We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect location, stylish hotel in stylish town, warm but professional staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Ranked #38 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hyogo
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“perfect location, stylish hotel in stylish town, warm but professional staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Nothing to have as a downside. Was not a bargain, but San Francisco hotels are pricey any way. A short walk from the BART stations Powell St and another one. Wondered whether it would be easier to get into town by taxi with big suitcases, but didn't need to worry about that. Pulling along big suitcases was no problem for the short walk from the station, and there's a lift from the station floor to the street on ground level, so you won't have to carry it, and the BART wasn't too crowded either. Room was nice an spacious enough, had a great view overlooking the Square, just as the reception staff promised with a great warm smile. Plenty of nice places to pick up breakfast at beside, and a lot of shops and restaurants open till late at night in a very safe looking neibourhood. One small regret is that I didn't get more of Ghirardelli's chocolate squares at a great bargain at Walgreens! Did the Big Bus hop-on-hop-off as well, that we started from the Square as well. China-town was just a few blocks away and just a short stroll.
All in all, I think it was the 'niceness' of the staff that made this hotel a really nice place to stay. They really made me feel welcome without overdoing it or being too posh about it. They even have yoga mat rentals (for free I think, but don't quite remember), if you want to join the San Francisco locals with keeping fit.

Room Tip: We were on the 10th floor, but the view was still great. Could see far off towards the Bay, since i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tim-tam-tam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear tim-tam-tam,

We appreciate you took the time to write us a review. Sounds like you had a fun time exploring San Francisco and experienced the different neighborhoods near the hotel. I'm particular happy to read your comment about our staffs and glad you enjoyed the view from your room! We can't wait for you to come back and visit us in the near future!

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,015
    1,636
    513
    160
    98
See reviews for
1,005
1,310
227
1,261
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (864)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
69 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

The best location in SF -

Pros.
- The property is located in Union Square
- Remodel of the property just finished and it is stunning
- The rooms are huge for SF standards
- Every room will have a view
- They have one of the best Grand Hyatt Lounges in Americas
- Staff is outstanding at the front desk
- Usually pretty solid in pricing and well worth its value
- City parking garage across the street (Parked overnight on a Sat. for only $18!)
- Gym is on the 28th floor (or something like that) and is huge!
- Some of the best views from a hotel in SF (Maybe minus Fairmont SF and Westin)
- Way better than any Marriott property in SF

Cons.
- The bathroom sinks are useless and get water everywhere
- Room shades are fun, but not practical
- Elevators can be slow at times, but they have improved
- It is an uphill walk slightly for a half a block to get back (but hey its SF)
- Rooms can get a bit loud from outside
- Front door staff is a bit lazy

Overall, what a great property! The remodel is amazing, I was trying to get a suite but no dice as they were all sold out - but I saw the inside of one and just amazing. Upgrade to a Grand Hyatt Lounge access room - man that lounge is fantastic and has jaw dropping views.

Room Tip: Higher the floor the better - get a Grand Club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reinventtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear reinventtravel,

Thanks for the detailed review! Great to hear you enjoyed the view from your room and the amenities offered at the Grand Club Lounge! We appreciate your feedback on some of the concerns you had and will definitely share with the appropriate departments. Please come back and see us again soon!

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cow country, CA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

I booked two rooms here for myself and a friend and my 23-year old daughter and her friend.
They stayed two nights and we stayed three. I'm a big Hyatt fan so I always try to stay at a Hyatt because the service is always top notch and the locations are typically great.

We checked in early Friday morning about 10 AM--much earlier than the 3 PM p.m. check in time. The staff placed us in rooms on the 26th and 27th floors. The view was fantastic! The only issue we had with the rooms with that the air conditioning was not sufficient. I had engineering come up twice and it was never really resolved although they did offer to move us to another room.

This property has a great location right in the middle of Union Square--with tons of shopping and restaurants nearby and Starbucks right across the street. This is a perfect city for walking and we sure did a lot of it while we were there for four days.

This Hyatt has a very nice wine bar and the package we booked included a buffet breakfast which was delicious. The staff is very accommodating and everyone's pretty friendly. This may be our new favorite hotel in San Francisco!

Room Tip: Ask to be placed on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palepinkribbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

I'm a local - living just North of 'the city' as locals like to call it and stayed in town one night because my business meetings would run long. Had been awhile since I had stayed here and they have redecorated. Uber modern - vessel sinks - pretty to look at, not so convenient if you need counter space to lay out your grooming supplies - ladies you know what I mean. But not a big deal. As all the previous travelers state - get a high room for two reasons: street noise (SF is a busy city and this is a very busy area) and views. Don't bring a car if you can help it. Why? For one thing this area is very pedestrian friendly with tons of restaurants/shopping w/i walking distance, secondly the traffic is a bear downtown and third it will cost you $62/night for valet and $41/night to self-park. The rooms are fine - nice touch is that all controls are right at your headboard - electrically controlled sun shade, lights, etc. Plenty of plug ins for electronics. Big picture windows. Union Square is just down the street, with a huge Macy's as well as many, many other shopping opportunities. Starbucks located in the hotel for your morning fix. Nice choice for staying in San Francisco.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TKD1BB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for choosing the Grand Hyatt San Francisco for your overnight stay. We are delighted you enjoyed our remodeled guestroom and the amenities offered. I must agree with you parking in downtown San Francisco can be expensive, so public transportation is definitely a great alternative way. We appreciate you took the time to write us a review and hope you could stay longer on your next visit!

Sincerely,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
143 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

This hotel is right in the heart of Union Square. So if you go to San Francisco to go shopping, this is the perfect place. This hotel and the area is a high traffic tourist area. The lobby is new and modern. I stayed on either the female friendly or female only floor. It is a nice option if you are traveling alone. I was told that there were extra amenities for females. The extras were a nail polish remover pad and a facial cleansing cloth. The room was nice and clean, but a bit small for two people.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank lor13149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights while in San Francisco on business. This hotel is in a great location for walking to the Financial District or around the immediate area for shopping or picking up one of the sightseeing tours that launch from Union Square.

I checked in a bit early and asked if I could be placed in a high room since I read that street noise can be an issue. I felt the reservation desk representative went out of his way to get me in a great room even though a rather large convention seemed to be going on during my stay.

I had to wait about an hour for my room but it was worth it. Room 2918 has a great view of the city facing Union Square. Street noise was still heard that high up but it wasn’t bad and sort of added to the ambiance.


Pros
-The automatic shade was a really fancy feature that made me feel like I was a high roller. It did a great job of keeping out the unwanted sun in the early morning as well as helped keep the room cool when the sun was a little too intense.
-The rooms have been remodeled in a modern style, very nice.
-Flat screen TV
-Built in TV guide, although it has a way to go.
-Clean linens
-Plenty of outlets at desk area and beside bed.
-iPhone charger is available on the phone, although it is not a lightning connector.
-The cleverly disguised refrigerator had nothing in it which was perfect for my needs. I just grabbed a few breakfast items and snacks at a local bodega to keep in there.
-Concierge always very helpful and courteous

Cons
-I kept the temperature pretty low but I don’t think it ever got as cool as the display read
-While I didn't hear people in adjoining room, I did hear room service who was rather loud and housekeeping made lots of noise for hours even though there were only three rooms in the immediate area.
-Not enough drawer space for clothing.
-There isn’t a lot of privacy in bathroom provided with a thin sliding door.
-The shower head is a nice idea, the rain shower type, but it didn't telescope out far enough. I had to stand almost on the wall to wash shampoo out of my hair


All in all, my visit was great. A few co-workers staying at a competing hotel chain said I definitely made the right choice by staying at the Grant Hyatt.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Tracey R,

Thank you for your detailed review. It is great to hear you enjoyed the beautiful view from your room and the in-room amenities offered. We appreciate your feedback on some of the concerns you had, which help us improve. Your comment will be shared with the appropriate departments to review. Thank you again for choosing to stay at the Grand Hyatt San Francisco. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We enjoyed everything about this hotel. It's a very close walk to China Town, it's a very nice walk down to Washington Square and Fisherman Wharf area. Union Square is just outside the doors which is very awesome. Great energy, great restaurants and amazing shopping all with-in a few minutes of anything you could want. The rooms were great, staff was very helpful. The gym was close to as good as you'll get at a hotel, great variety of equipment.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drewsntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your review! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and all the San Francisco attractions that are within walking distance! Glad you took advantage of our fitness center. Hope we'll see you again soon! Look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#32 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,917 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#56 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Property: Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Address: 345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-4694
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the newly renovated Grand Hyatt is steps away form World Premier Shopping, cable cars, Chinatown, the Convention Center. Guests at Grand Hyatt enjoy exquisite comfort & amenities including a complimentary Fitness Center, daily newspapers, free internet access at OneUP restaurant and lobby area and the ultimate sleep experience in a "Grand Bed". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing