

The view from my room was superb and the view from the restaurant is even better. The location right in the centre is also excellent.

The service and care from the staff was great too. In short I would love to return for a personal holiday with my wife some day.

Room Tip: If not on the bay side then try for a room on a high level for great views across San Francisco
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Dear Tim F.,

Thank you so much for the 5-star review! We are delighted you had an enjoyable time with us. Our location is definitely ideal for both business and pleasure. It is great to hear you would consider visiting us again with your wife in the near future and we certainly look forward to seeing you again!

Truly yours,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#32 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,002 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#57 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Property: Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Address: 345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-4694
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the newly renovated Grand Hyatt is steps away form World Premier Shopping, cable cars, Chinatown, the Convention Center. Guests at Grand Hyatt enjoy exquisite comfort & amenities including a complimentary Fitness Center, daily newspapers, free internet access at OneUP restaurant and lobby area and the ultimate sleep experience in a "Grand Bed". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing