We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Ranked #36 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Moxee, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Grand Hyatt San Fran is conveniently located one block from union square which has all the premium shopping (Saks, L.V., Rolex, etc.) stores boarding. Within walking distance from China Town, Mall, pickup spot for "BigBus Tour" and fine dining options all over (OneUp located in hotel is a great option).
The customer service is very professional and always courteous. The rooms were clean and considerate of late sleepers (I slept in and they still freshened up the room once I left).
Although they did not have a pool or hot tub, I would still stay at this hotel over others because of the location and great customer service.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eromero509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,965
    1,612
    499
    158
    95
See reviews for
969
1,293
224
1,232
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (854)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

My husband and I were extremely disappointed with our stay at the Grand Hyatt. We are Hyatt Platinum members and are supposed to be given rooms on higher floors, etc. This was not the case. We were put on the 18th floor out of 36. As soon as we got to our room, we knew that something was wrong. We could hear everything outside. And I mean everything, I could hear the cars driving by 18 floors below. We called the front desk and after being on hold for 10 minutes finally spoke to them and they sent up an engineer. His method for dealing with the draft and noise was to slam the fake door/window closed as hard as he could. That was all he could do for us and he left. Later that night when we tried to go to bed, we were awaken because it sounded like there was a rave taking place in our room. I again called the main desk to complain, and once again after being on hold for about 5 minutes, we were told there was nothing that they could do, and that there was a street party 2 blocks away for French Independence Day. The next day we left early in the morning and arrived back in the early afternoon. Once again I could hear everything going on down on the ground level. I called the front desk again, and they finally offered to move our room, really it took 3 calls of complaints to get my room changed. Unfortunately, they moved us to a handicap room.

On top of the outside noise issue, the walls in the hotel are paper thin. We could hear talking and vacuuming in rooms around us, which makes me uneasy, because that means people can hear us in our room, as well. Also the maid service comes around to clean rooms at 8:30am. I'm realize we were staying in the business area of San Francisco, but I've never been to any hotel who cleans rooms that early, and I did not appreciate being woken up at 8:30am on my vacation. After the first morning, we always left the do not disturb sign on our door before heading to bed.

Honestly, there are just way to many issues with this hotel. I'm sure there are way nicer places to stay in San Francisco, and now I'm wondering if we should consider moving away from the Hyatt brand and bringing our business elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CDaly82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear CDaly82,

Thank you for your feedback and for being a Hyatt Platinum member. We try very hard to accommodate our guests' request as much as possible based on hotel availability and we apologize for not being able to place you on a higher floor during your stay. Our housekeeping staffs are flexible and would be happy to adjust their schedule based on your preference. In the future, simply let us know and we can easily accommodate your request.

Your recent stay at the Grand Hyatt San Francisco is definitely an exception to the service we provide as Hyatt. Your business is very important to us and much appreciated. We hope this single experience will not deter you from visiting any other Hyatt hotels in the future.

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Great location. Great hotel. This is a business hotel, not a resort. The rooms are super clean and updated. The staff is service oriented. The location is perfect, especially if you want to go to China Town for an amazing dinner.

Room Tip: Go to the Great Eastern restaurant in China Town. It's a 5-10 minute walk.
See more room tips
Green Features: They are trying to be eco-friendly and I have seen some improvement.
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Am pleased that we chose to stay in this hotel, having earlier tried the Mandarin Oriental.

The Hyatt is better placed, right by Union Square, meaning it is very convenient for shops and for connections to the subway and trams.

Our perception of the hotel got off to a great start, thanks to an exceptionally helpful member of staff (thank Yena Choi) who was so personable - even remembering our name/ room number) during our visit. This made us feel very at home, which is unusual in a large, busy hotel like this.

The rooms were comfortable, with all we could ask for. The Fitness Centre was more than adequate and appeared rarely used, despite the amazing views from the 32nd floor across the city skyline.

Conclusion: Definitely would recommend this hotel and will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NJM1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear NJM1973,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel and the fitness center on the 32nd floor! We strive to provide authentic hospitality and it is great to hear Yena made you feel right at home! I'll be sure to share your compliment with Yena and the team. Your recommendation is truly appreciated, please come back and see us again soon.

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights in San Francisco at Grand Hyatt and thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. Check-in was smooth and we stayed in a suite, with a stunning view of Alcatraz island (view attached). The bar area of the hotel is very nice and modern. The location of the hotel is fantastic, it is easily accessible and no real complaints about the hotel. A very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jagdip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear JagdipS_0612,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are delighted you enjoyed the beautiful view from your room and the convenient location of our hotel. It is always great to hear our guests enjoyed their stay with us. Please come back and see us again soon.

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We traveled throughout California during the 4th of July week/weekend. We traveled with 2 adults, 2 kids, and a small dog. We stayed 3 days and 2 nights at this location and it was great! Its a great location for Families since Union Square is right across the street. The Powell Street Cable Car is a few blocks down and the shopping is great in this area. The hotel is pet friendly and the staff is very knowledgeable and very friendly. The rooms are adequate, and the beds are small, but comfortable. We stayed on the 28th floor with a view of Union Square. Very nice city view! We traveled with 2 adults, 2 kids, and a small dog. The only downfall to this location is parking. You have the option to pay $33+ if you self park it across the street, or $56 for Valet. Not good options if you are staying at this location with a vehicle.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor with the city view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

we arrived without a reservation, got off right at Embarcadero and had no idea where to go, we started walking and just got there, very nice area, close to everything including the cable cars, restaurant and shopping.
We first were met by a very rude front desk lady, but then Amy treated us really nice and she gave us an upgrade to a very nice Suite, with a balcony, 2 bathrooms and beautiful living area, it was so nice we actually decided to stay one night in and rent a movie.
The guys at the bar ( Carlos and the guys from Mazatlan) were amazing, they were very nice to us, also the concierge ladies.
Rates are high, i wish i did my homework before arriving.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pompougnac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#8 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#31 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,800 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,805 reviews
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#59 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Property: Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Address: 345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-4694
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the newly renovated Grand Hyatt is steps away form World Premier Shopping, cable cars, Chinatown, the Convention Center. Guests at Grand Hyatt enjoy exquisite comfort & amenities including a complimentary Fitness Center, daily newspapers, free internet access at OneUP restaurant and lobby area and the ultimate sleep experience in a "Grand Bed". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing